• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2008
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Here's where a modern master, backed by living and breathing session musicians (including Funk Brother Jack Ashford), masters the masters with startling accuracy.
  2. He is committed to the material--that is certain--but despite the original songs, an undeniable sense of déjà vu detracts from his fine performances.
  3. It's actually refreshing, then, to hear a record like Raphael Saadiq's unabashedly retro The Way I See It, which doesn't try to "update" old soul sounds to a hip-hop world and a white singer.
  4. 80
    It's Saadiq's fine songs--notably the showstopping slow-jam 'Oh Girl'--that makes The Way I See It less a homage, more a timelessly enjoyable 42 minutes. [May 2009, p.97]
  5. What's lacking from the Oakland native is the kind of fresh approach to a retro sound that elevated Amy Winehouse above straight homage. [Apr 2009, p.110]
  6. 60
    The Way I See It is refreshingly different, eminently listenable. [Apr 2009, p.110]
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    80
    With a supple tenor that glides up easily into Smokey Robinson territory, the former Tony! Toni! Toné! frontman has crafted a filler-free album that evokes classic Northern soul without sounding slavish.
  8. The album was Grammy-nominated, and deservedly so.
  9. Backed by a galvanizing ensemble of musicians that would make the Funk Brothers proud, Saadiq belts out effervescent love songs with infectious vigor.
  10. 80
    Saadiq is a romantic who stays true to the deliberate simplicity of such titles as 'Sure Hope You Mean It' and 'Just One Kiss.' But his adaptable baritone is always crisp and cocky--he never threatens to assume the fetal position if he doesn’t get the extreme cuddling he craves.
  11. On his latest effort, Saadiq creates a seamless, supremely melodic set that evokes '60s and '70s soul.
  12. On his third solo outing (and first for Columbia), songwriter/producer Raphael Saadiq takes the listener on a smooth carpet ride that seamlessly weaves the feel-good essence of soul music's storied roots.
  13. Tony! Toni! Toné! has done it again!
  14. The Way I See It isn't going to blow any minds, but it might open a few eyes.
  15. Even while Saadiq pays homage to soul's golden era, he brings his own flavor through his tell-tale tenor; still, if it ain't your cup of tea, just slip this in your parents' record collection and they won't notice a thing.
  16. Perhaps those earliest Detroit grooves are truly inimitable after all. But if you want to hear someone give the task one hell of a shot, The Way I See It affords the finest view.
  17. The Way I See It doesn't break any new ground, but it's a very well-executed homage that serves to remind that classic soul is timeless.
  18. 80
    While the new direction is sturdy and refreshing, there is something comfortably familiar about it. The vintage shoes fit Saadiq, and he wears them well.
  19. He goes Motown with so much joy in one-man-band craft he'll not only convince the girl he's sweet-talking that this is forever, he'll convince you.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. JaniceC
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    I am one of the parents who, if it was slipped into my record collection wouldn't notice the difference! How talented is this singer and I am one of the parents who, if it was slipped into my record collection wouldn't notice the difference! How talented is this singer and composer to create the sounds of Smoky Robinson; Marvin Gaye; The Stylistics; Supremes etc etc and all by original compositions. Thank you to my son who gave this to me for my 64th birthday. This "old geezer" loves it - as I did when I listened to Mo- Town in my teens. Full Review »
  2. SlyK.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    Super sounds in every way music, lyrics, the whole ball of wax. This is real music! Outstanding! I
  3. AdrienneD.
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    This is the best album I've heard in a long time. Love the old vibe to it. In a world when so many songs and artist sound alike, here This is the best album I've heard in a long time. Love the old vibe to it. In a world when so many songs and artist sound alike, here come Raphael with this awesome take on old motown. LOVE IT!!! Full Review »