The Truth About Love

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. 100
    Until the last two songs, whose overwrought drama I don't have to like just because I trust its verisimilitude, they hit every time.
  2. 100
    The storytelling on The Truth About Love, Pink's sixth album and first full-length since 2008's Funhouse, is unfalteringly vibrant, loaded with righteous anger, irreverence, and a clear eye for the darker side.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    It's weird and willfully, proudly human, a big pop album about real emotions and one of P!nk's wildest rides.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    86
    The Truth About Love is a peerlessly witty, endlessly melodic tour de force.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    It's just a shame she gave album space to Mariah-slick motivational ballads such as The Great Escape, which detract from an otherwise fierce record.
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    Pink works best as a one-woman army.
  7. 70
    Truth falls in line with the Kelly-Ke$ha-Katy dance-pop fare du jour.
  8. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    On her sixth album, The Truth About Love, the singer-songwriter born Alecia Moore continues her winning ways.
  9. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Her sixth studio album, The Truth About Love, is, as usual, an assortment of potential singles.
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    67
    If The Truth About Love finds her more content than on Funhouse (which fed off of conflicting, confusing, and not altogether flattering feelings about the mess of her personal life), she's still ambivalent about her contentment.
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    63
    It's not the left-field pop classic she seems capable of one day creating, but it also contains a handful of tracks that laser in on exactly what she does best.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    'The Truth About Love' must be P!nk's best album to date.
    I even would call it the best Album of the year. You will find every thing you want
    'The Truth About Love' must be P!nk's best album to date.
    I even would call it the best Album of the year. You will find every thing you want on this record. Songs to dance, songs to laugh, songs to think and songs to cry.

    It's a true masterpiece and I will never regret buying it.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Definitely the best pop release of the year. This album has everything. P!nk's most diverse album yet. Musically; it has pop, rock, punk,Definitely the best pop release of the year. This album has everything. P!nk's most diverse album yet. Musically; it has pop, rock, punk, alternative, soul, country, dance, electro. Lyrically, it has party songs, break-up songs to songs about issues like Miscarriage, suicide and female empowerment. Stand-Out Tracks: Are We All We Are, How Come You're Not Here, The Truth About Love, Beam Me Up and Slut Like You. MUST HAVE. Full Review »
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    WOW! P!nk has always delivered amazing albums, but this one is just mind blowing. Definitely one of the best albums of the year, and probablyWOW! P!nk has always delivered amazing albums, but this one is just mind blowing. Definitely one of the best albums of the year, and probably her best one yet! And that says a lot! This album will make you cry, laugh, dance... It has at least one song for absolutely everybody! Her songwriting is just as good as it used to be, if not better, and we all know P!nk has always been the best song writer in the pop music scenario. 10/10 album, hands down. Full Review »