The Wolf

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 9, 2003
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkN
    Oct 1, 2003
    10
    I think you either love Andrew W.K. music or you hate it - I LOVE IT - ALL OF IT!!! Picks me up whatever my mood and after listening to a few tracks on my way to work I am ready to take on the world!
  2. Annesley!
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    Totally awesome. What's "The Wolf" about? It's about rock and roll. It's about fists pumping in the air. It's about singing along loudly even though you're tuneless. It's about giving the last decade of musical irony and extistential angst a big reversed v sign. The Wolf, like "I get Wet" is a fairly straightforward album. Subtle it ain't. Standing at Totally awesome. What's "The Wolf" about? It's about rock and roll. It's about fists pumping in the air. It's about singing along loudly even though you're tuneless. It's about giving the last decade of musical irony and extistential angst a big reversed v sign. The Wolf, like "I get Wet" is a fairly straightforward album. Subtle it ain't. Standing at slightly over half an hour, it leaves out the filler. A great album. Expand
  3. Dizzy
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Every songs he made Rullez xD
  4. DougB
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    Slightly better than the 1st. Great album
  5. MontyMonty
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    The thing with Andrew WK is, you either love him or hate him. I happen to love him. Listen and decide for yourself.
  6. Tim
    Sep 20, 2003
    8
    The last album was great because it was so dumb, yet a ton of fun. This one's great because it's actually... great. It hits the perfect blend of party anthems and just plain well written rock.
  7. ChrisP
    Sep 26, 2003
    8
    I gave the first album an 8 due to some incredible and unique tracks, despite the weaker tracks. This album does take a few more listens to get into, but the goodness is spread more evenly this time and its (Top Gun Theme)/(Rock Opera) moments are stunning.
  8. mercyful_
    Oct 26, 2003
    9
    This young and bright guy is bring the old rock and roll back to earth. God job mate!!!
  9. MAXk.
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    This CD is the best! no matter what kind of music you like, youll most def. like andrew w. k. he makes you feel good about yourself and your life. so PARTY HARD
  10. KevinG
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    I'm shitting myself listening to this right now. Absolutely fantastic.
  11. jm
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    best album in the history of sound!
  12. DanH
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Andrew WK represents the best of POP.
  13. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    If you have heard any of awk's material you know full well what you are getting into here. enormous, typically uplifting, hook filled sound bonanzas. i used this album as a b-12 shot while i was at my lowest with a lifelong muscular disease and it will forever hold a special place in my heart. not a dud on the album if you ignore 'make sex' which is easy to do. get this album and feel good now
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. So yeah, he's moved on a little but no, he hasn't gone soft on our perilously-leaping arses, and his personal holy trinity still seems to be the deeply unfashionable but unironically ace Van Halen, Meat Loaf and Billy Idol.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Just because W.K. has found his soft center lyrically, it doesn't mean the music has lost any of its hard core. [12 Sep 2003, p.150]
  3. Spin
    75
    The Wolf works best as a concept album about never surrendering the night when you got your first real six-string at the five-and-dime and were tryin' to break free. [Oct 2003, p.108]