The Wolf

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 9, 2003
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkN
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    I think you either love Andrew W.K. music or you hate it - I LOVE IT - ALL OF IT!!! Picks me up whatever my mood and after listening to a few tracks on my way to work I am ready to take on the world!
  2. Annesley!
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Totally awesome. What's "The Wolf" about? It's about rock and roll. It's about fists pumping in the air. It's about singing along loudly even though you're tuneless. It's about giving the last decade of musical irony and extistential angst a big reversed v sign. The Wolf, like "I get Wet" is a fairly straightforward album. Subtle it ain't. Standing at Totally awesome. What's "The Wolf" about? It's about rock and roll. It's about fists pumping in the air. It's about singing along loudly even though you're tuneless. It's about giving the last decade of musical irony and extistential angst a big reversed v sign. The Wolf, like "I get Wet" is a fairly straightforward album. Subtle it ain't. Standing at slightly over half an hour, it leaves out the filler. A great album. Expand
  3. Dizzy
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Every songs he made Rullez xD
  4. DougB
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    Slightly better than the 1st. Great album
  5. DomS.
    Sep 16, 2003
    0
    Once again, he sucks, blows, and performs some strange fellatio-influenced mix of sucking and blowing on yet another mindless piece of crap album. Don't get suckered in once again. PLEASE DON'T!
  6. MontyMonty
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    The thing with Andrew WK is, you either love him or hate him. I happen to love him. Listen and decide for yourself.
  7. danh
    Sep 17, 2003
    2
    everything great about I Get Wet is gone here. too bad. he's still fun to see live
  8. Tim
    Sep 20, 2003
    8
    The last album was great because it was so dumb, yet a ton of fun. This one's great because it's actually... great. It hits the perfect blend of party anthems and just plain well written rock.
  9. ChrisP
    Sep 26, 2003
    8
    I gave the first album an 8 due to some incredible and unique tracks, despite the weaker tracks. This album does take a few more listens to get into, but the goodness is spread more evenly this time and its (Top Gun Theme)/(Rock Opera) moments are stunning.
  10. cottoneyejoe
    Sep 30, 2003
    1
    he tried....so i gave him a point. im sorry, but this is music for retarded rednecks.....have fun shitting your pants when you listen. enjoy.
  11. IanG
    Jan 8, 2004
    6
    Oh dear. I really didn't want to have to do this. I guess asking for a follow-up that lived up to the brilliance of 'I Get Wet' was too much to ask. Slowing the tempo and trying but failing to seriousize the lyrics just didn't work out IMO. 'Your Rules' is the stand-out, and 'Free Jumps' is a bit alright as well, but as for the rest I didn't Oh dear. I really didn't want to have to do this. I guess asking for a follow-up that lived up to the brilliance of 'I Get Wet' was too much to ask. Slowing the tempo and trying but failing to seriousize the lyrics just didn't work out IMO. 'Your Rules' is the stand-out, and 'Free Jumps' is a bit alright as well, but as for the rest I didn't bother ripping it. In particular 'Make Sex' is appalling and 'Never Stop The Party' more cringeworthy than anything on 'I Get Wet'. 'Totally Stupid' is a mess as well. Expand
  12. mercyful_
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    This young and bright guy is bring the old rock and roll back to earth. God job mate!!!
  13. MAXk.
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    This CD is the best! no matter what kind of music you like, youll most def. like andrew w. k. he makes you feel good about yourself and your life. so PARTY HARD
  14. KevinG
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    I'm shitting myself listening to this right now. Absolutely fantastic.
  15. MattT
    Sep 24, 2003
    6
    Well, granted, it WAS too much to ask for Andrew to come up with something as glorious as I Get Wet a second time, it's just hard to accept that he swung THIS far in the other direction. That's not to say that this is a bad CD; aside from "Tear It Up" and "Make Sex," two rather painful mistakes, the songs are all quite good. The problem is that they're just somewhat more Well, granted, it WAS too much to ask for Andrew to come up with something as glorious as I Get Wet a second time, it's just hard to accept that he swung THIS far in the other direction. That's not to say that this is a bad CD; aside from "Tear It Up" and "Make Sex," two rather painful mistakes, the songs are all quite good. The problem is that they're just somewhat more indulgent and less effective than those on "I Get Wet." So if you became enamored with "I Get Wet" as I did, don't expect the same sort of consistency. After all, it isn't the slightly slower tempo that drags this album down (Never Let Down and Really In Love are pretty good. I mean how can you not like a lyric like "I do what I want/And I want you"?), Anderw's songwriting knack just escaped him temporarily. But go ahead and get this album anyway. After you hear "Totally Stupid" and "I Love Music," it'll start to grow on you. Expand
  16. jm
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    best album in the history of sound!
  17. DanH
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Andrew WK represents the best of POP.
  18. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    If you have heard any of awk's material you know full well what you are getting into here. enormous, typically uplifting, hook filled sound bonanzas. i used this album as a b-12 shot while i was at my lowest with a lifelong muscular disease and it will forever hold a special place in my heart. not a dud on the album if you ignore 'make sex' which is easy to do. get this album and feel good now
  19. Apr 23, 2013
    5
    The songs are longer and lack the cheesiness that made I Get Wet so joyous. AWK played all the instruments himself so the music itself sounds bland and unimpressive. The album has a better concept albeit a reverse of the previous album (searching for the meaning of life through party for this album). I was disappointed with this album and would give it a miss unless you want to hear theThe songs are longer and lack the cheesiness that made I Get Wet so joyous. AWK played all the instruments himself so the music itself sounds bland and unimpressive. The album has a better concept albeit a reverse of the previous album (searching for the meaning of life through party for this album). I was disappointed with this album and would give it a miss unless you want to hear the work of a man that has let the steroids get to his head. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. So yeah, he's moved on a little but no, he hasn't gone soft on our perilously-leaping arses, and his personal holy trinity still seems to be the deeply unfashionable but unironically ace Van Halen, Meat Loaf and Billy Idol.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Just because W.K. has found his soft center lyrically, it doesn't mean the music has lost any of its hard core. [12 Sep 2003, p.150]
  3. Spin
    75
    The Wolf works best as a concept album about never surrendering the night when you got your first real six-string at the five-and-dime and were tryin' to break free. [Oct 2003, p.108]