The Undisputed Truth

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kevin
    Mar 29, 2007
    8
    This album is pretty good. It's the first album I got from Brother Ali even though I am a Rhyme Sayers head. It's pretty good.
  2. NazimE
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    One of the dopest rap albums to ever come out....not just this year..but ever. The beats are on point made by produce ANT. The lyrics complement it very nicely. You can feel his raw emotions through the songs...i dont' know how he does it.
  3. DevinG
    Apr 11, 2007
    10
    Ant (DJ & Producer for Atmosphere) displays his full ability as a beat maker on this project, while Brother Ali brings the "Truth" with his strong, preacher-like, vocals. Instant classic!
  4. AndyD
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    Another great disc from Rhymesayers, Ant's production is solid as usual. I also like how the disc has no filler, as most rap/hip hop albums do these days. I don't know where I read it, but the only real downside I agree with is that Brother Ali is serious all the time-never really funny or joking around. I'd say this is definitely worth owning!
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    Hot Beats + Hot Rhymes = Good Hip Hop
  6. LukeGauthier
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    The album Ga perfect name for such a devestatingly funky hip hop album. The lyrics are spit with such intensity and heart felt truth and the production is so flawless that you can't help but jump up and wave your mo fu*king hands in the air. Cop this album as fast as possible and you will soon gain respect, if you hadn't already had it, for hip hop as a lifestyle not just a fad. The album Ga perfect name for such a devestatingly funky hip hop album. The lyrics are spit with such intensity and heart felt truth and the production is so flawless that you can't help but jump up and wave your mo fu*king hands in the air. Cop this album as fast as possible and you will soon gain respect, if you hadn't already had it, for hip hop as a lifestyle not just a fad. Brother Ali is leading the musical revolution You and I have been waiting for all our lives! Nas was right Hip Hop was Dead until April 10 when it was resurrected by this crazy albino dude. Expand
  7. Jayson
    Apr 11, 2007
    6
    i hate rating albums, but honestly I'm just not really feeling it.
  8. MungoB
    Apr 27, 2007
    2
    This album is pure ass. Not the good kind of ass, either. Wrinlkly, pimply, gelatinous ass.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. All too often, his voice/accent/rhyming patterns suffer from too much rehashed facsimile of past rap glories.
  2. Filter
    66
    I still think I'd rather have a chat with him than listen to his music. [#24, p.90]
  3. Urb
    80
    If his first album, Shadows on the Sun--one of 2003's best hip-hop releases--was meant to introduce Ali to his would-be fanbase, The Undisputed Truth--which sees Ali's life taking a total 180--seals the damn deal. [Mar 2007, p.97]