Them Crooked Vultures

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 123

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CarlV
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    This album is simply one of the best albums from all the contributing parties. It's a great experiment they made, with no one to impress after unanimous success, they still impress anyway. Mark of a truly amazing band. Other bands should take note.
  2. RyanB.
    Nov 28, 2009
    3
    The super group "Them Crooked Vultures" looks good on paper... The disc itself though blends together to create nothing. It all sounds the same, and leaves much to be desired on all fronts. Maybe it was the less then deserved hype from the media or the band that made this disc seem so mediocre.
  3. TomD
    Jan 14, 2010
    5
    There's absolutely nothing new or interesting here. Although this supergroup is certainly talented, they aren't able or willing to get out of their comfort zone and produce anything memorable.
  4. Bman
    Nov 18, 2009
    8
    A solid debut from a band that's dripping with pedigree. I love QotSA. Pretty much anything Homme touches, actually (Humbug is my favorite Arctic Monkeys album). I was impressed with what he's done with Grohl and Jones in just a few short months. Juicy riffs and unconventional song structure make sure your attention is held. Sags in places but also has some real corkers. A solid debut from a band that's dripping with pedigree. I love QotSA. Pretty much anything Homme touches, actually (Humbug is my favorite Arctic Monkeys album). I was impressed with what he's done with Grohl and Jones in just a few short months. Juicy riffs and unconventional song structure make sure your attention is held. Sags in places but also has some real corkers. Homme's sensual dirt rock sound fused with Grohl's (in this case) subdued drumming reminds you why Songs for the Deaf was so fantastic. JPJ more than holds his own as the multi-instrumentalist, though he's never really given a chance to show off. Highlights are No One Loves Me & Neither Do I, Mind Eraser No Chaser, Elephants, Warsaw and Gunman. Here's hoping they manage to make a follow-up. Expand
  5. JoeH
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    One of the best albums of the year. Really slick, well produced. Loud, but not overcompressed like Metallica or even the latest stuff from most rock bands- someone finally figured out how to use an LA-2A properly. Tight too, flows very well from track to track, which is rare. I'd bet money that this was recorded on old school tape and not in digital format. I loved it, it's a One of the best albums of the year. Really slick, well produced. Loud, but not overcompressed like Metallica or even the latest stuff from most rock bands- someone finally figured out how to use an LA-2A properly. Tight too, flows very well from track to track, which is rare. I'd bet money that this was recorded on old school tape and not in digital format. I loved it, it's a great album. It's so meticulous, like listening to the Radiohead or Sigur Ros of metal. Expand
  6. MattB
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    An utterly dirty, nasty, sweaty, violent, putrid, hellcat of a record that I am totally enamoured with from start to finish. This year's best rock album.
  7. PFunk
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    I LOVE Queens Of The Stone Age, Foos, and Zep, so perhaps I'm somewhat biased, but this album is fantastic. I popped it in the CD player of my car radio on the way home after buying it, and I was nearly forced to pull over, having succumbed to one eargasm after another. This is the swift kick in the balls that rock needed. Is it bloated? Yes. Is it indulgent? Yes. It is the most I LOVE Queens Of The Stone Age, Foos, and Zep, so perhaps I'm somewhat biased, but this album is fantastic. I popped it in the CD player of my car radio on the way home after buying it, and I was nearly forced to pull over, having succumbed to one eargasm after another. This is the swift kick in the balls that rock needed. Is it bloated? Yes. Is it indulgent? Yes. It is the most invigorating musical experience I'd had in years? Absolutely. Expand
  8. DanalyzerX
