The Valley - Eisley
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    80
    The Valley is a story that had to be told and now begs to be heard again and again.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    Ultimately, it's frustrating to hear a bunch of smart, talented, creative women whining about their love problems.
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    90
    It's hard to find any real faults with Eisley's latest album, The Valley.
  4. Mar 1, 2011
    67
    The past is just that, and The Valley-Eisley's perversely triumphant debut for indie Equal Vision-represents a clean slate. It also serves as a sounding board for chief songwriters/frontwomen Sherri and Stacy DuPree, who swap tales of heartbreaking letdowns with rollicking anger and solemn reflection, respectively.
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    The Valley isn't necessarily a gloomy album, though; most of the anger is funneled into Chauntelle DuPree's guitar riffs, whose rawness is balanced by the girls' sweet, dreamy harmonies.
  6. The Valley is equally intimate and gorgeous as it is rough and realistic.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    70
    The Valley is an overall pleasant--and occasionally riveting--debut for the newly independent family. [Apr 2011, p.118]
  8. Mar 9, 2011
    50
    The tunes are imminently enjoyable and the interplay among the DuPrees' voices is always thrilling. [Feb. 2011, p. 64]
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    Their best album to date. I loved Room Noises, but this honestly blows that album out of the water. A much more mature and confident effort and the songwriting shows it. You can tell these songs are coming from real life events and issues instead of the lame bubblegum "what can I write that will sound cool" approach we've seen not only in the mainstream but the indie levels as well. You can hear in the finished product that the band worked really hard to make these songs as perfect as possible but it doesn't sound overproduced. The vocals and harmonies are beautiful and if you know some of the stories behind the songs it makes them even better. Eisley has become my favorite female fronted band and currently own my favorite album of 2011. Go get it. Do it! Full Review »
  2. Apr 13, 2011
    8
    This is a good album. Being the old goth that I was I instantly fell in love with the artwork on the album, and read a couple of critic notes on the front of it, so I bought it, a good way to waste money to buy an album without hearing or knowing about a band. But I was pleasantly surprised at how good this album is. Nice subtle melodies, romantic lyrics and some pretty fine guitar and drums. It's a new band I have discovered, and I am glad I did! One of my favorites this month as far as current releases go. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    First time through most of the songs sounded the same to me. Second time through, I started digging the subtle differences. Third time through I realized my initial disappointment was due to expecting one thing and getting something different. In this case, different turned out to be very good. Full Review »