The Weight of Your Love Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the British rock band was produced by Jacquire King and is its first without guitarist Chris Urbanowicz.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    Editors' fourth retains their customary grandeur and gloom, but with a new immediacy and surety, as Tom Smith matures into a truly commanding frontman. [Aug 2013, p.86]
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    74
    Comprised of bass-driven pop turns (see the hooky backing vocals of ‘Formaldehyde’) and evocative mood pieces containing occasional flourishes of Americana (courtesy of American co-producer Jacquire King), nothing in the album’s solid latter half will reach out and grab you. However, there is just enough diversity evident in these tunes to stave off indifference and reward repeated listening.
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    Although The Weight of Your Love doesn't succeed to the same extent as other, older European rock albums drenched in American influences, it makes for a nicely retooled, if occasionally misguided, formula.
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    54
    The ideas behind Weight have some potential, but Editors can’t seem to pull them off successfully.
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    50
    It's hard to find anything out of the ordinary here beyond the usual blend of angst rock and stadium bombast. [Aug 2013, p.69]
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    40
    ‘A Ton Of Love’ shows they’ve not lost their knack for passably impersonating Echo & the Bunnymen, but really, you deserve better than this hazily indistinct angst.
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    30
    No matter what mode they’re in, they manage to turn four-minute songs into small eternities.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Albums as good as this are very rare. Stunningly brilliant. The bad reviews on this site are simply wrong. Go out and get it now you won't regret it.
  2. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    This album is great At the beginning i thought it was total crap, all this ballads were unnecessary and just didn't fit. But after a while i realised that Editors made something something different and something better. Their music is now more American, and i think this is the reason of so low reviews. For me one of the best album of the 2013, so far. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This album is amazing. Another example of how the Editors are able to change their sound and excel with new dynamics. Just as ITLAOTE focused on synth driven melodies, this album focuses on Tom's lyrics and lugubrious vocals. Sure, it's unlikely we'll ever hear the raw power found in The Back Room, but it's better for them to explore new sounds then rehash the same album every two years. This is an album I'll be happy to play with my girlfriend in the car, it's not too depressing and is rather beautiful at times. Luckily, we still have their older work, and can swap out their records according to what you're in the mood to listen to! Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Played this in the car for the first time and thought it was pretty ordinary. Like other users once you get over the initial hump its a really good album. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    Amazing! Its just a pleasure to be sucked into the gloomy Post-Punk-world of the Editors once more. The whole album combines both the intense, metaphoric lyrics of the first album and mixes it up with the atmosphere of ITLAOTE. In genereal, it feels like they tried to get back to their roots since the whole album is much less synthi-driven than its predecessor. This all climaxes into their best album since ,,The Backroom" and makes the little flaws ITLAOTE contained forgotten. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    7
    I was surprised on how the ratings were for this one. This isn't like an excellent record The Back Room or An End Has to Start, but it definitely isn't like a bad record In This Light and on This Evening. I welcome back their return to basics, but it could have been better especially in the middle of the album. Highlights on the album are: Sugar, A Ton of Love, Bird of Prey. Expand
  7. May 20, 2014
    1
    Boring, no inspiration, poor lyrics!!! People who like this album dont know what Editors were in the past. On this album, Editors pretend they are Coldplay... sadly! I can't stand this album at all!!! These guys need a break because everytime they release an album, since 2009, it seems they don't know what they are doing!!! One of the worst album of 2013. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews