The Terror - The Flaming Lips
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    The first time I heard this album, I thought to myself, "Yup, that's weird". After the second and third listen, I understand why the album is called "The Terror". It's a scary album. It's just so dark and depressing that you just love it that much more. There is no light at the end of the tunnel... only more darkness. My dad told me that one of the songs made him feel like the world was about to end. So, if you're into the happier, lighter side of The Flaming Lips (like in Yoshimi or even The Soft Bulletin), you may go into shock listening to this album. The highlights are: "The Terror", "You Are Alone", and "Turning Violent". Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This is the first Flaming Lips album for me to listen to. So i don't have anything to compare it to. And judging this album on its own merits, i say that i loved it immensely.

    I love the atmospheric feel it has. Very few tracks in here (2 or 3) can be considered forgettable, all the rest is beautiful.

    If you love psychedelic music, this is highly recommended.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    This album is truly terrifying. I have been a fan of the Flaming Lips since the Soft Bulletin, and this record equals if not eclipses that album and Yoshimi. The Terror is completely different. There is not silly bleeps and blops of sound, Coyne does not tell the funny-sad stories like he did on the soft bulletin or yoshimi. this is a continuation of the sounds that came from Embryonic, but the album only contains 9 songs, therefore it is a much tighter album. I would say that this is a solitary, night time listening album. This album is entrancing and hypnotic, and Coyne sings with chant-like style throughout the album. The final two songs are perhaps the strongest of the record. Collapse
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    such a great record as we always used to from the great flaming lips..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  5. May 19, 2013
    9
    Wow. This is such a change for the Flaming Lips, each one of their albums are different than the next, but this one has the biggest change out of all of them. Some may think its a turn for the worst, but I think that this album is just nothing short of amazing. You would probably get bored having them put out an exact copy of Yoshimi every few years. The thing that is so amazing about the Lips is that they are so diverse, they can have one album be filled with happy catchy poppy tunes (about death by the way), and have the next one be like the Terror, filled with dark ambient music. Its just great to always be able to get something new and fresh from the Flaming Lips because they will never really put out the same two things twice. The one thing that I find somewhat annoying though, is the iTunes mastered version of this LP. I bought this album on the day it came out on iTunes, and what I get is all 9 songs, with the ends and beginnings chopped off, so you can be able to listen to the songs on "shuffle mode" on your iPod or iPhone. I want to be able to listen to the whole song all the way throught! Not get this like circumcised version of it. That just REALLY annoys me. But one good thing about it though, is that you get a 10th track. Which is just "The Terror", which is a 54 minute song of just the whole album in its entirety, not with the "Individual Shuffle-Ready Versions", you get all the songs in their entirety. And listening to this whole album all the way through on this one 54 minute "song", is just amazing. It's not just listening to an album, its an experience, and I compare listening to this album all the way through, to listening to Dark Side of the Moon all the way through. It's just such an amazing experience, you just keep going back and listening to it over and over again, and boom, you just have spent half your day listening to the Terror. And in reality, this album is very similar to Dark Side of the Moon, not musically, and it surely isn't getting the same sales as Dark Side of the Moon is, but The Terror, just like Dark Side of the Moon is to Pink Floyd, is The Flaming Lips' masterpiece. it's just such an amazing album, I just can't get over it. And the only reason I am giving it a 9/10 instead of a 10, is because of iTunes' circumcised version of the songs on this album, but other than that, this album is completely amazing. Easily their best LP since the Soft Bulletin or Yoshimi. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    this album is for true fans of music...this is not for children, this is not for people seeking the next trending tune they might hear on the radio on the way to the grocery store. the flaming lips have been rocking out for twenty years, and they've gotten quite prolific at their instruments. this album is terrifying, but it is also beautiful if you appreciate composition. listen to it all the way through, and listen all the way through again as you try to piece yourself together again and try to face the day. life is deeper than sunshine and flowers, there is pain and sadness, and we must learn to face them. luckily we have The Terror to show us the way. Expand
  7. May 26, 2014
    10
    The Terror is so perfect! I can stop screaming about it to anyone who'll listen, and even then I don't think they'll give it a chance. You have to let it get in there. It takes a few listens, and probably some time away, but when you commit to understanding and appreciating this album, you will be so greatly rewarded. This album is so deep and intense. Everything that makes Dark Side Of The Moon is here and so much more. It's so deep and so intense, AAAAARRRGGGHHH!!!!!!!! Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 60
    It's still awesome, of course, just don't expect to enjoy it. [May 2013, p.85]
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    60
    There’s nothing to dislike about their creeping dread, but it’s hard to engage with it.
  3. May 15, 2013
    80
    The Terror is simply the latest (and darkest) report from those reaches, one that generates holographic intensities of the dire straits this band has seen throughout its 30-year career.