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Start. Stop. Go Fast. Slow Down. Take Your Time. Hurry Up. If this doesn't make sense to a reviewer from Spin or RS, why am I not surprised? Did you enjoy the bonfire where Matchbox 20 and the Spin Doctors were cranked and some dumbass jock who HAD a car made off w/ your g/f? OMG- This is the shot heard around the rock world. It is so tongue in cheek at times- "You'll blow them Start. Stop. Go Fast. Slow Down. Take Your Time. Hurry Up. If this doesn't make sense to a reviewer from Spin or RS, why am I not surprised? Did you enjoy the bonfire where Matchbox 20 and the Spin Doctors were cranked and some dumbass jock who HAD a car made off w/ your g/f? OMG- This is the shot heard around the rock world. It is so tongue in cheek at times- "You'll blow them all in King Dumbcumb" - Bandoliers? umm an unofficial airing of grievances ala JPJ re: Page and Plant? The balls to call a song Reptiles? After all, wasnt the mighty LZ referred to as Dinosaurs by Darby Crash or some other punk icon? Joshua has other lil pokes here, too many to mention but is this ever so fine, particularly at a time when Nirvana live shit is being released and Nickleback is still on the charts. Shun shun shun, I shall have my fun knowing this has Brett Michaels heading back to Pennsylvania scratching his ass and shaking his head. Say hi to Axl baby. This has camaros in high school parking lots revved and ready to go..... getting stoned never felt so good- oh wait- is that my woman unzipping my pants? Why, yes it is. Cheers P Diddy. Expand
  9. BryanS
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Every listen I hear something new. Song structure is tossed out the window in favor or rocking musical arrangements that take you places you weren't expecting to go. If anything this album exceeded my already high expectations. The group sounds as if they've been riffing together since the Stone Age.
  10. AlexC
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Critics dont know what they're talking about, ask for one of them if they ever tried to create something from their imagination and put it on the market, ask them if they even made it to the top100 song of the week, b*llshit talk this album is incredible, every bandmate has a huge role and it's taken in a brilliant way, I just love it.
  11. SamH.
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Rock at it's finest. An amazing album from three amazing musicians.
  12. JH
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums in a very very long time! I can't stop listening to New Fang! There's one or two songs maybe aren't my fav but this is a very solid album. Need more!
  13. MaxP
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    So there has been so much anticipation hype for this album and at first listen it seems like a let down for sure. I am an advocate for Queens of the Stone Age and loved Songs for the Deaf with Grohl, but this album doesnt have the same automatic impact. THIS ALBUM GETS BETTER WITH EVERY LISTEN, until you realize this collaboration is golden. With the exception of Mind Eraser, I can listen So there has been so much anticipation hype for this album and at first listen it seems like a let down for sure. I am an advocate for Queens of the Stone Age and loved Songs for the Deaf with Grohl, but this album doesnt have the same automatic impact. THIS ALBUM GETS BETTER WITH EVERY LISTEN, until you realize this collaboration is golden. With the exception of Mind Eraser, I can listen through this album no problem. WARSAW has to be my favorite, but so many different riffs will get stuck in your head making you want to listen to more. My suggestion to critics, actually listen to the album more than once. good job TCV. Expand
  14. CedricF
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    JOSH HOMME IS A FRIKKIN LEGEND!!! DAVE GROHL IS A FRIKKING LEGEND- he should stick with drums and other bands instead of foo fighters JPJ says itself
  15. DylanD
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Wow, with some of the albums getting higher marks then this, the reviewers need to check their brains. An amazing album from three hard rock gods. Anything with Dave Grohl is going to be amazing.
  16. DaveS
    Nov 21, 2009
    9
    Lots of haters and people expecting to hear Zeppelin or Nirvana reencarnated. And stop using the term "Supergroup," it kind of shows your hand as to what you were expecting. Sorry "professional" music reviewers, that is not what TCV was about. TCV is about great musicians making kick-ass rock n' roll. Take it on its own merits, as if you had never heard of these guys before, and Lots of haters and people expecting to hear Zeppelin or Nirvana reencarnated. And stop using the term "Supergroup," it kind of shows your hand as to what you were expecting. Sorry "professional" music reviewers, that is not what TCV was about. TCV is about great musicians making kick-ass rock n' roll. Take it on its own merits, as if you had never heard of these guys before, and enjoy the music. Bandoliers, Gunman, Elephants, and Scumbag Blues are all individually worth this collaboration (even if no more music comes out of TCV). Expand
  17. RodrigoG
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    Excellent mix of Queen's/Zep/Grohl's thunderstorm dirty drumming. It works, although not incredible inventive. Definitely a top 10 release of 2009. Deserves a loud listening!
