There's No Leaving Now - The Tallest Man on Earth
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 1 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    It's a different beast compared to his earlier work and admittedly, even I wasn't too keen on it to begin with. But having stuck with it, it soon had its talons in me and I can confidently proclaim it to be Kristian's best release yet.

    It's unlike anything you've ever heard before. This man just cannot be from this world.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this record. His use of open tuning produces some stunning guitar work. Any of these songs put in the hands of a big producer and a backup band could be pop masterpieces. Listen to this. Trust me.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    I'm still quite shocked at how much I actually love this album. The Tallest Man On Earth released two incredible albums and now with There's No Leaving Now, they don't stop. Kristian Matsson continues to write incredible songs and now he has a full band supporting him. Dead Oceans produced the hell out of this album. All In All, I'm pleasantly surprised with this album and so far it's oneI'm still quite shocked at how much I actually love this album. The Tallest Man On Earth released two incredible albums and now with There's No Leaving Now, they don't stop. Kristian Matsson continues to write incredible songs and now he has a full band supporting him. Dead Oceans produced the hell out of this album. All In All, I'm pleasantly surprised with this album and so far it's one of the best this year. A Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    I was stuck in evening traffic and plagued by a downpour on my commute home from work when I started Tallest Man on Earth
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    Wow! I was worried that we might see an "Iron and Wine" style turnabout but what has been delivered is a subtle, gentle evolution from 2010's The Wild Hunt. If you aren't familiar with Kristian Matsson, now is the time to get on board. For those who have been along for the ride, you won't be disappointed with this excellent release.
  6. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Lately I have been so disappointed by newly released albums by my favorite artists, but I am happy to say that is not the case with this album. Kristian Matsson has evolved into a more confident sounding, expressive musician between this and his last album. He kept his arrangements simple and his guitar jumps and sways, his voice is flawless. The title track "There's No Leaving Now" isLately I have been so disappointed by newly released albums by my favorite artists, but I am happy to say that is not the case with this album. Kristian Matsson has evolved into a more confident sounding, expressive musician between this and his last album. He kept his arrangements simple and his guitar jumps and sways, his voice is flawless. The title track "There's No Leaving Now" is haunting and it makes me dizzy with love for the piano. This release gives me hope for the young artists I love. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    It may prove hard for Matsson to get heard above the quiet din made by so many others who clutter his field, but he's one of the all-too-few worth listening to. [Sep 2012, p.94]
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    75
    Overall, There's No Leaving Now is a cohesive, wonderful album.
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    60
    A record that perhaps only Dylan fans need apply for. [Aug 2012, p.110]