Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 100
    While bleakness is certainly prominent throughout, this album has many different shades and it is these contrasts that make it so vital. It's an album that bursts with ambition, and that Bring Me The Horizon pull it off so powerfully further confirms their greatness. [25 Sep 2010, p.50]
  2. The sonic evolution of the group is remarkable, and the dark, introspective lyrics of Sykes will not only be cathartic for him, but for many.
  3. For all its bluster, There Is A Hell is far more than the story of a man battling his self-perpetuated inner turmoil; it is the sound of a remarkable band establishing themselves as one of the finest of their generation.
  4. It's the group's most ambitious offering yet, a collection that bites harder than anything they've previously issued but which is equally eager to kiss everything better.
  5. The odd electronic twist sugars the pill, but it's mostly relentless if brutally effective stuff. [Nov 2010, p.105]
  6. There Is A Hell is an impressive and ambitious third effort that proves these Brits have staying power. [Nov 2010, p.109]
  7. There is a Hell finds Bring Me the Horizon at the top of their game, and its lack of over indulgent production makes it an album that'll not only please fans of the band, but may surprise fans of bands like Converge who are interested in seeing what the kids are up to these days.
  8. Dec 21, 2010
    On their third album, these dizzying British metalcore chemists swing erratically in an effort to shake genre conventions, flirting with dystopic Max Headroom stutter, electro gloom, and tender indie-folk cuddles.
  9. By-the-numbers breakdowns, tired metalcore riffing, and cliched lyrics are still very much part of the group's formula. It's too bad since the band has plenty of energy and ambition. [Nov/Dec 2010, p.94]
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    Amazing album! it is probably there best album yet. It just runs shivers up your spine every time you hear Oliver Sykes (Lead Singer) sing and scream. 'It Never Ends" is my favorite song from the album along with "Dont Go", "Crucify Me" and **** . It's going to take me along time to not listen to these songs for a day.
    I just love it. :)
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 31, 2012
    In recent years, the post-hardcore has seemingly died down since the outburst of the dreadful "scene" clique it's created. But in this destruction, there are gems, and one of them are Bring Me the Horizon. There Is a Hell is one of the most energetic, experimental, creative, dynamic, and personal albums in recent years, thanks to its balance of balls-out, speaker thumping metal and mixture of symphonic and electronic influences. Album opener "Crucify Me" features Oli screaming out religious slurs ("There is nothing above, there is nothing below, Heaven and Hell lives in all of us) over rumbling guitars before the distorted choir vocals take over the chorus, as well as a lovely entry from Canadian singer-songstress Lights. "Anthem" is blunt and specifically made for the mosh pits at their shows. And "Don't Go" is simply a masterpiece, it's climatic, beautifully and tragically written, and Oli's screams are as heartfelt as ever before being joined by Lights' soft clean vocals. It's only downfall is its tendency to rely on the typical "chugga chugga" guitar solos and the band still has a lot of growing up to do. But that's okay, we'll love every step this band takes to becoming one of post-hardcore's most memorable acts. Full Review »
  3. Apr 21, 2012
    A sweet album that proves that Oli Sykes is evolving into a legitimate music artist, instead of that whiny deathcore d-bag that he was 2 years ago. An ever-changing sound with great melodies, check out **** and "It Never Ends", those are the best songs on the album. Full Review »