The Weirdness

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 19 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MungoJ
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    I thought it sucked at first, now the tunes just continue to play in my head and I think it pretty much rules. "The Weirdness" is the best song, yeah some of the lyrics are a just a little bit terrible but the album as a whole still kicks the hell out of pretty much anything out there.
  2. upyours
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    you all don't know what you're talking about, this is great.
  3. JohnO
    Mar 9, 2007
    9
    As best I can tell, The Stooges are getting trashed by most critics for coming across with dumb, idiotic, simple music....last time I checked, "The Stooges" and "Fun House" were nothing but that! Not real songs, but just riffs? What the Hell were "TV Eye", "Loose", "1969", "I Wanna Be Your Dog," etc.? No sense of impending doom or menace? Turn up the sound, and compare it to ANYTHING else As best I can tell, The Stooges are getting trashed by most critics for coming across with dumb, idiotic, simple music....last time I checked, "The Stooges" and "Fun House" were nothing but that! Not real songs, but just riffs? What the Hell were "TV Eye", "Loose", "1969", "I Wanna Be Your Dog," etc.? No sense of impending doom or menace? Turn up the sound, and compare it to ANYTHING else coming out nowadays!!! Too many people are forgetting that this band was thoroughly trashed in the late 60's/early 70's by everybody except for CREEM magazine....and the criticism now sounds just like it did back then. These songs will sound great live (Iggy will, of course, be higher up in the mix than he is on this CD.....which, I'm sure, he did deliberately to ensure that people know this is a STOOGES album, not an Iggy solo effort or an Iggy & The Stooges record). The real stars of "The Weirdness" are clearly the Ashetons, who, frankly, play like their lives depend on each song. Also, I have no issue with anyone who listens to this music and doesn't find it to their liking. However, I'm seeing too many reviews where the main point is the age of the band members, NOT the music. (Example: This kind of music isn't meant to be played by old-timers, like, say Radiohead's....Christ, if you like Radiohead, why are you even listening to the Stooges???). Lastly, I've found that this new CD has grown on me considerably after 4-5 listens. On Tuesday, I likely would have rated it about a 5 or 6 at best. Expand
  4. JoeB
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    Like all Stooges records, before making an accessment, multiple listenings are required. After a few days, this thing really grabbed me. I wasn't expecting them to re-invent punk rock, and they knew they were walking into a trap when they started this, but were bold enough to do it anyway.When those early records came out, they were also panned at the time. I hope they keep going on Like all Stooges records, before making an accessment, multiple listenings are required. After a few days, this thing really grabbed me. I wasn't expecting them to re-invent punk rock, and they knew they were walking into a trap when they started this, but were bold enough to do it anyway.When those early records came out, they were also panned at the time. I hope they keep going on and making more records. They really hit a stride at the end of the record, and it starts off strong too. Expand
  5. BennyJ
    Mar 20, 2007
    8
    critics are simply taking this record too seriously and drawing too many comparisons. what's wrong with the lyrics? nothing, this is iggy pop indieites. look at previous pop albums.. singles such as "butttown" and so on. c'mon, what do you really expect from this man? i mean he wrote a song about using the ATM. doesn't anyone else see the self parodic coming of age here? critics are simply taking this record too seriously and drawing too many comparisons. what's wrong with the lyrics? nothing, this is iggy pop indieites. look at previous pop albums.. singles such as "butttown" and so on. c'mon, what do you really expect from this man? i mean he wrote a song about using the ATM. doesn't anyone else see the self parodic coming of age here? the album simply rocks. if you look between the lines too much, you aren't going to find much more than these guys simply having a blast. Expand
  6. RickK
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Like all Stooges albums, you have to listen to it multiple times to feel the groove. I was worried after reading negative review after negative review, but of course I bought it regardless. I couldn't believe how poorly others were rating it. This is a hard hitting album, and if you can lighten up and laugh with the lyrics instead of commenting on how ridiculous 'my dick's Like all Stooges albums, you have to listen to it multiple times to feel the groove. I was worried after reading negative review after negative review, but of course I bought it regardless. I couldn't believe how poorly others were rating it. This is a hard hitting album, and if you can lighten up and laugh with the lyrics instead of commenting on how ridiculous 'my dick's turning into a tree' sounds, you are going to enjoy it. As for Iggy being out of tune, its that imperfection that makes it perfect. I wouldn't change a thing, and I absolutely love it. Expand
  7. EJ
