• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 19 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SonicTom
    Mar 13, 2007
    1
    I am bored! The Stooges wouldn't never had made such a simple and disappointing record 30 years ago. No Blues, no Jazz??? No Fun!!! Let me think about American Caesar made by the Stooges, wow!!!!! That would have been a pleasure. 1/2 point for the reunion and another 1/2 for Iggy and his crew, who are alive!
  2. JimR
    Mar 8, 2007
    1
    A sad embarrassment for Iggy, the Ashetons, and Steve Albini.
  3. HowieM
    Mar 16, 2007
    0
    40 years of building a legacy all go down the drain with this piss poor attempt at sounding like The reformed Germs fronted by Crad Krueger. I have already burned my copy of Skull Ring and am selling my Shellac poster on eBay because of this.
  4. JayM
    Mar 5, 2007
    1
    The horror! The horror!
  5. AndyN
    May 2, 2007
    2
    huge disappointment!
  6. BrendanD
    May 3, 2007
    0
    "An album that hideously disgraces the band's original work" is what Pitchfork said. I don't usually agree with my fellow Chicagoans' reviews, but on this one, they're right on the money. I'm a huge Iggy fan (I think I'm the only one who loved both "Beat 'Em Up" and "Skull Ring"). And frankly, I'm taking Iggy teamed with Sum-41 over Iggy teamed with "An album that hideously disgraces the band's original work" is what Pitchfork said. I don't usually agree with my fellow Chicagoans' reviews, but on this one, they're right on the money. I'm a huge Iggy fan (I think I'm the only one who loved both "Beat 'Em Up" and "Skull Ring"). And frankly, I'm taking Iggy teamed with Sum-41 over Iggy teamed with the Ashetons at this point. First of all, the Stooges' BEST record was barely a Stooges record at all -- that is, "Raw Power," on which the band was billed as "Iggy & the Stooges." This piece of garbage has absolutely nothing in common with "Raw Power." There's none of the sex and violence and garbled lyrics and garbled guitar work that graced that masterpiece of an album; in its place are songs that try to be hard but seem to cull lyrics from the second "Backstreet Boys" record. Don't get me wrong; Iggy & the Ashetons are still a force to be reckoned with in-concert. But if you're not an Igginitiate, or if you've never heard the original vinyl edition of "Raw Power," avoid "The Weirdness" at all costs. Collapse
  7. Hein
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    I think 'The Weirdness' sucks big time. It's just a regular punkrock record. It's a painfull fact. Their 60/70s albums are awesome and live The Stooges still kick your head off like no other band ever can!
  8. RonnieJoe
    Mar 21, 2007
    2
    What a dissapointment... Steve Albini should be hung... 1 near great song "My Idea of Fun" and a bunch of junk... I will still go see the live show but I hope they keep away from most of this stuff Please boys .. on the next one get Deniz Tek or James Williamson to produce.. Iggy I am sorry but once again you have snatched defeat from the jaws of victory. In closing...The Weirdness is a What a dissapointment... Steve Albini should be hung... 1 near great song "My Idea of Fun" and a bunch of junk... I will still go see the live show but I hope they keep away from most of this stuff Please boys .. on the next one get Deniz Tek or James Williamson to produce.. Iggy I am sorry but once again you have snatched defeat from the jaws of victory. In closing...The Weirdness is a sad effort not worth your hard earned money. Expand
  9. ranc
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    total crap, the worst cd of the year already
  10. Colleen
    Mar 4, 2007
    2
    They shouldn't have made it. Why men in their intellectual prime who can paint, theorize, and write better than at any other point in their lives cannot also create the best sonic racket of their careers is beyond me. Youthcentricism is extremely ugly, and I, in no way, value youth more than sagacity - quite the opposite, really. That being said, it seems a band like The Stooges They shouldn't have made it. Why men in their intellectual prime who can paint, theorize, and write better than at any other point in their lives cannot also create the best sonic racket of their careers is beyond me. Youthcentricism is extremely ugly, and I, in no way, value youth more than sagacity - quite the opposite, really. That being said, it seems a band like The Stooges could only do what they did TRULY effectively for a very short time. And they needed to be young & dumb to do it. A band like Radiohead can and will still create great music at age 65 because their music is of a cerebral, not visceral nature. Not so for the Iggy & the Stooges. Their music is meant to be FELT, it is the sort of music that caters to your emotional, not thinking, brain. While still a tremendous live performer at 60+, the bilious verbal gift and inane bravado that Iggy once possessed have given way to something more serene on record, and he should embrace it, not put it on steroids to recapture something irretrievable. Be the noble sage, Iggy. The testing of physical limits is the milieu of youth. Expand your mental horizons, instead. AWFUL. Expand
  11. mikes.
