• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Wanted [EP] Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British/Irish boy band's first release in the United States collects together 7 songs from its UK released albums: The Wanted and Battleground.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. 83
    It's the perfect soundtrack for partying all night--but still sneaking home before your parents notice.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, there is a musical sophistication and higher maturity level to the Wanted's sound than you might expect.
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    68
    Nothing on The Wanted's debut U.S. EP comes close to "Glad You Came," but the extended play contains a number of fine-tuned melodies that could succeed the group's latest radio hit
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    The Wanted take cues from Coldplay ("Clocks"-style piano shows up on "Gold Forever") and Kings of Leon ("Use Somebody" moans swirl around "Lose My Mind") to no avail, and their dance pop droops where it should bounce.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    37
    Though saucier and sleeker than its peers, the Wanted isn't nearly as fun....But none of the guys has an especially charismatic--or even distinguishable--voice.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Best Boy band. I listen to The Wanted since "All Time Low". It's the only Boygroup for male people.. There is no stupid dancing, but ownBest Boy band. I listen to The Wanted since "All Time Low". It's the only Boygroup for male people.. There is no stupid dancing, but own songwriting. Best singles are: Chasing the Sun,Glad You Came and Warzone. Best Boy band since "Take That" ... Uk has the best music :D Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Excepcional nunca ouvi algo tão bom em toda minha vida,a junção de músicas animadas e calmas transformam o álbum em um dos melhores de todaExcepcional nunca ouvi algo tão bom em toda minha vida,a junção de músicas animadas e calmas transformam o álbum em um dos melhores de toda década.Não há palavra para definir como "Chasing the Sun" se encaixa perfeitamente nas vozes de cada um dos rapazes,"All time Low" com um ínicio suave melódico se encaixando com o refrão animado e perplexo da música a transforma perfeita.A décadas eu não ouvia nada como esse álbum,se a algo a dizer o considero Perfeito. Expand
  3. May 11, 2012
    10
    Satellite e Chasing The Sun são ótimas, e ainda tem as minhas musicas preferidas do The Wanted + Battleground. EsseSatellite e Chasing The Sun são ótimas, e ainda tem as minhas musicas preferidas do The Wanted + Battleground. Esse EP tá mais que perfeito! The Wanted tem tudo pra bombar. Collapse
  4. May 26, 2012
    6
    The Wanted - on their latest EP put up the average pop songs, that blend with what the majority of artists represents - such joyful lyricsThe Wanted - on their latest EP put up the average pop songs, that blend with what the majority of artists represents - such joyful lyrics about nothing in connection with dance, electronic soundtrack. The only songs in which the patent worked out are "Gold Forever" and the hit song "Glad You Came" - enriched by accordion motifs. Expand
  5. May 3, 2012
    5
    I am so extremely against boy bands. They usually don't harmonize well, personalities don't seem to mix well and the image as a whole ends upI am so extremely against boy bands. They usually don't harmonize well, personalities don't seem to mix well and the image as a whole ends up tacky. Still, I gave them a chance.

    "Glad You Came" already has Billboard in a choke hold, only being outdone by the massive Fun. & Janelle Monae single "We Are Young." It was the perfect lead single because it really showcases their use of electro-pop to elevate what would be boring and typical boy band music to a level that keeps them from being annoying.

    "Chasing The Sun" starts of similarly, somewhat gentle, but by the time the song climaxes, you're going to be dancing so hard you might lose a shoe. I did. I'd never imagine a boy band successfully latching onto the dance craze, especially since we haven't had a good one in almost a decade, but this song really could potentially be a summer smash. It is the next single, after all. The highlight definitely has to be the adrenaline pumping 808. "All Time Low" is the more typical boy band track. It doesn't really have a particular stand out moment. It almost feels like "Chasing the Sun" never really ended, but the melody was slightly altered and pushed on.

    "Satellite" makes up for the dip "All Time Low" made, but is still consistent in style from the previous three tracks. Slower verses, killer dance chorus. This song is a bit catchier and you actually hear a slight sliver of personality coming out.

    "Lightning" is where the EP starts to falter. Even though it's a nice tune, at this point it's monotonous. Same build. Same underlying beat. Same harmonies. They are in desperate need of a Beyoncé to take the lead.

    Then, all of a sudden the dance party ends. I didn't really know what to think of "Heart Vacancy" because I was so caught of guard by the sudden disruption of electro-synths with a acoustic guitar. Did Taylor Swift walk in the room? I'll say it again, none of these boys really stand out from one another. Every good band has a leader. I can't even tell who's singing what. Their vocals are actually kind of weak.

    Sorry, "Gold Forever." I already stopped having fun. Don't trying restarting the party.

    Ok, I'm being dramatic. The EP isn't bad by any means. It's just lacking a few key items, like a lead singer, varying beats and maybe one of them can rap or something. I don't know. Liven it up! They came swinging, but they missed quite a few punches. This could have been epic, but it falls just short of "pretty cool."

    I'd slap a 5 out of 10 on this one. Am I being to generous? Too harsh? Let me know in the comments!
    Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2012
    0
    sucks. really, really sucks. this isn't 150 characters long yet? OMG it just sucks! Still not 150, hmm don't buy it ever. Here are some bandssucks. really, really sucks. this isn't 150 characters long yet? OMG it just sucks! Still not 150, hmm don't buy it ever. Here are some bands i do recommend, The Arctic Monkeys, The Strokes, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Blink 182, AFI, The Kooks, The Beatles. Expand