• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Woods Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ubiquitous Dave Fridmann produced this latest outing for the veteran indie rockers, their first album for Sub Pop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. [They] clearly sound alive with the possibility of redefining punk song structure by writing 11-minute flamboyant guitar dirges that have as much in common with My Bloody Valentine as they do with '70s arena rock. [May 2005, p.170]
  2. The Woods is an incredibly intense rock record even by S-K’s lofty standards; it's a call to arms that will hopefully force complacent indie kids to demand more from their rock music.
  3. Skull-crushingly heavy, but not without a heart, 'The Woods' is definitely Sleater-Kinney’s finest (and loudest) hour to date.
  4. A musical tour-de-force, and probably Sleater-Kinney’s best album to date.... If it lacks the immediate appeal and accessibility of One Beat or All Hands on the Bad One, it feels more mature and meaningful than either.
  5. Some of the best and heaviest music of its career. [2 Jun 2005, p.70]
  6. A smoldering rock and roll record that rivals John Lennon’s Plastic Ono Band and Nirvana’s In Utero in terms of unexpectedness.
  7. Compared to their early work, disappointing. [Jun 2005, p.118]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 124
  2. Negative: 18 out of 124
  1. MikeL
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Still an absolutely amazing record.
  2. David
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    Album of the year, perhaps the decade. Fierce beyond belief.
  3. Daved
    May 28, 2005
    10
    Sleater-Kinney's crowning achievement. Multiple listens reveal every track to be a towering aural delight, though "Jumpers" deserves to Sleater-Kinney's crowning achievement. Multiple listens reveal every track to be a towering aural delight, though "Jumpers" deserves to be the track that breaks them into the mainstream. Just keep a slightly open mind of what S-K should be and it won't disappoint. Simply do not miss this record. Expand
  4. IanC
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    I had heard of Sleater-Kinney but never actually "heard" them before seeing how highly regarded this album was on metacritic. I picked up I had heard of Sleater-Kinney but never actually "heard" them before seeing how highly regarded this album was on metacritic. I picked up this album, and all I have to say is that it is a crime against humanity that they are not more well known. Just attended their concert in Omaha last Wednesday and there were all of maybe 300 people there to see what I now consider to be the best rock band in the world. If you like hard, uncompromising music, pick up this album. Expand
  5. ChadB
    May 25, 2005
    9
    The best afvice I have for anyone who ever had reservations about Sleater-Kinney in the past is to listen to "Jumpers". It embodies all of The best afvice I have for anyone who ever had reservations about Sleater-Kinney in the past is to listen to "Jumpers". It embodies all of the S-K elements that have been built up over the last decate and incorporates them into a wall of unbridled sound. Four seconds..... Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2010
    9
    Great album. It's got such a full sound, especially compared to many of other other acts in the riot girrrrl era. They've come a long wayGreat album. It's got such a full sound, especially compared to many of other other acts in the riot girrrrl era. They've come a long way since Heavens to Betsy.. Expand
  7. PDXR
    Jun 13, 2005
    0
    Barely accessible and disappointing. Worth a couple listens, but too scalding, abrasive and chaotic for repeat visits. Carrie B. is the Barely accessible and disappointing. Worth a couple listens, but too scalding, abrasive and chaotic for repeat visits. Carrie B. is the ultimate poser, raging against nostalgia in "Entertain," when, in fact, her entire sound on "The Woods" is a direct rip off of the guitar rock of the late 60s and early 70s. Irony? I think not. Just a lot of posing. Maybe this should be the end of S-K.. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews