The Weight Is A Gift Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Death Cab For Cutie's Chris Walla returns as producer for the band's followup to 'Let Go.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The Weight Is a Gift is Nada Surf's most honest and earnest record to date.
  2. As a whole, The Weight is a Gift wins because the band knows how to write a catchy song and make it both sad and exuberant at the same time, with an unerring pop sensibility.
  3. 80
    Rammed with stinging hooks and ringing harmonies. [Oct 2005, p.112]
  4. The Weight Is A Gift isn't as lyrically sharp [as Let Go].
  5. A worthy sequel to the pure pop bliss of 2002's Let Go. [Oct/Nov 2005, p.125]
  6. 60
    Nada Surf settle comfortably into adulthood. [Nov 2005, p.138]
  7. Sadly, bland harmonies and bloodless production blunt the impact. [Oct 2005, p.117]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. CarolynW
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This album, like its predcsessors, shows music doesn't have to be complicated to prove its worth. This Weight is a Gift gives fans hope This album, like its predcsessors, shows music doesn't have to be complicated to prove its worth. This Weight is a Gift gives fans hope for more beautiful indie records of similar imprtance. Nada Surf is, in my mind, THE indie rock band. Yes, 'tis a biased opinion, but whose isn't? Expand
  2. matthew*
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Another solid Indie/Pop Masterpiece from one of the most underappreciated bands of our generation.
  3. MichelleG
    Jan 31, 2006
    9
    This cd is really good even though I still think that Let Go is better....you have to get used to the lyrics, but after you do its pretty catchy.
  4. PhilpR
    Sep 22, 2005
    8
    A really good record. A mature & original & very very intelligent pop group.
  5. GregH
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    Another good one here by a great band that somehow still remains (for better or worse) under the radar. Catchy, simple, and honest. great use Another good one here by a great band that somehow still remains (for better or worse) under the radar. Catchy, simple, and honest. great use of language here too. As a complete work, it is not as strong as Let Go, but, song to song, still makes for a great listening experience. Expand
  6. adils
    Jan 11, 2006
    7
    This is not as sweet as Let Go but it's still pretty good. Unlike Let Go which instantly catches you, this grows on you gradually. This is not as sweet as Let Go but it's still pretty good. Unlike Let Go which instantly catches you, this grows on you gradually. It's worth a listen. Overall I think Nada Surf are a pretty solid band, very enjoyable live, too. Expand
  7. JKM
    Nov 9, 2005
    2
    This album is sooo blah. This is not indie rock (as I was expecting)... this is a collection of very average, 90s alternative pop radio This album is sooo blah. This is not indie rock (as I was expecting)... this is a collection of very average, 90s alternative pop radio songs... think Goo Goo Dolls meet Semisonic. Yuck! Nothing interesting happens on this album. Your Legs Grow is okay.. but. nothing else on this album sticks out to me. I'm extremely dissapointed that I put out $10 for this one. This is the first time I've been this dissapointed with a music purchase in a long time - and I buy a lot of music. Oh well. Save your money for something with some substance. This release has none. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews