Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. They're a tight fit: Ant likes to experiment, and Ali's nimble enough to keep up and make it work.
  2. With "The Undisputed Truth," Brother Ali improves as a rapper, while sacrificing none of the unique, personal touch that made "Shadows on the Sun" so impressive.
  3. I'm prepared to defend this as hip hop's frontrunner for best album of 2007 thus far.
  4. Ali's unselfconscious candor engenders an intimacy between artist and fan that makes each new album feel like a letter from an old friend.
  5. You might not agree with him the entire way, but the gale force of Ali’s convictions and talent will leave you willing to believe most of his truth.
  6. 80
    If his first album, Shadows on the Sun--one of 2003's best hip-hop releases--was meant to introduce Ali to his would-be fanbase, The Undisputed Truth--which sees Ali's life taking a total 180--seals the damn deal. [Mar 2007, p.97]
  7. 80
    Ant perfectly underscores Ali's gruff cadence, simultaneously self-assured and stressed, with a melodic lope that scrunches soul voclas underneath loops of bluesy guitar. [Apr 2007, p.86]
  8. 80
    Ali fuses formindable mic skills and unvarnished honesty as effectively as Eminem. [Apr 2007, p.130]
  9. [Ali] commands thick details and righteous anger. [19 Apr 2007, p.63]
  10. It furthers his reputation as a boldly honest wordsmith dealing with personal conflicts while examining the hypocrisy and contradictions of American culture.
  11. In many ways it's more of the same, but it does seem to improve upon the formula ever-so-slightly.
  12. Though his singular identity doesn't translate necessarily into a singular sound, there's plenty in his road-tested formula for fans of soulful, organic hip-hop to like. [12 May 2007]
  13. 66
    I still think I'd rather have a chat with him than listen to his music. [#24, p.90]
  14. Ali's focus on his inner landscape is the rapper's greatest asset and his biggest liability.
  15. With this record, it’s nice to see [producer] Ant... branching out into hints of reggae and jazz-rock.
  16. All too often, his voice/accent/rhyming patterns suffer from too much rehashed facsimile of past rap glories.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. MungoB
    Apr 27, 2007
    2
    This album is pure ass. Not the good kind of ass, either. Wrinlkly, pimply, gelatinous ass.
  2. AndyD
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Another great disc from Rhymesayers, Ant's production is solid as usual. I also like how the disc has no filler, as most rap/hip hop Another great disc from Rhymesayers, Ant's production is solid as usual. I also like how the disc has no filler, as most rap/hip hop albums do these days. I don't know where I read it, but the only real downside I agree with is that Brother Ali is serious all the time-never really funny or joking around. I'd say this is definitely worth owning! Full Review »
  3. DevinG
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Ant (DJ & Producer for Atmosphere) displays his full ability as a beat maker on this project, while Brother Ali brings the "Truth" with his Ant (DJ & Producer for Atmosphere) displays his full ability as a beat maker on this project, while Brother Ali brings the "Truth" with his strong, preacher-like, vocals. Instant classic! Full Review »