The Soul Sessions

  • Record Label: S-Curve
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 5 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HS
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    Excellent and refreshing! I can't wait for her next album (in the works before this one) of her own material...
  2. DRanged
    Mar 9, 2004
    1
    TRASH!This CD is a total rip-off. She's just another Christina Aguilera,with a loud voice! Candi Stanton's latest collection is WAY better than this garbage.
  3. VictorB
    Mar 3, 2004
    7
    Very well done! I won't comment on the fact that Joss Stone is white and sings 'black' because everyone is doing that these days. Joss Stone took mostly old soul standards and held her own in singing them, no small feat when you see the American Idol finalists barly able to pull off one song of this caliber. In however efficient Joss Strone is in taking us to 'back in Very well done! I won't comment on the fact that Joss Stone is white and sings 'black' because everyone is doing that these days. Joss Stone took mostly old soul standards and held her own in singing them, no small feat when you see the American Idol finalists barly able to pull off one song of this caliber. In however efficient Joss Strone is in taking us to 'back in the day' she never takes us anywhere new except on the reworking of "Fell in Love With A Boy". Nothing else gives us a reason to buy this disc and not a remastered one by the original artists. Expand
  4. EloB
    Mar 5, 2004
    9
    I keep hearing it in my head and it sounds good!
  5. BigGirl
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    She's the next Aretha and Natalie Cole.
  6. ChrisJ
    Mar 4, 2006
    8
    Candi Stanton?! You f*cking prat! Cracking voice, good songs, and she's English!
  7. izata
    Sep 23, 2006
    3
    Lame... lame... overrated.... boring... one of the worst album i bought... stoooooopid!!!!
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It’s a good voice, but it’s not a good album.
  2. The dichotomy of power and sultriness is the [final] track's greatest asset. It's that same duality that should provide Joss Stone with a career that knows no limits.
  3. It's a record that benefits from the homogenous, warm feeling such an intimate set-up can make for, the tracks setting up Stone's remarkable voice rather than intentionally distracting from the singer's limitations.