These Days - Vince Gill
These Days Image

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This 43-song, 4-disc set is composed of all new recordings in roughly four different styles (one per disc): rock, country, acoustic bluegrass, and ballads.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Wretched excess? Not at all: These might be better thought of as four distinct, tight, hugely fun albums. [20 Oct 2006, p.82]
  2. His talents and the heart he puts into his writing, singing, and picking remain at their peak. This stellar collection proves it--four times over.
  3. For all the impressive ambition inherent in its size and scope, its working parts boil down to a testament to the fun of making music.
  4. The four CD’s not only testify to his depth and range as a musician, but do so, as Mr. Gill has often done, through collaborations that smack more of mutual inspiration than of back-scratching or expediency. [15 Oct 2006]
  5. This package is a whole lot of Vince Gill music, but because the performer makes it sound so easy and natural, nothing is forced or like filler.
  6. One of the most ambitious artistic statements of the year.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. SteveC
    Nov 23, 2006
    A true masterpiece! A 43 song outpouring of American music in a variety of styles.
  2. LeeL
    Nov 19, 2006
    I bought this 4-cd set with some trepidation, since many artists would have about 1 cd worth of decent songs and 3 cds worth of fillers. But I bought this since I have always enjoyed Vince in the past. Boy, was I surprised and delighted! Each disc is themed. The 1st is called "the rockin' record". It is. The 2nd disc is "the groovy record" which is actually the "beautiful heartfelt love songs" record that we all love Vince for. The 3rd and 4th are the "country and western" and the "acoustic" records. Each cd does have it's own musical flavor. All in all, 43 songs, 4 hours of great music. Gill's music and lyrics are better than ever. Various "guest vocalist"s include his wife and his daughter along with many other famous and talented singers, all put to excellent use. It would do no good to try to feature any song or songs, since this is the strongest album I have listened to in years. This is a must for c&w fans, and a great set to buy for rockers who wonder if there is any such thing as a good country album. Expand
  3. MikeH
    Apr 5, 2007
    I am ordinarily not a country music fan, but these CD's reach across musical boundaries. They contain Country and Western (as Vince still calls it), Pop, Jazz, Blues, Bluegrass and Rock. In the final analysis, this was a tremendously ambitious project and I had the joy of seeing him perform many of these songs in concert. I was totally blown away by his performance level, his humor and his story telling abilities are a testiment to the human experiences of life. He is truly one of the greatest artists of our time. Expand
  4. LaquitaJ
    Nov 23, 2006
    Thanks Vince. This set will keep me happy for a long time. Flat out best of his career. Go out and get this set - if you can find it. It is sold out and hard to find! Expand
  5. FredL
    Nov 27, 2006
    I rarely listen to country but this CD is so much more. Country Rock, Pop magic, acoustic, folk, amaericana, and pure Country Western. A Must have!
  6. BrianS
    Dec 2, 2006
    This is pure nonsense. Gill's masterwork has a deserving 88% rating and it should be placed in the top albums of 2006. Alan Jackson was allowed entrance so put Vince in there too! He deserves it. Expand
  7. trescu
    Oct 19, 2006
    Vince has a lot to say. Too bad his skills are so soft.

See all 28 User Reviews