User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing album! it is probably there best album yet. It just runs shivers up your spine every time you hear Oliver Sykes (Lead Singer) sing and scream. 'It Never Ends" is my favorite song from the album along with "Dont Go", "Crucify Me" and **** . It's going to take me along time to not listen to these songs for a day.
    I just love it. :)
  2. Jul 14, 2015
    9
    A lot of bands like with this kind of style make their way through their careers by riding on the backs of their fan girls and the scene kids. Bring Me the Horizon Goes against that trend. This is an evolution for the band. They experiment in all of the right areas here and have created one of the best metal albums you can find.

    The heaviness of the genre is mixed with more emotional
    A lot of bands like with this kind of style make their way through their careers by riding on the backs of their fan girls and the scene kids. Bring Me the Horizon Goes against that trend. This is an evolution for the band. They experiment in all of the right areas here and have created one of the best metal albums you can find.

    The heaviness of the genre is mixed with more emotional tones. Lead singer Oliver Sykes pours out his inner emotions into every song. It leads to a mix of powerful vocals and wonderfully written lyrics. The lyrics are a real strong point for the album. Hooks are catchy and the symbolism is spot on. There's a sense of maturity and depth in the writing that you don't get from many hardcore/metalcore bands. It make sit all more of a joy to listen to.