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    The flack this record is getting reminds me of how every time WoodyAllen makes a decent, perfectly likeable new movie, the critics all pan it because it is not Annie Hall. Most of the criticisms reveal the critics' expectations for the record more than they reflect the artist's intentions. But you can't have expectations for the Stooges. Let's not forget that each of The flack this record is getting reminds me of how every time WoodyAllen makes a decent, perfectly likeable new movie, the critics all pan it because it is not Annie Hall. Most of the criticisms reveal the critics' expectations for the record more than they reflect the artist's intentions. But you can't have expectations for the Stooges. Let's not forget that each of the first 3 Stooges records sound almost like an entirely different band. So now they sound like 4 entirely different bands. The record is not amazing, but the songs are wonderfully dopey, fun, catchy and rock-n-roll. The lyrics are often moronic, but let's not forget how dumb "beat on the brat, beat on the brat with a baseball bat" is, or how stupid half the Beatles' lyrics are, or even the Stooges lyrics on the old stuff. So I don't get all the criticisms of the lyrics. I think most people are creeped out that a 60-year old guy is talking about sex so much, but, you know what, what's the big deal about that either? He should just get old and stop thinking about it? I don't care how old he is, if the song has a beat, the guitar is rocking and I think there's fun going on. This is a fun record that doesn't sound like anything else being made now. Expand
  8. DimkaK
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    What I didn't get a week ago and what I get now is that I don't know shit about music. I thought 'The Weirdness' rather sucked in the beginning, I was wondering... I know now... Iggy knows better.
  9. TomT
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    Other than the Ig being mixed a little low, a great record. "My Idea Of Fun" I interpret as a comment on the post 9/11 America. And as for the complaint on "dumb" lyrics, dig the first Stooges album. Why do the call themselves "The Stooges", eh? Don't pay attention to the bad reviews. Buy it!!!
  10. Will
    May 4, 2007
    10
    The mistake many of the critics have made is comparing this to the classic Stooges albums when it belongs very much in the here and now. The classic band was a different band (and one that was also vilified for not being sophisticated at the time); The Stooges now are older, maybe a little wiser, and they know this has an element of self-parody about it, so they embrace it wholeheartedly. The mistake many of the critics have made is comparing this to the classic Stooges albums when it belongs very much in the here and now. The classic band was a different band (and one that was also vilified for not being sophisticated at the time); The Stooges now are older, maybe a little wiser, and they know this has an element of self-parody about it, so they embrace it wholeheartedly. And the result is an almighty sonic boom from your CD player. Steve Albini, far from being the villain of the piece, is a genius for just letting the band go about it in their own way. Ron and Scott Asheton sound like they're on steroids and they are the album's real driving force and show exactly why Iggy has never reached the heights of The Stooges on his solo albums. Iggy himself might be a bit under par vocals wise, but he is getting on a bit, and as for his lyrics, weren't they always dumb? And wasn't that why they were so brilliant? Ignore the pretentiousness of the critics reviews, this is the most essential album of the year so far. Expand
  11. Kyle
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    From the first listen, I was hooked on this album. I don't care to compare it to anything the band has done in the past. I listened to it as though I'd never heard of the Stooges and I think it's probably the punkest record I've heard which has been released in the last 10 years. Punk is ever evolving, not some trendy fad. The fact these boys got back together and From the first listen, I was hooked on this album. I don't care to compare it to anything the band has done in the past. I listened to it as though I'd never heard of the Stooges and I think it's probably the punkest record I've heard which has been released in the last 10 years. Punk is ever evolving, not some trendy fad. The fact these boys got back together and hammered it out as they did is amazing. Iggy could have polished the shit out of his vocals on this if he wanted but he left a few voice cracks in there - even some minor musical mistakes the band left in the recordings because, it sounds cool! Iggy's lyrics are as cool as they've ever been, I near shit myself laughing on my first listen. Just as the Stooges defined so much back in their day, I feel they're making just as big of a mark with "The Weirdness" most especially considering all the garbage lining the CD shelves and the airwaves nowadays. They're showing us what it's really about, just do it. Critics suck and those of you rating it low, you simply have a bad taste in music. Expand
  12. RolfI
    Mar 13, 2007
    9
    Not a direct continue on the origimal Stooges albums, but a natural evolution. One of the best Iggy Pop albums with his best band ever!
