• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: May 22, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StirlingNC
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    I really don't understand the low metascore, the best album ever released.
  2. MichaelM
    May 23, 2007
    9
    sweet ass sweet....nice hooks...catchy..everything i love about the bravery...get this
  3. SteveJ
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    I don't get why everyone is so harsh on them...this is pretty good indie/pop/rock/whatever it is called. If I find myself bobbing my head along to a song when it comes on, it's okay by me.
  4. brookp
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Friggin great album, in this world of sugary pop, It's nice to see something that has alot of melancholy substance, delivered with beautifull melodies and some of the coolest loops i ever. And stuff the killers, they have commercial numbers thats it.
  5. DavidP
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    solid album
  6. MikeD
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    more rock than electronic than their first album the New York band evolves with their second instalment to show that they are more than just the same neo new wave.
  7. DerrikR
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Easily a good cd! the bravery nailed it with split me wide open and bad sun
  8. LaurenC
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    I don't understand the low metascore- this album was a great follow-up. Their sound has changed a bit, but you definitely still get that warm feeling inside after hearing one of their songs. Great, great album. Go listen to it!
  9. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    9
    Ok, stop with your hating. I am sure that if the Bravery came out before the Killers, we would all be hating the Killers. These boys are creative. Sure I could go without "Every Word In Your Mouth" (worst song off the album and the only reason why I'm not giving it a 10) but it is so... great. A departure of the computer made stuff. Smart boys and really worth it. But they have Ok, stop with your hating. I am sure that if the Bravery came out before the Killers, we would all be hating the Killers. These boys are creative. Sure I could go without "Every Word In Your Mouth" (worst song off the album and the only reason why I'm not giving it a 10) but it is so... great. A departure of the computer made stuff. Smart boys and really worth it. But they have evolved... and for the better. Expand
  10. NatalieP
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Easily my favorite album of the year. The synths from the first album are still present, but I was very pleasantly surprised by the more vocal feel of this album. Endicott continues to shine, and the guitars were phenomenal.
  11. GillianManson
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Fantastic sounds, loved The Bravery but this is better. Every song is a winner. FANTASTIC.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. 70
    [An] album of sharply assembled rock & roll. [Jun 2007, p.105]
  2. Too sappy for the cool kids, sure, but still a fine pop record.
  3. The overall mood is a bit more pensive and solemn. [26 May 2007]