User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 77
  2. Negative: 20 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    4
    Curioso o novo álbum da Nelly Furtado se chamar "indestrutível" quando na verdade é um álbum "frágil". Devo admitir que fiquei um pouco triste com o resultado final de The Spirit Indestructible já que havia certa esperança após o lançamento do primeiro single Big Hoops (Bigger the Better).

    O grande problema do álbum
    Curioso o novo álbum da Nelly Furtado se chamar "indestrutível" quando na verdade é um álbum "frágil". Devo admitir que fiquei um pouco triste com o resultado final de The Spirit Indestructible já que havia certa esperança após o lançamento do primeiro single Big Hoops (Bigger the Better).

    O grande problema do álbum é que ele tenta ser conceitual jogando uma pomposidade na construção das canções que no final das contas faz com que Nelly parece deslocada, chata e pouco pedante. O que deve ter acontecido é simples: ela achou que a parceria com o produtor Darkchild poderia render mais que apenas uma boa música e fez dele o principal condutor The Spirit Indestructible. Um erro grande já que até outros produtores parecem perdidos como o ótimo Salaam Remi. O álbum fica preso a essa tentativa de parecer mais do que é de verdade apesar de ter uma ótima produção de engenharia na elaboração de arranjos. Só que a maioria parece datada e arrastada demais. Claro, se houvesse composições mais fortes tudo poderia ajudar o clima, mas a falta de substância emocional deixa a letras rasas. Há várias tentativas de colocar algo a mais no sentido das composições, mas nada muito relevante aparece. Nelly não tem um desempenho vocal ruim, mas sua voz meio que se perde em tanta grandiosidade sem foco. O mais íncrivel é que o álbum começa ótima com as duas canções que o abrem: Spirit Indestructible (resenha a seguir) e o já falado Big Hoops (Bigger the Better). Só que depois qualidade cai e nãos e levanta mais. Só quando a canção Cry, bônus da versão alemã, surge é que temos algo realmente bom mesmo sendo quase um b-side do Ray of Light da Madonna. Para piorar a situação, The Spirit Indestructible está flopando de maneira gigantesca que dá muita dó da Nelly. Contudo, há uma coerencia nos lançamentos de álbuns em inglês dela: o primeiro foi sucesso, o segundo flop, o terceiro sucesso e agora flop. Quer dizer, podemos esperar um próximo álbuns seja um estrondo, mas só espero que seja também em qualidade.
    Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    "Nelly presents a clean, fresher and different album [The Spirit Indestructible]... Its a great return to her, with her signature folk influences, but with all the wacky instrumentation (in "Spirit Indestructible" and "Big Hoops" for example), it feels unfinished."
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    Nelly Furtado seems to be destined to be a one hit wonder. Her first single 'Fly like a Bird' is so infectious and good that her other efforts seemed to be lesser in quality. After completely reinventing herself in her previous album, which was brilliant by the way, Nelly went back to her root, which is more in the vein of 'folk pop', leading to mixed results. If you are a fan of her,Nelly Furtado seems to be destined to be a one hit wonder. Her first single 'Fly like a Bird' is so infectious and good that her other efforts seemed to be lesser in quality. After completely reinventing herself in her previous album, which was brilliant by the way, Nelly went back to her root, which is more in the vein of 'folk pop', leading to mixed results. If you are a fan of her, you wouldn't be disappointed. Others, buy this album with caution. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    It should be a crime this album is so underrated. Surely one of the best in her career! Nelly treading into new territories, traveling and experiencing new genres from R & B to current pop, still flirting with the pop-rock on some tracks. Deserved a resounding success.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I love Nelly Furtado. She is a real musician. She writes her own song and can play the guitar. I love her style. Every record means a different genre. First Pop with "I'm like a bird" @dharma: Yes, its NOT Fly like a bird. Then she tried folk pop and rock. After this RnB and HipHop. 2009 she made a Spanisch album. On her best of she tried dance. Now you can listen to everything on "TheI love Nelly Furtado. She is a real musician. She writes her own song and can play the guitar. I love her style. Every record means a different genre. First Pop with "I'm like a bird" @dharma: Yes, its NOT Fly like a bird. Then she tried folk pop and rock. After this RnB and HipHop. 2009 she made a Spanisch album. On her best of she tried dance. Now you can listen to everything on "The Spirit Indestructible"... 10 points for a real artist- Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    Much better than that s**ts called "Loose" and "Mi Plan"! Without Timbaland and the spanish language, Nelly shows she can still make good music! My rating would be a 6, but i give this album an 8 because she released new stuff without copying what she had done in "Loose" or "Woah! Nelly" or "Folklore".
