• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2012
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    80
    A sophisticated, epic, slow burn of an album, The Temper Trap finds the band taking the creative long view, and updating its bombastic guitar rock with a moody, somewhat synth-oriented sound.
  2. 80
    The Australian five-piece dismiss any notion of a sophomore slump. [Jul 2012, p.100]
  3. May 22, 2012
    70
    Moments of cringe-worthiness aside, album two rejoices in TTT's expansive and elaborately emotional ballads.
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    The Temper Trap are touched by the brilliance of Dougy Mandagi, a vocalist with a set of pipes so extraordinary he could emote a Twitter feed. [Jun 2012, p.112]
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    60
    So this is the real Temper Trap: less fuzz, more grit.
  6. 50
    The Temper Trap establishes a willingness to experiment on the new album, but the band doesn't produce anything as accessible as "Sweet Disposition" or "Fader", the two biggest singles from Conditions
  7. Certain songs on The Temper Trap are just not worth listening to more than a couple of times.
  8. 50
    Instead of bashing critics away with brilliant tunes, they find themselves defining faceless bluster-rock.
  9. Jun 6, 2012
    45
    Unfortunately, the only thing that The Temper Trap's self-titled album proves is that they may have been a one-hit wonder all along.
  10. Aug 22, 2012
    40
    {The Temper Trap] lose the sugar high on their eponymous second album. [Aug/Sep 2012, p.122]
  11. Jul 25, 2012
    40
    Their instrumentation is not potent enough to overwhelm their poor lyrics, and their lead singer hasn't figured out how to use his voice in a way that moves masses.
  12. Jun 6, 2012
    40
    When it comes to developing and honing the craft of songwriting to present a signature sound with a variety of ideas, The Temper Trap fall short.
  13. Jun 1, 2012
    40
    Not quite criminal, but close. [Jul 2012, p.84]
  14. May 22, 2012
    40
    For all Mandagi's pained sincerity--and he makes Chris Martin sound like a smirking ironist doing inverted commas with his fingers every other line--it all sounds weirdly hollow: music as a means to an end.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    First of all, this album is better than Conditions. I doubt anyone will agree with me on that but thats what I think. Its adventurous, bold,First of all, this album is better than Conditions. I doubt anyone will agree with me on that but thats what I think. Its adventurous, bold, and it builds on the bands sound. They still keep the smooth, sweeping vocals of Sweet Disposition, and then add a little synth and grandeur. Dougy's vocals are amazing on here and more impressive then his vocals on Conditions. Some songs though can lose their magic and become a bit boring, such as This isn't Happiness and Never Again. The songs pack more up front and in-your-face emotion especially on tracks like Trembling Hands, The Sea Is Calling and Need Your Love. Altogether its grander, more emotional and far more impressive than their debut. A wonderful step up for the band. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    Quite a disappointment. The album does start to pick up midway, but the main issue I have is that the Temper Trap do not play to theirQuite a disappointment. The album does start to pick up midway, but the main issue I have is that the Temper Trap do not play to their strengths, aka using their singer to his full ability. He's too restrained here, and a band like this whose sound honestly is a bit derivative, needs to take advantage of anything that sets it apart. There are way less melodic hooks, nothing near as strong as "soldier on" and "love lost." With so many other good releases now (Liars, Future of the Left, Japandroids), this will be forgotten. Full Review »
  3. Sep 7, 2013
    3
    There is something rather underwhelming about this whole album. Although it presents us with two rather solid tracks, Need Your Love and WhereThere is something rather underwhelming about this whole album. Although it presents us with two rather solid tracks, Need Your Love and Where Do We Go From Here?, the rest of the album falls rather flat. Perhaps Conditions was not as good as its reputation would suggest, but it's certainly better than this offering. The song London's Burning is one of the most cringe-worthy songs I've ever listened to. As a whole, a rather unmemorable bunch of tracks, which (excluding the two aforementioned stand-out songs) are at best forgettable and, at worst, dreadful. Full Review »