    Mar 7, 2007
    4
    a failure to recreate stooges of old. The lyrics and songwriting are bad this time around, and the guitars lack energy, and the production is bland. poor release they should of never reunited.
  12. philob
    Mar 8, 2007
    1
    Sadly, a buddy of mine had his Sylvia Brown in full effect when he made the call on this popped hemorrhoid of a record three weeks ago. This album is completely awful, retarded and a crime against my ears & hard drive space. Nearly every song starts with the same drum hit. "Greedy Awful People" is a is greedy awful rip-off of "New Values". The lyrics remind me of bad Dictators style "Joek Sadly, a buddy of mine had his Sylvia Brown in full effect when he made the call on this popped hemorrhoid of a record three weeks ago. This album is completely awful, retarded and a crime against my ears & hard drive space. Nearly every song starts with the same drum hit. "Greedy Awful People" is a is greedy awful rip-off of "New Values". The lyrics remind me of bad Dictators style "Joek Rock" only without any Ross The Boss or Top Ten riffage. "My Idea Of Fun" is the only song that is half way descent and you can hear that on their MySpace page for free. To quote Mallory Knox after Mickey killed the fuckin' Indian: "BAD! BAD! BAD! BAD! BAD! Help them James Williamson. You're their only hope. Expand
  13. kn
    May 10, 2007
    1
    A genuine travesty put to record. What a shame.
  14. MycroftW
    Mar 13, 2007
    3
    They still rock on stage, but I've already forgotten what this record sounded like, luckily enough
  15. sleazyrocker
    Mar 22, 2007
    1
    its a piece of crap!
  16. JohnnyW
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    Journalists making excuses for this mess are not really journalists at all, but PR hacks in thin disguise. This is downright horrible, and should have never been released. Anyone who ever had doubts about Steve Albini has now had them confirmed: the guy's a waste of groceries. As for Iggy, he should retire, immediately. To hear how you do this kind of rock comeback properly, check Journalists making excuses for this mess are not really journalists at all, but PR hacks in thin disguise. This is downright horrible, and should have never been released. Anyone who ever had doubts about Steve Albini has now had them confirmed: the guy's a waste of groceries. As for Iggy, he should retire, immediately. To hear how you do this kind of rock comeback properly, check out Nick Cave's excellent new Grinderman CD and toss this Stooges embarrassment in the garbage. Expand
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jul 23, 2007
    3
    You can't go back. Iggy's done just fine-amazing really-with his solo career. This,however, doesn't work at all. The Stooges are one of my favorite bands-they were damn near perfect. Today these are the same guys but not the same band. I'm a little surprised we all expected more. We all could use a few extra bucks and I hope the Ashtons snag a few here-good guys that You can't go back. Iggy's done just fine-amazing really-with his solo career. This,however, doesn't work at all. The Stooges are one of my favorite bands-they were damn near perfect. Today these are the same guys but not the same band. I'm a little surprised we all expected more. We all could use a few extra bucks and I hope the Ashtons snag a few here-good guys that did something amazing back in the day. Expand
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. The problem lies in the fact that The Stooges have nothing left to say.
  2. 80
    These 12 tunes pack an almighty sonic punch. [Apr 2007, p.96]
  3. Where they were once a glorious mess, here they are simply a mess. [Apr 2007, p.114]