  18. JaredM.
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    One cannot expect much better from a supergroup composed of some of the most skilled musicians in the rock n' roll business.
  19. SilvioR.
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    The music is constantly new. They have the same outstandingly awesome effect on me every time I hear them as if it were still the first time. Every song has it's own attitude and personality - truly good music.
  20. JoeD.l
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Better than was to be expected, excellent album.
  21. NathanS
    Nov 23, 2009
    8
    What can I say? The lineup is one of the oddest in "supergroup" history, but the results speak for themselves. It's hard to capture the essence of what's on this album in only a few words. It's akin to what Led Zeppelin would have sounded like if they'd started 30 years later. Certainly not everyone will love it, which keeps it from being perfect. The songs are fairly What can I say? The lineup is one of the oddest in "supergroup" history, but the results speak for themselves. It's hard to capture the essence of what's on this album in only a few words. It's akin to what Led Zeppelin would have sounded like if they'd started 30 years later. Certainly not everyone will love it, which keeps it from being perfect. The songs are fairly simple and straight-forward stylistically, but the rocking, rolling, riffing and crunching somehow manages to not sound as unoriginal as it most likely is. Expand
  22. LukeJ.
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    This is one of my favorite albums this year. The only weakness being Grohl on drums and not vocals. Homme gets the job done but it lacks a little intensity that Grohl delivers. Grohl does rock the drums pretty fierce.
  23. JohnT.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    saw these guys in seattle. some of the greatest hard rock moments ive ever seen live. and that includes sabbath, metallica, soundgarden.. they have only scratched the surface of the endless possibilities
  24. MarceloO.
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    Excellent album. Classic rock 'n roll, greats songs and inspired arrangements
  25. DH
    Dec 8, 2009
    8
    A lot of people want to make some comparison to Zep or QOTSA, to me it sounds a lot like Cream, and that's not a thing. It's better than the last album any of the three's respective bands put out.
  26. OL.
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    Really great rock album. Retains some of the best aspects of each band. A decent amount of variation, but they don't deviate too much from their core sound, they keep it quite continuous and strong. Some brilliant songs, and though it's a fairly long album it keeps the listener very interested.
  27. Sasha
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    pretty good if you like Queens of the Stone Age, youll like this. its just more hard hitting. some songs tho, arent too good, like Interludes with Ludes and Warsaw Or The Breathe You Take U Take U Give Up and Mind Eraser No Chaser. The rest are good or great. Don't miss this.
  28. BlackSkunk
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    Excellent, has a bit of everything thrown in, whilst sounding a bit different to the norm. Dirty, raunchy sound. Rock music at its best. Well done chaps, a super album from a super group. Hope you do another.
  29. RogerT
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    The name change from Josh's QOTSA moniker hardly seems necessary, but damn its good to hear an album of this calibre from him again. From them all again!
  30. MikeF
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    A superb album with grat variation. Talanted musicians doing some of their best work and considering is was a project initially by Grohl it has come together brilliantly. Top marks and I hope there is another record.
  31. JoshK
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    Awesome album, that even at its worst is still better than the crap playing on top 40 radio stations. If there is any real downside to this album its that it doesn't quite live up to the expectations of what the band members involved could do. Instead it sounds more like a continuation of Queens of the stone age coming off Era Vulgaris. But as I said even at its worst its still beats Awesome album, that even at its worst is still better than the crap playing on top 40 radio stations. If there is any real downside to this album its that it doesn't quite live up to the expectations of what the band members involved could do. Instead it sounds more like a continuation of Queens of the stone age coming off Era Vulgaris. But as I said even at its worst its still beats the crap on mainstream radio. oh and Scumbag Blues may be the best song ever. Expand
  32. TimH
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    These three artists are solid in their other groups, and come together powerfully for TCV. I don't always love "supergoups" but this time it absolutely works.
