The Weirdness

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. Billboard
    70
    It's a tightly woven scheme whose anthemic simplicity is deceptive and leaves room for sophisticated (but still fierce) arrangements. [10 Mar 2007]
  2. Blender
    80
    Fans of the Stooges' early-'70s masterpieces wondered what they would have sounded like with a big-league budget. Here's the answer: loud, surly and still barely civilized. [Apr 2007, p.120]
  3. There are certainly moments of The Weirdness that rock. A few of these new Stooges songs may even cause you to stand up and take notice. The difference is, the old ones made you duck for cover.
  4. Mojo
    80
    These 12 tunes pack an almighty sonic punch. [Apr 2007, p.96]
  5. Sure, 'The Weirdness' rarely comes close to capturing the feral magic of the band's best vintage work (even if 'Mexican Guy' is built on the same rhythm as '1969') , but, hey, it's The Stooges - and that should be enough for anyone.
  6. You know how reunion albums work: You listen for the playing, not for the songs, which are mediocre at best.
  7. Spin
    70
    Both a big relief and a mild disappointment. [Mar 2007, p.90]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 42
  2. Negative: 15 out of 42
  1. May 10, 2015
    7
    Been listening to The Stooges since the early 80's, and while this album may not become a classic like their first 3, it is still one of theBeen listening to The Stooges since the early 80's, and while this album may not become a classic like their first 3, it is still one of the best records to come out in 07. And personally I like it better than Fun House, but that's just me. Full Review »
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 23, 2007
    3
    You can't go back. Iggy's done just fine-amazing really-with his solo career. This,however, doesn't work at all. The Stooges You can't go back. Iggy's done just fine-amazing really-with his solo career. This,however, doesn't work at all. The Stooges are one of my favorite bands-they were damn near perfect. Today these are the same guys but not the same band. I'm a little surprised we all expected more. We all could use a few extra bucks and I hope the Ashtons snag a few here-good guys that did something amazing back in the day. Full Review »
  3. DR
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    The vinyl version is infinitely better than the cd version. It's got a better overall sound (you can actually hear the bass!) and the The vinyl version is infinitely better than the cd version. It's got a better overall sound (you can actually hear the bass!) and the bonus ep makes it all worthwhile with songs infinitely better than on the album and cd version. The big mistake here is only a select amount of people are going to get to hear the best part of the release. Full Review »