The Will To Death - John Frusciante
The Will To Death Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The stripped-down 'The Will To Death' is not just the second solo disc in 2004 for the Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist, but marks the first of a whopping six planned albums for Record Collection this year.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. It's all very simple, organic and, best of all, easy on the ears. [Oct 2004, p.140]
  2. This is undoubtedly a stronger effort than Shadows Collide, and maybe that's due to [Frusciante's] ability to just let the music fly instead of attempting to overwork things.
  3. As another impressive portion of his potent '04 output, Will to Death's immediacy and quality should quiet the critics-- particularly those who pegged his early solo records as the work of a narcotics pain-train washout.
  4. There's almost nothing in the way of guitar heroics and it's far from groundbreaking, but fans of darkly personal skewed pop should enjoy Will to Death.
  5. Zooming sheets of spacious wind-tunnel prog and raw, solo-spattered soul. Commercially, it's suicide. [26 Jun 2004, p.55]
  6. Contains some potentially highly commercial music, were it not for the underwhelming production. [Sep 2004, p.118]
  7. His intention here was to create something unpolished and free of studio edits, acting as contrast to Shadows. His result, unfortunately, reeks of squandered potential.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. carlyw
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    Amazing, obviously punk isnt dead yet. When i listened to it i cried beacause of its raw origionality and beauty.
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    It makes me cry, every single note is full of passion, this man is not joking. His life is music. John Frusciante is my favorite composer of all time. These songs are perfect for a rainy day, perfect for the heart that is in love, perfect for the ear that wanna hear some of the beauty that can be created with a guitar and a voice that goes deep in your feelings. Just listen to it and let you go! Expand
  3. NoFuture
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    God Bless Frusciante
  4. patm
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Anything john plays is amazing.
  5. JonathanB.
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Perfect.
  6. WichIta
    Jan 17, 2005
    9
    Lets be honest here, the guy is a guitar god. He's got the freakiness of Barrett, he's become as prolific as Zappa and he's sold as many albums as Hendrix. This album see's him develop more clarity, and as usual there's a couple of tracks that you just wish he'd left out, and a couple of pieces of music that you wish just went on forever. I'd love to see a best of of Johns. I've made a few different ones on the iPOD but if you put his best songs together he might just get the solo recognition he's more than deserving of. Expand
  7. MarcD
    Jul 27, 2004
    8
    If you like this, buy Shadows collide with people. Very few musicians today can put out this amount of quality in such a short time. If you are looking for RHCP, don't look here, or at any of his solo work. The best term I can use to describe is "catchy" Expand

See all 10 User Reviews