    This album is heavy and addicting. It's some of the most enjoyable metal I have heard in a long time, if not ever. The band shows that they are no longer only willing to focus on a specific audience. Instead they reach out to the entire metal community. The results are satisfying even if the instrumental rely on the same heavy riffs that the genre is full of every now and then. It's a fantastic album and I give it a 9.9/10.
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    7
    The third full length album from Sheffield based metallers Bring Me The Horizon had to be good. Or at least, it had to be something different. The big question was how. Would Bring Me The Horizon continue down the hardcore, innacessible metalcore route, or would they try something different? The answer, surprisingly, is neither. Somehow, BMTH have managed to progress massively with theirThe third full length album from Sheffield based metallers Bring Me The Horizon had to be good. Or at least, it had to be something different. The big question was how. Would Bring Me The Horizon continue down the hardcore, innacessible metalcore route, or would they try something different? The answer, surprisingly, is neither. Somehow, BMTH have managed to progress massively with their songwriting, without losing the elements that made them popular in the first place.
    "There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It, There is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret" represents a huge step forward for the band, as the first twenty five seconds of opener "Crucify Me" show. It's a riotous 6 minute track, and one that is guaranteed to bring BMTH legions of new fans in the future. BMTH continue to show maturity on tracks like "It Never Ends" and "Blacklist." Some long time fans may find the more experimental numbers like "Don't Go" and "Memorial" unregognizable, but it's songs like these that elevate "There Is A Hell..." from the murky swamps of metalcore obscurity into an up and coming arena filling record. Besides, hardcore fans will find much to enjoy in tracks like "Anthem" and "Aligator Blood" that contains songs written with mosh pits in mind. It's a fine metal album, andalthough purists will call BMTH "sell outs" and other wearied cliche's, it's their best effort to date.
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    In recent years, the post-hardcore has seemingly died down since the outburst of the dreadful "scene" clique it's created. But in this destruction, there are gems, and one of them are Bring Me the Horizon. There Is a Hell is one of the most energetic, experimental, creative, dynamic, and personal albums in recent years, thanks to its balance of balls-out, speaker thumping metal and mixtureIn recent years, the post-hardcore has seemingly died down since the outburst of the dreadful "scene" clique it's created. But in this destruction, there are gems, and one of them are Bring Me the Horizon. There Is a Hell is one of the most energetic, experimental, creative, dynamic, and personal albums in recent years, thanks to its balance of balls-out, speaker thumping metal and mixture of symphonic and electronic influences. Album opener "Crucify Me" features Oli screaming out religious slurs ("There is nothing above, there is nothing below, Heaven and Hell lives in all of us) over rumbling guitars before the distorted choir vocals take over the chorus, as well as a lovely entry from Canadian singer-songstress Lights. "Anthem" is blunt and specifically made for the mosh pits at their shows. And "Don't Go" is simply a masterpiece, it's climatic, beautifully and tragically written, and Oli's screams are as heartfelt as ever before being joined by Lights' soft clean vocals. It's only downfall is its tendency to rely on the typical "chugga chugga" guitar solos and the band still has a lot of growing up to do. But that's okay, we'll love every step this band takes to becoming one of post-hardcore's most memorable acts. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    A sweet album that proves that Oli Sykes is evolving into a legitimate music artist, instead of that whiny deathcore d-bag that he was 2 years ago. An ever-changing sound with great melodies, check out **** and "It Never Ends", those are the best songs on the album.
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  7. May 1, 2013
    7
    Really good abulm its hard to think of reasons to dislike it.
  8. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    A comparison of previous work, BMTH managed to gain respect with this album, improving in almost every way, without losing touch of hardness in the metalcore. Since then sees progress in composition, leading to richer and more complex passages. The album begins in a frantic and energetic with songs like Crucify me, successful cutting choruses and punk with electronic touches, the otherA comparison of previous work, BMTH managed to gain respect with this album, improving in almost every way, without losing touch of hardness in the metalcore. Since then sees progress in composition, leading to richer and more complex passages. The album begins in a frantic and energetic with songs like Crucify me, successful cutting choruses and punk with electronic touches, the other songs to f% k are in the same vein. Do not go with the help of singer Lights, bringing us rest a ballad, a bit traumatic and passable quality. Memorial, Blessed with a curse and the Fox and the Wolf at first are the dark side of the album. Overall a really innovative album, recommended for fans of metalcore and BMTH and this band has proven that they can reach a very big into music, so I give the maximum rate.
    A toast to them.
    Expand
  9. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    A classic album.. one of the best of all time. The band really stepped up from the already amazing 'Suicide Season' but this album takes their success to a higher level. So emotional, so perfect.
  10. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    Though they haven't received the critical acclaim their post-hardcore contemporaries like Touché Amoré and F***** Up have gained almost unanimously, Bring Me the Horizon have certainly earned enough respect from listeners beyond their initial demographic of Hot Topic tee-wearing teens to consider them an artistic eye in the progression of their genre. Oliver Sykes hinted at a deeper, moreThough they haven't received the critical acclaim their post-hardcore contemporaries like Touché Amoré and F***** Up have gained almost unanimously, Bring Me the Horizon have certainly earned enough respect from listeners beyond their initial demographic of Hot Topic tee-wearing teens to consider them an artistic eye in the progression of their genre. Oliver Sykes hinted at a deeper, more dramatic autobiographical songwriting on previous albums like Suicide Season, however, with There Is a Hell, you can actually take him serious. Even though the slower tempo and melodrama of "Don't Go" seems sappy on paper, it's actually quite heartbreaking to listen to. The electronic undercurrents only further introduce us into an artistic, more mature band. But there's still enough Atheistic and chant-worthy lyricism for teenagers to fist pump to in their bedrooms before bedtime ("There is nothing above, there is nothing below/Heaven and Hell is in all of us"). It doesn't defeat Deafheaven in terms of who's the most progressive metal band of the decade so far, but it definitely makes Bring Me the Horizon a contender. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2015
    10
    For me, this is Bring Me The Horizon's second best album, next to Count Your Blessings. It has a good metal feel to me. I don't notice any problems with it at all. The highlights are "Crucify Me", "F**k" and "Home Sweet Hole"
  12. Dec 18, 2016
    9
    Yep yep. It's great. This album is -kind of- the transition between BMTH's "old" and "new" style. And it's almost perfect. Beautiful melodies (Blessed With A Curse, It Never Ends, Memorial...) mixed with pure violent guitar riffs (F*ck, Alligator Blood). This album is a true masterpiece. Listen to it.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    On their third album, these dizzying British metalcore chemists swing erratically in an effort to shake genre conventions, flirting with dystopic Max Headroom stutter, electro gloom, and tender indie-folk cuddles.
  2. The sonic evolution of the group is remarkable, and the dark, introspective lyrics of Sykes will not only be cathartic for him, but for many.
  3. Revolver
    50
    By-the-numbers breakdowns, tired metalcore riffing, and cliched lyrics are still very much part of the group's formula. It's too bad since the band has plenty of energy and ambition. [Nov/Dec 2010, p.94]