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    Easy review: The album is divided. First half is to die for, second half will make you puke. Don't get me wrong, I L.O.V.E. Nelly Furtado, but she got lost in translation on this one.
  8. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Although it's not as amazing as the multi-platinum previous album of hers "Loose", "The Spirit Indestructible" is the first album in months that I actually am amazed by. The sound is very different from mainstream pop music that we've become accustomed to hearing. She actually sings about things that do not involve dying young or "putting your drinks up and partying all night like it's theAlthough it's not as amazing as the multi-platinum previous album of hers "Loose", "The Spirit Indestructible" is the first album in months that I actually am amazed by. The sound is very different from mainstream pop music that we've become accustomed to hearing. She actually sings about things that do not involve dying young or "putting your drinks up and partying all night like it's the end of the world". NO. She goes beyond that and you cannot help but appreciate it. "Spirit Indestructible", "Waiting for the Night" and "Parking Lot" are amazing songs that you will come to love after a few listens. Overall, the album is a piece of work that stands out and I am not going to stop playing it in my car day after day anytime soon. Expand
  9. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    This is a fantastic, original album. The work is obviously personal and written without the interference of 'producers' who wreck the majority of stuff out these days. A few misses on this album, purely from the experimentation but on the whole the beats are superb!! Recommend Waiting for the Night, Miracles, Believers.
  10. May 19, 2013
    7
    This is Nelly's "Ray of Light". It's ike Kylie's "Impossible Princess". It's not contemporary nor EDM. It's a perfect balance of heart and soul. Reviews are low probably due to it's lack of logical single choices. Big Hoops is clearly one of the lesser tracks. Miracles would have been more suited for the job of lead single.
    Memorable Things: Diary Entry+Waiting for The Night, Miracles,
    This is Nelly's "Ray of Light". It's ike Kylie's "Impossible Princess". It's not contemporary nor EDM. It's a perfect balance of heart and soul. Reviews are low probably due to it's lack of logical single choices. Big Hoops is clearly one of the lesser tracks. Miracles would have been more suited for the job of lead single.
    Memorable Things: Diary Entry+Waiting for The Night, Miracles, Bucket List, Thoughts, Believers (Arab Spring)
    Things to skip: The Most Beautiful Thing, Don't Leave Me.
    Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Nelly didn't need the current trend - and worn - of the U.S., to create a good album. Sounds original, different and exotic, and without doubt the best song of the album is "Believers (Arab Spring)".
  12. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Not very commonly we see a mainstream artist like Nelly produce an album which talks about life, its problems and inconveniences (and also amusements) such as this. The Spirit Indestructible is a consistent and pleasurable album that finds its way to stand out in a crowd where the rest is pushing the audience (us, listeners) to a much simpler and un-reflective music. The singer can notNot very commonly we see a mainstream artist like Nelly produce an album which talks about life, its problems and inconveniences (and also amusements) such as this. The Spirit Indestructible is a consistent and pleasurable album that finds its way to stand out in a crowd where the rest is pushing the audience (us, listeners) to a much simpler and un-reflective music. The singer can not only make the listener enjoy "good music" but also put him/her in a contemplative way throughout its tracks. In comparison to what Nelly has done over the years, the album is a "cleaner" sound, but yet with Loose's beats and Folklore and Mi Plan's cultural references. Impressive achievement. Expand
  13. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Nelly Furtado is always trendy and creative. She delivered a well-consistent album which can make you understand what is REAL music! Unlike other pop divas such as Rihanna who can't write their own songs + with no musical talent.