  33. JohnM.
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Awesome guitar and bass. Tight drums and diverse singing.
  34. ClarkA.
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    Hot damn, this is a good album. The musicianship blows you away, and Homme once again proves that he is master of the rock riff. Buy this.
  35. SamH
    Feb 13, 2010
    10
    An excellent album, which shows the talent of everyone involved, JPJ on bass and Dave Grohl on drums gel together really nicely, which is topped off by the amazing sound of Josh Homme. A great change from the general slurry of "music" which is released nowadays. Hope there's more great albums where this one came from!
  36. JJ
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fresh and fantastic! Musicians will love this album. Listening to it again right now!
  37. marekh.
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    This is incredible... amen.
  38. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    A very good debut album. Them Crooked Vultures sounds very different from other rock bands. The amount of talent in all these musicians are so incredible and it really shows on this album. Each song sounds great. The drumming is especially noticeable in this album and it's amazing. All In All, Them Crooked Vultures may not be an important album, but still nevertheless a great album. B+
  39. May 27, 2011
    7
    It's no match for a good blaster at your side, but it's good. The first track is epic, the second and third are good and after that, it blends together although it remains solid. Caligulove and Reptiles are the exception to that and deserve respect for their originality.
  40. j30
    Dec 6, 2011
    9
    A near classic album from the ultimate super group with John Paul Jones (Led Zeppelin), Dave Grohl (Nirvana & Foo Fighters), and Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone age). Everybody's musical style complements each other in a surprisingly fresh way.
  41. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Now this is what I call, You have joshua Hommes from Queens of the Stone Age on vocals and Guitar,John Paul Jones from Led Zepplin on bass and you have Dave )"I've been in a Legendary band TWICE!") Grohl poinding away on drums. This album shreds and shreds hard. Every track has a killer riff, a sick beat and and epic lyrics sang by one of the most smoothest voices in Rock! If can find anNow this is what I call, You have joshua Hommes from Queens of the Stone Age on vocals and Guitar,John Paul Jones from Led Zepplin on bass and you have Dave )"I've been in a Legendary band TWICE!") Grohl poinding away on drums. This album shreds and shreds hard. Every track has a killer riff, a sick beat and and epic lyrics sang by one of the most smoothest voices in Rock! If can find an album that rocks harder than this then you're some sort of God. Till then we have this masterpiece. Expand
  42. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Josh Homme is probably the least widely known member of this supergroup, but it's his driving force as a frontman that makes the band a success rather than a convoluted disaster. TCV definitely take more of an influence from Queens of the Stone Age than anything else, with a healthy dose of Zeppelin in there alongside. Grohl's contribution comes mainly from his superb drumming, TCV have very little Foos or Nirvana influence. The album works because they have found a formula that is both modern and new and yet strongly imposed upon by Homme and Jones' previous work. The album fails to get a higher score due to a couple of mediocre tracks halfway through. I hope the vultures fly again because they soared beautifully this time. Expand
  43. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    Huge personalities, **** snare hits. The lyrics going off humorously and sleazily; perfectly. The songs move along with a life of their own. At once heavily stomping, always buzzing rhythmically. The only thing anyone would have to worry about is the sound production, which, by the way, is flawless. It cracks in your ears and echoes in your brain. 9.3.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. It’s an oddball groove-rock album, played very well, imprinted with Homme's undeniably interesting personality. Yet when all’s said and done, it's not particularly memorable and entirely lacks the type of yee-haw exuberance that might have made it a sloppy treat.
  2. This stomping, panting, sweaty monster is a great listen.
  3. Homme and Grohl are old hands at this kind of thing--see their excellent Zeppelin homages on the Queens' "Songs for the Deaf." But they definitely seem inspired by Jonesy's presence, and he helps them keep it light.