  13. DaveLT
    Mar 14, 2007
    7
    Musically (not lyrically) it could be pre-Fun House. Scott Asheton opens songs like Charlie Watts on Some Girls and Emotional Rescue. But Asheton's snare is Loose, not tight. Ron Asheton and Steve Mackay ride it out Sonics'--the Witch and Boss Hoss--fashion. Not much (of course) psychedelia, Coltrane and James Brown. I can't hear Mike Watt. I bought my CD player (new) for Musically (not lyrically) it could be pre-Fun House. Scott Asheton opens songs like Charlie Watts on Some Girls and Emotional Rescue. But Asheton's snare is Loose, not tight. Ron Asheton and Steve Mackay ride it out Sonics'--the Witch and Boss Hoss--fashion. Not much (of course) psychedelia, Coltrane and James Brown. I can't hear Mike Watt. I bought my CD player (new) for thirty bucks. Iggy is familiar, Loose, like the Swingin Medallions, '66. The Weirdness. Did Hunter S Thompson inspire the title? Expand
  14. RafaelK
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Excelent, perfect ROCK AND ROLL, BABY!!!!
  15. JamesS
    Mar 5, 2007
    7
    Another FunHouse, I wasn't expecting. However, that's not to say that I wasn't more than a little disappointed with a once through of all 12 tracks that was reported to be months of slaving over by Osterberg& Co. with Steve Albini twidling the knobs in the studio. Titles like "ATM" and "Greedy Awful People" appeared to have been a clue. The Asheton Brothers and Mike Watt Another FunHouse, I wasn't expecting. However, that's not to say that I wasn't more than a little disappointed with a once through of all 12 tracks that was reported to be months of slaving over by Osterberg& Co. with Steve Albini twidling the knobs in the studio. Titles like "ATM" and "Greedy Awful People" appeared to have been a clue. The Asheton Brothers and Mike Watt sound like their doing their damnest, but vocally and lyrically, Iggy seems to have spent spent himself in his last outing with Skull Ring. Then again, when I first heard "My Idea of Fun" a couple of weeks back , I was horrified. But the song is starting to grow on me. So maybe with a few listens, the rest will follow. Collapse
  16. SonicSmith
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Of course the rock critics don't get it. The first time around, only Detroiters and a handful of degenerates like Joey Ramone, Johnny Thunders, Johnny Lydon, Henry Rollins and Ian MacKaye got it. Twenty years from now the critics will all call it a classic.
  17. JeffB
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Get the CD-- it will sound better
  18. MissAnne
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Excellent
  19. JanneS
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    classic
  20. RichR
    Apr 12, 2007
    9
    I wonder if I've been listening to the same album all these weirdos are trashing. I love these songs, and I REALLY love the guitar playing. Hmmm, some people must want to just slag these guys, for some reason. Dunno why...
  21. FelipeM
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Sound like a lost tracks of past works. Sounds like a classic! Buy now!
  22. JohnH
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    This album Rocks!The critics that were negitive I do not want what you have been smoking!!!
  23. DR
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    The vinyl version is infinitely better than the cd version. It's got a better overall sound (you can actually hear the bass!) and the bonus ep makes it all worthwhile with songs infinitely better than on the album and cd version. The big mistake here is only a select amount of people are going to get to hear the best part of the release.
  24. May 10, 2015
    7
    Been listening to The Stooges since the early 80's, and while this album may not become a classic like their first 3, it is still one of the best records to come out in 07. And personally I like it better than Fun House, but that's just me.
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. The problem lies in the fact that The Stooges have nothing left to say.
  2. Mojo
    80
    These 12 tunes pack an almighty sonic punch. [Apr 2007, p.96]
  3. Q Magazine
    30
    Where they were once a glorious mess, here they are simply a mess. [Apr 2007, p.114]