The Stars Are Indifferent to Astronomy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Stars Are Indifferent to Astronomy Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the seventh studio release for the New York alternative rock band led by Matthew Caws.
Buy On

Top Track

Waiting For Something
Oh my my Who's that child? Where is he going to? Why is he so wild? What is he staring at? Why is he so taken? Seems like he's choosing to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    80
    Like the title suggests, Stars burns bright and fast.
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    80
    10 songs, no filler, that won't necessarily knock you out of your seat, but rather leave you wanting to lean back and stay a while.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Jan 20, 2012
    75
    [It has] ringing guitar hooks and winsome nostalgia. [27 Jan 2012, p.71]
  4. Jan 20, 2012
    70
    The component parts of this record prove that indie rock may be 'dying' commercially but still sounds alive and kicking.
  5. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    It is far too adult oriented rock and middle of the road to be anything but the sound of a band coasting, rather than making waves.
  6. Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Overall, though, The Stars Are Indifferent is a quick listen, filled with nice hooks and effortless melody.
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    44
    The songs are fine but largely feckless, and what could be an animating contrast between glum lyrics and upbeat music is too often hobbled by clunkers both generic ("I am lost in my mind when you go to sleep") and specific (something about tarot cards).

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    It's a masterpiece. This review has to be 150 characters long. Great vocals. Great melodies. Great lyrics. Profound and relatableIt's a masterpiece. This review has to be 150 characters long. Great vocals. Great melodies. Great lyrics. Profound and relatable emotional landscape? Am I there yet? Fantastic. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Great album. If you're a fan, its nice to see them re-energized and rocking out more than they have since The Proximity Effect. And if youGreat album. If you're a fan, its nice to see them re-energized and rocking out more than they have since The Proximity Effect. And if you aren't a fan, The Stars are Indifferent to Astronomy is a perfect example about what makes Nada Surf so great. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Many of these critics appear to be burnt out on the fact that from beginning to end of EVERY album Nada Surf have created are nothing short ofMany of these critics appear to be burnt out on the fact that from beginning to end of EVERY album Nada Surf have created are nothing short of filler-less 100% quality. I personally don't begin to gradually degrade my opinion of a band album after album just because they stuck to the style of music they have perfected. At the same time, they aren't Nine Inch Nails (and no one ever will be. Trent always switching up the style and doing so with such brilliance) so yeah, there is a formula but plenty of variations to make this beautiful record highly enjoyable. Collapse
  4. a_1
    Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Stars is an amazing album. Production is simply stunning. Of particular note is the rhythm section tracking and mix. Really impressive. Caws'Stars is an amazing album. Production is simply stunning. Of particular note is the rhythm section tracking and mix. Really impressive. Caws' voice has possibly found an extra gear or perhaps the quicker tempos and 'Let Go' like drive of Stars has allowed the band to do what they do best. For mine, this snappy little compliment of 10 has found a prominent place in what has become a killer discography from a band that does things their way. Thank you Nada Surf. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    This album makes me happy but it doesn't really stand out, nothing generally ground breaking. I am somewhat new to Nada Surf and I'm curiousThis album makes me happy but it doesn't really stand out, nothing generally ground breaking. I am somewhat new to Nada Surf and I'm curious if they will stand up to years of listening. Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    5
    I wanted to like this, but it never gelled for me. It's not bad by any means; it just isn't really all that interesting. Not even sure whatI wanted to like this, but it never gelled for me. It's not bad by any means; it just isn't really all that interesting. Not even sure what to say about it. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2015
    5
    Though I would say that this album is pretty easy to listen to, it would appear that Nada Surf is indifferent to songwriting the same way theThough I would say that this album is pretty easy to listen to, it would appear that Nada Surf is indifferent to songwriting the same way the stars are apparently indifferent to astronomy. This album felt very empty and uninspired to me... which makes me think they are identifying as pop music again? Perhaps that is why this album has been less "Popular" than ones that have come before. (Zing!) Expand

See all 8 User Reviews