The Valley - Eisley
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    8
    This is a good album. Being the old goth that I was I instantly fell in love with the artwork on the album, and read a couple of critic notes on the front of it, so I bought it, a good way to waste money to buy an album without hearing or knowing about a band. But I was pleasantly surprised at how good this album is. Nice subtle melodies, romantic lyrics and some pretty fine guitar and drums. It's a new band I have discovered, and I am glad I did! One of my favorites this month as far as current releases go. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Flipping awesome album. Not as magical as the previous albums but much more mature and sophisticated with more complicated layers that are pleasing to the ears.
  3. Mar 12, 2011
    7
    After a four year wait, Eisley released their new album. They show lots of maturity, no doubt to some of the hard times the band members have faced over the last few years. Definitely not the most original album I've ever heard, but it's got some interesting ideas and great vocals.
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    First time through most of the songs sounded the same to me. Second time through, I started digging the subtle differences. Third time through I realized my initial disappointment was due to expecting one thing and getting something different. In this case, different turned out to be very good.
  5. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    Their best album to date. I loved Room Noises, but this honestly blows that album out of the water. A much more mature and confident effort and the songwriting shows it. You can tell these songs are coming from real life events and issues instead of the lame bubblegum "what can I write that will sound cool" approach we've seen not only in the mainstream but the indie levels as well. You can hear in the finished product that the band worked really hard to make these songs as perfect as possible but it doesn't sound overproduced. The vocals and harmonies are beautiful and if you know some of the stories behind the songs it makes them even better. Eisley has become my favorite female fronted band and currently own my favorite album of 2011. Go get it. Do it! Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    80
    The Valley is a story that had to be told and now begs to be heard again and again.
  2. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    Ultimately, it's frustrating to hear a bunch of smart, talented, creative women whining about their love problems.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    70
    The Valley is an overall pleasant--and occasionally riveting--debut for the newly independent family. [Apr 2011, p.118]