• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: May 22, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AmurabiM.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    What is this? A collection of pop songs without a minimal sign of authenticity? A mix of overproduced songs with ridiculous lyrics and poor musical development? An album that tries to be the next step from an act that is just a bad copy from the 80s new wave bands? The Bravery released an album that it feels mediocre. It´s a shame for Brendan O´Brien, but this is not his What is this? A collection of pop songs without a minimal sign of authenticity? A mix of overproduced songs with ridiculous lyrics and poor musical development? An album that tries to be the next step from an act that is just a bad copy from the 80s new wave bands? The Bravery released an album that it feels mediocre. It´s a shame for Brendan O´Brien, but this is not his fault. The sin is over the band´s shoulders. This is just an exercise of bad rhymes, few original melodies, tired vocals (it feels that he tries too hard to be Robert Smith) and really ludicrous and annoying lyrics. It seems to me that they lose the battle between all the other bands form its caliber. And that´s not a great battle to fight. Expand
  2. StirlingNC
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    I really don't understand the low metascore, the best album ever released.
  3. MichaelM
    May 23, 2007
    9
    sweet ass sweet....nice hooks...catchy..everything i love about the bravery...get this
  4. SteveJ
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    I don't get why everyone is so harsh on them...this is pretty good indie/pop/rock/whatever it is called. If I find myself bobbing my head along to a song when it comes on, it's okay by me.
  5. brookp
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Friggin great album, in this world of sugary pop, It's nice to see something that has alot of melancholy substance, delivered with beautifull melodies and some of the coolest loops i ever. And stuff the killers, they have commercial numbers thats it.
  6. DavidP
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    solid album
  7. AndyB
    Jun 5, 2007
    7
    Some Songs are really great and are hits like ''Believe'' , ''Time won't let me go'' or ''Tragedy bound''......but i don't like the song ''Bad Song'' . The good thing about this album is the diversity of style like ''U2' to ''Duran Duran'' to ''The Some Songs are really great and are hits like ''Believe'' , ''Time won't let me go'' or ''Tragedy bound''......but i don't like the song ''Bad Song'' . The good thing about this album is the diversity of style like ''U2' to ''Duran Duran'' to ''The Killers''. Not as good as ''Sam's Town'' of the Killers but an interesting job .......a good album. Expand
  8. MikeD
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    more rock than electronic than their first album the New York band evolves with their second instalment to show that they are more than just the same neo new wave.
  9. DerrikR
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Easily a good cd! the bravery nailed it with split me wide open and bad sun
  10. LaurenC
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    I don't understand the low metascore- this album was a great follow-up. Their sound has changed a bit, but you definitely still get that warm feeling inside after hearing one of their songs. Great, great album. Go listen to it!
  11. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    Ok, stop with your hating. I am sure that if the Bravery came out before the Killers, we would all be hating the Killers. These boys are creative. Sure I could go without "Every Word In Your Mouth" (worst song off the album and the only reason why I'm not giving it a 10) but it is so... great. A departure of the computer made stuff. Smart boys and really worth it. But they have Ok, stop with your hating. I am sure that if the Bravery came out before the Killers, we would all be hating the Killers. These boys are creative. Sure I could go without "Every Word In Your Mouth" (worst song off the album and the only reason why I'm not giving it a 10) but it is so... great. A departure of the computer made stuff. Smart boys and really worth it. But they have evolved... and for the better. Expand
  12. NatalieP
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Easily my favorite album of the year. The synths from the first album are still present, but I was very pleasantly surprised by the more vocal feel of this album. Endicott continues to shine, and the guitars were phenomenal.
  13. andrewm
    May 23, 2007
    8
    Excellent follow-up, thematically darker than the first album. Certain hooks are reminiscent of earlier work, particularly track 4 and "Swollen Summer" from the first album. I thought the acoustic tracks were a nice departure, and interesting direction. They may end up like INXS or The Offspring in the sense that the high hat and post-modern disco sound will be their staples, with little Excellent follow-up, thematically darker than the first album. Certain hooks are reminiscent of earlier work, particularly track 4 and "Swollen Summer" from the first album. I thought the acoustic tracks were a nice departure, and interesting direction. They may end up like INXS or The Offspring in the sense that the high hat and post-modern disco sound will be their staples, with little change from album to album, but will generally be done well. Expand
  14. GillianManson
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Fantastic sounds, loved The Bravery but this is better. Every song is a winner. FANTASTIC.
  15. DinoM
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    I came across The Bravery while watching The Edge Video Podcast, which is available free on iTunes. Their video for "Time Won't Let Me Go" instantly drew me in with its catchy hook and indie vibe. After getting the album based on that one video, I am surprisingly impressed. "Believe" is a great album opener and single, and a sign of things to come on the album. "This Is Not The End" I came across The Bravery while watching The Edge Video Podcast, which is available free on iTunes. Their video for "Time Won't Let Me Go" instantly drew me in with its catchy hook and indie vibe. After getting the album based on that one video, I am surprisingly impressed. "Believe" is a great album opener and single, and a sign of things to come on the album. "This Is Not The End" is my personal favourite, with hints of reggae making it a flowing song. The rest of the album doesn't live up to the previously mentioned songs, but is definitely listenable, from beginning to end. Not a bad song on this album, and I am very grateful for albums like this. Even the import bonus tracks "Rat In The Walls" and "Faces" fit perfectly at the end! I will definitely get the debut album and look to them in the future. Expand
  16. Samara
    May 27, 2007
    8
    This is a decent 2nd album effort. I enjoyed their first CD better than this one, but The Sun and the Moon is quickly growing on me. Especially lovin' "Believe" and "Time won't let me go" . :)
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 70
    [An] album of sharply assembled rock & roll. [Jun 2007, p.105]
  2. Too sappy for the cool kids, sure, but still a fine pop record.
  3. The overall mood is a bit more pensive and solemn. [26 May 2007]