• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Jul 13, 2004
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Despite their reputation for distinctiveness parts of 'The Tipping Point' feel distinctly under par by the Roots own high standards suggesting that the departures of MC Malik B (Slacks) and human beatboxers Scratch and Rahzel have, in some ways, led to a successive narrowing down of the range of the Roots' previously loose and eclectic sound.
  2. As a listening experience, The Tipping Point is a decent album, a rough transition at best and a stumble at worst.
  3. 60
    It's hard to shake the feeling that this is a collection of dope beats in search of some rhymes. [Aug 2004, p.134]
  4. Hardcore fans will probably be disappointed with the amount of rhythmic experimentation which, the messy breaks of Boom aside, is pretty much lacking. [Aug 2004, p.113]
  5. The downside to The Tipping Point's chameleonic variety is that the Roots too rarely sound like themselves, or even like a collective. [5 Aug 2004, p.108]
  6. 60
    This time, the division between uninspired, joyless Gang Starr pastiches like Don't Say Nuthin and the polymorphous likes of Stay Cool or Outro has never sounded so glaringly obvious. [Aug 2004, p.92]
  7. Its majority carelessly regurgitates the painful cliches of "enlightened" hip-hop's critical and commercial darlings, while the band falls back on their organic hip-hop sound as a gimmick and piles on guest appearances to disguise their lack of creativity.
  8. For a group who can be so compelling when they aim high and fall short, an effort so squarely average is all the more disappointing.
  9. The Roots have always been more about the music than the lyrics, but "Tipping Point" excels at neither. [11 Jul 2004]
  10. The vast majority of the new Roots album lacks what has made their earlier albums so exciting: spontaneity, originality, musical chops, and a sense of purpose.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. PabloG.
    Apr 26, 2008
    5
    Easily their worst album. But seeing that it's a 5/10 and not a 0/10, that shows you how good they are even when they're bad. While Easily their worst album. But seeing that it's a 5/10 and not a 0/10, that shows you how good they are even when they're bad. While the previous album Phrenology was very Outkast/Beatles-like in their experimentation(and how they succeeded in it), this album regresses. It's just a pop-album with a few good songs. Luckily for The Roots, their last two albums after this one have been very, very good and continue to push hip-hop instead of what this album did: nothing. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    5
    When i heard undun i became a huge Roots fan. But when i heard this album i was a little disappointed with the work on this album. This albumWhen i heard undun i became a huge Roots fan. But when i heard this album i was a little disappointed with the work on this album. This album doesnt have the caliber that would match with any of The Roots albums or any other album for a matter of fact. Thank God I listened to Undun before The Tipping Point Or i would have never of had listened to the Roots. Full Review »
  3. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    5
    Just an average score here for the Hip-Hop kings. A pretty big disappointment considering (the classics, 10/10's) Phrenology and Things FallJust an average score here for the Hip-Hop kings. A pretty big disappointment considering (the classics, 10/10's) Phrenology and Things Fall apart came before this. Full Review »