• Record Label: Anti
  • Release Date: Nov 9, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeL
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Disapointing in length, a mere 35 minutes, but a great record from the most enchanting, yet underatted, country singer of our era. I was too young to see Patsy Cline in concert --she died when I was 5 years old-- but I have seen Neko Case peform live and I can say, without hesitation, that I've now seen the next best thing. This concert disc is a great reminder of those concerts, Disapointing in length, a mere 35 minutes, but a great record from the most enchanting, yet underatted, country singer of our era. I was too young to see Patsy Cline in concert --she died when I was 5 years old-- but I have seen Neko Case peform live and I can say, without hesitation, that I've now seen the next best thing. This concert disc is a great reminder of those concerts, especially "Favorite" and "Wayfaring Stranger", two standout numbers from the shows I saw. I would highly recommend this CD to any music fan. Expand
  2. MichaelM
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    Dear Guardian reviewer, This is what real musicians sound like when they play together feeding off each others energy. Maybe you should stick with over produced pop, try Ashlee Simpson. The only thing wrong with this cd is that is too short!
  3. MikeW
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    LOL... What's wrong with a "bar band playing songs for friends."? Ok, clearly, the writer for The Guardian, Adam Sweeting, isn't a golfer. *whew....glad thats over* Ok, this album keeps me moving in my chair at work and weaving in and out of traffic when in the car (kidding, of course). But really, this album completey rocks! Her voice is very musically delicate and the sound LOL... What's wrong with a "bar band playing songs for friends."? Ok, clearly, the writer for The Guardian, Adam Sweeting, isn't a golfer. *whew....glad thats over* Ok, this album keeps me moving in my chair at work and weaving in and out of traffic when in the car (kidding, of course). But really, this album completey rocks! Her voice is very musically delicate and the sound quality beats that of other live performances i've heard. My ONLY dissapointment with this album is it's length. Could've put some fillers on it?? But I still give it a 10 because whats on the album kicks some serious butt....... Adam Sweeting from The Guardian goes on to say that Case's song "The Tigers Have Spoken" is a "nasty little piece". That's one of my favorites! It's sad and uniquely beautiful! I'll, clearly, never read The Guardian Expand
  4. Sunil
    Nov 9, 2004
    9
    What would we do without Neko? This live album is as good as anything she's done in the studio. The normally-believable Guardian must've been given the wrong promo to listen to.
  5. AdamH
    Mar 18, 2005
    9
    I took about 35 CDs on a 51 hour Greyhound trip, but this is the only one I listened to (except for a couple of spins of SMILE). Neko put me to bed while I watched all those Pittsburgh houses roll by, and she woke me up in the Kansas flats. I had assumed the show they released was particularly good, but I just recently got to see her live, and she sounded even better. Check out the I took about 35 CDs on a 51 hour Greyhound trip, but this is the only one I listened to (except for a couple of spins of SMILE). Neko put me to bed while I watched all those Pittsburgh houses roll by, and she woke me up in the Kansas flats. I had assumed the show they released was particularly good, but I just recently got to see her live, and she sounded even better. Check out the Sadies' Favorite Colours ... you won't be disappointed. Expand
  6. JereW
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    A mon avis, the best songs are always 2 minutes.
  7. MikeB
    Nov 16, 2004
    9
    i've never enjoyed live albums, they just do not capture the live experience, but this is brilliant. the new songs thrill and the majority of the covers sound fresh and new once more. and that voice! wow. it'll take something special to remove this from the cd player.
  8. JDawg
    Sep 16, 2006
    9
    This is her best album. Neko shines, and this album encapsulates her greatness live.
  9. jimr
    Nov 14, 2004
    9
    The Guardian is full of shit.
  10. Pickles
    Jan 30, 2007
    8
    This was my first neko case album and i will be going back for more. I didn't know it was a live album until the first song was over.
  11. mandrade
    Nov 10, 2004
    8
    and sounding like a bar band is bad?
  12. [Anonymous]
    Nov 12, 2004
    8
    This is a great sample of just how amazing Neko is live. Known as an alt-country goddess, by adding percussion, she actually gets to rock out a little. Plus, anytime you get to hear Neko blow it out with Kelly Hogan and Jim & Jennie and the Pinetops is a great day! If there is a drawback, it is simply too short (coming in at about 35 minutes). Regardless, this is a great disc that will This is a great sample of just how amazing Neko is live. Known as an alt-country goddess, by adding percussion, she actually gets to rock out a little. Plus, anytime you get to hear Neko blow it out with Kelly Hogan and Jim & Jennie and the Pinetops is a great day! If there is a drawback, it is simply too short (coming in at about 35 minutes). Regardless, this is a great disc that will hold you over until her new studio album hits in the spring of 2005. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. She’s in perfect form.
  2. It's not a Case overview, but a standalone country-rock classic.
  3. It never sounds like much more than a bar band playing songs for friends.