The Weirdness - The Stooges
The Weirdness Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Weirdness' is the first album for the legendary rock band--which, yes, includes frontman Iggy Pop--since 1973. The remaining original lineup is supplemented by Minutemen bassist Mike Watt.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
  1. 80
    These 12 tunes pack an almighty sonic punch. [Apr 2007, p.96]
  2. 70
    Both a big relief and a mild disappointment. [Mar 2007, p.90]
  3. The problem lies in the fact that The Stooges have nothing left to say.
  4. The band sounds crisper and cleaner than it should.
  5. It's a rather sad indictment that by the end of the album you almost forget its The Stooges gainfully toiling away.
  6. Where they were once a glorious mess, here they are simply a mess. [Apr 2007, p.114]
  7. Cringe-worthy lines are unfortunately rampant through The Weirdness’s (long) forty minutes.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 15 out of 41
  1. RafaelK
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Excelent, perfect ROCK AND ROLL, BABY!!!!
  2. SonicSmith
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Of course the rock critics don't get it. The first time around, only Detroiters and a handful of degenerates like Joey Ramone, Johnny Thunders, Johnny Lydon, Henry Rollins and Ian MacKaye got it. Twenty years from now the critics will all call it a classic. Expand
  3. Kyle
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    From the first listen, I was hooked on this album. I don't care to compare it to anything the band has done in the past. I listened to it as though I'd never heard of the Stooges and I think it's probably the punkest record I've heard which has been released in the last 10 years. Punk is ever evolving, not some trendy fad. The fact these boys got back together and hammered it out as they did is amazing. Iggy could have polished the shit out of his vocals on this if he wanted but he left a few voice cracks in there - even some minor musical mistakes the band left in the recordings because, it sounds cool! Iggy's lyrics are as cool as they've ever been, I near shit myself laughing on my first listen. Just as the Stooges defined so much back in their day, I feel they're making just as big of a mark with "The Weirdness" most especially considering all the garbage lining the CD shelves and the airwaves nowadays. They're showing us what it's really about, just do it. Critics suck and those of you rating it low, you simply have a bad taste in music. Expand
  4. DaveLT
    Mar 14, 2007
    7
    Musically (not lyrically) it could be pre-Fun House. Scott Asheton opens songs like Charlie Watts on Some Girls and Emotional Rescue. But Asheton's snare is Loose, not tight. Ron Asheton and Steve Mackay ride it out Sonics'--the Witch and Boss Hoss--fashion. Not much (of course) psychedelia, Coltrane and James Brown. I can't hear Mike Watt. I bought my CD player (new) for thirty bucks. Iggy is familiar, Loose, like the Swingin Medallions, '66. The Weirdness. Did Hunter S Thompson inspire the title? Expand
  5. mikes.
    Mar 7, 2007
    4
    a failure to recreate stooges of old. The lyrics and songwriting are bad this time around, and the guitars lack energy, and the production is bland. poor release they should of never reunited. Expand
  6. Colleen
    Mar 4, 2007
    2
    They shouldn't have made it. Why men in their intellectual prime who can paint, theorize, and write better than at any other point in their lives cannot also create the best sonic racket of their careers is beyond me. Youthcentricism is extremely ugly, and I, in no way, value youth more than sagacity - quite the opposite, really. That being said, it seems a band like The Stooges could only do what they did TRULY effectively for a very short time. And they needed to be young & dumb to do it. A band like Radiohead can and will still create great music at age 65 because their music is of a cerebral, not visceral nature. Not so for the Iggy & the Stooges. Their music is meant to be FELT, it is the sort of music that caters to your emotional, not thinking, brain. While still a tremendous live performer at 60+, the bilious verbal gift and inane bravado that Iggy once possessed have given way to something more serene on record, and he should embrace it, not put it on steroids to recapture something irretrievable. Be the noble sage, Iggy. The testing of physical limits is the milieu of youth. Expand your mental horizons, instead. AWFUL. Expand
  7. HowieM
    Mar 16, 2007
    0
    40 years of building a legacy all go down the drain with this piss poor attempt at sounding like The reformed Germs fronted by Crad Krueger. I have already burned my copy of Skull Ring and am selling my Shellac poster on eBay because of this. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews