Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Aug 8, 2012
    60
    It may prove hard for Matsson to get heard above the quiet din made by so many others who clutter his field, but he's one of the all-too-few worth listening to. [Sep 2012, p.94]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 2, 2012
    60
    A record that perhaps only Dylan fans need apply for. [Aug 2012, p.110]
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    His third album is likely to disappoint fans and critics listening for those big, emotional climaxes, but Matsson's career has been defined by his ability to find new ways to paint with a limited palette.
  4. 60
    His raspy voice still aches and arches over the songs and caries his wandering soul and eager heart, but near every other facet of There's No Leaving Now is compressed, leaving a much smaller impression than his previous albums.
  5. Jun 11, 2012
    60
    While There's No Leaving Now doesn't accomplish anything new, it never drags down the upbeat timbre of the singer's attractive moodiness.
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    60
    This is an agreeable record, but it comes from a man who we know is capable of something sublime.
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    40
    'There's No Leaving Now' in fact resonates like the stark antithesis to Jeffrey Lewis' wry, comical anti-folk. It's dreary as hell.
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    40
    By the time he hits the solo, which sounds like a cracked organ from a crazy kiddie fair, you might find yourself thinking that some riddles are just not interesting enough to solve.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    It's a different beast compared to his earlier work and admittedly, even I wasn't too keen on it to begin with. But having stuck with it, itIt's a different beast compared to his earlier work and admittedly, even I wasn't too keen on it to begin with. But having stuck with it, it soon had its talons in me and I can confidently proclaim it to be Kristian's best release yet.

    It's unlike anything you've ever heard before. This man just cannot be from this world.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this record. His use of open tuning produces some stunning guitar work. Any of these songs put in the hands of a bigI absolutely love this record. His use of open tuning produces some stunning guitar work. Any of these songs put in the hands of a big producer and a backup band could be pop masterpieces. Listen to this. Trust me. Full Review »
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    7
    Always, when the artist puts of the disc at the start of his best works there is a good reason to fear that the rest of the material simplyAlways, when the artist puts of the disc at the start of his best works there is a good reason to fear that the rest of the material simply not cope with quality. Fortunately, "Theres No Leaving Now"although largely acoustic only holds a very high level - mainly through catchy and diverse guitar melodies and distinctive, a bit cheeky vocals, which is evident even in compositions such as "Leading Me Now" or "Criminals". Full Review »