  14. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This album has that "magical feeling". Though the production feels misguided and heavy-handed at times, overall it makes you longing to listen again.
  15. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This album is really good. Furtado is mixing a lot of musical styles, but it's done really smoothly and "effortlessly", which left me feeling that TSI is very coherent album. This could be achieved only by someone who is writing and producing her own songs (and unfortunately really rare in nowadays pop). Pros: main theme of the album, Furtado lyrics, from songs: High life, Miracles andThis album is really good. Furtado is mixing a lot of musical styles, but it's done really smoothly and "effortlessly", which left me feeling that TSI is very coherent album. This could be achieved only by someone who is writing and producing her own songs (and unfortunately really rare in nowadays pop). Pros: main theme of the album, Furtado lyrics, from songs: High life, Miracles and Believers. Cons: sometimes beat is a little bit too overwhelming (eg. Parking lot). In general: highly recommended. Expand
  16. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    It's Been 6 Years in The Making from Her last English Language album The Global chart topping "Loose" And the latin Grammy winning Spanish Language Album "Mi Plan", Now Nelly Furtado Is Back With An Inspirational-Friendly Punch In The Face Album The Masterpiece "The Spirit Indestructible" I Will Take The Risk of Saying This Is Defiantly "Album of the Year" material , The album starts offIt's Been 6 Years in The Making from Her last English Language album The Global chart topping "Loose" And the latin Grammy winning Spanish Language Album "Mi Plan", Now Nelly Furtado Is Back With An Inspirational-Friendly Punch In The Face Album The Masterpiece "The Spirit Indestructible" I Will Take The Risk of Saying This Is Defiantly "Album of the Year" material , The album starts off with the club banging Big Hoops (Bigger The Better) while the reviews and critic for the song were mixed, i Myself find it quiet Annoying and Cool at the same time, The 2nd track on the album Spirit Indestructible While I find Uplifting and Inspirational i still feel that it should have got more work done on the track production wise and nelly's vocals, but on it all it's still a good track, The 3rd track "High Life' featuring Hip Hop Newcomer Ace Primo is said to be Ms.Furtado's favorite track on the album, while the "La La La's" are cute and the track talks about people who wish fame and fortune and Sometime not everything is shine and bright as it seems, i still didn't find the track to be the Wow track On the album, Now to My Picks for the high lights of the Album, the track such as "Believers, "Waiting For The Night", 'Miracles","Bucket List" and "The Most Beautiful Thing" Are Eargasim and make The Album Classic Nelly Swagg, I Give The Album A (B+) Good Job Nelly!! Expand
  17. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've listened in ages, bought the deluxe edition, heres my review of the tracks, out of 5 stars
  18. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    The music mixes the unpredictability of Whoa, Nelly! and Folklore with the more 'aware' dance-pop of Loose with super surprisingly fun, cohesive, and effortless-sounding results; her lyrics are at once the most simple and profound of her career, reaching into the spiritual depths of her oldest material while taking a cue from the new so that absolutely nothing sounds laborious; and,The music mixes the unpredictability of Whoa, Nelly! and Folklore with the more 'aware' dance-pop of Loose with super surprisingly fun, cohesive, and effortless-sounding results; her lyrics are at once the most simple and profound of her career, reaching into the spiritual depths of her oldest material while taking a cue from the new so that absolutely nothing sounds laborious; and, finally, the range of her voice is explored and hits notes and lingers on melodies I never fully believed possible from this artist. This is the centerpiece of her career, from an artistic standpoint, and exactly the kind of album needed in these times. True to its name, it's often transcendent and bravely attempts return music to those things that matter most, instead of simply what sells the easiest. It's no wonder it hasn't been received better (not much this great ever is).

    Nelly proves, in spite of certain stumbles along the way, that she is the most relevant and important pop artist at work 13 years running.
    Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    40
    Time for another rethink. [Nov 2012, p.96]
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    40
    It's not all bad, of course-if you prefer your sugar with a side of C-rate bounce, there are things here with which you most certainly could spend your Saturday nights.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    40
    Main producer Rodney Jerkins keeps the beats tight and hooks polished, but Furtado's flaming identity crisis makes this cringe listening.