• Record Label: DFA
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2008

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The Singles shows the band has successfully solidified its brand of disordered dance-punk, and hopefully Free Blood will continue this promising trajectory with future full-length releases.
  2. Under The Radar
    Free Blood is a very welcome infusion of creativity into the often all-too-sterile dance genre. [Fall 2008, p.75]
  3. The first 25 minutes of this loose compilation come as close to perfection as you could hope....The five remixes that make up the rest of The Singles aren't bad by any stretch, but they all try to drag the band closer to conventional dance music, whereas the band's power lies precisely in the way they already belong on the dance floor without overselling themselves or smoothing out their rougher edges.
  4. Alternative Press
    The Singles is over too quickly. [Nov 2008, p.164]
  5. It’s a good sign for the band that you’re left craving more so intensely once you’re through with The Singles; in many ways, this is the most promising dance music to come out of NYC in quite a while. Now that they’ve primed us, we can only hope Free Blood can deliver more than half a classic next time.
  6. 60
    They seem less confident introducing more distinctive elements into the flow on their debut, which features six original songs and five remixes.
  7. 60
    Unfortunately, after six mightily exciting originals, the disc wanders into remix territory.
  8. 60
    After 25 minutes, they close with five worthy remixes instead of the typical filler—a startup rarity, knowing how to quit while you’re ahead.
  9. The Singles' six originals would make for a disconnected night out, and no doubt an energetic live show, but they're a wild ride in headphones.

There are no user reviews yet.