These Days

  • Record Label: MCA
  • Release Date: Oct 17, 2006
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 3 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RC
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Vince puts it all together. Writing, singing and playing. And to top it all off, it's quite clear....he's a great person.
  2. JoeyH
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    If you buy one album this year - this has to be one of them. It is almost like Vince has released a 2nd greatest hits album. When you listen to the diversity of these songs in these albums, many of them could be classics. What other artist has given so much effort. He bleeds music and lyrics and tunes. I was greatly pleased with the difference of all the cd's and though I am not a If you buy one album this year - this has to be one of them. It is almost like Vince has released a 2nd greatest hits album. When you listen to the diversity of these songs in these albums, many of them could be classics. What other artist has given so much effort. He bleeds music and lyrics and tunes. I was greatly pleased with the difference of all the cd's and though I am not a big fan of the twangy country songs in general, I would say that these were very catchy. Let's put it this way after hearing the ablums in full several times, I remember the song or two that was forgettable. Otherwise, they are almost all fantastic. Whether slow or fast they catapult this album into the album of the year status and should win now!! Can you imagine writing all these songs than collaberating them and figuring out who he wanted to sing with. He still has to do the videos yet!!! The talent is unreal. Do yourself a favor, buy the album. It will be the best investment you make even if you don't like country. it may make a believer out ot you. I can only wonder how he will follow up with this album!? Expand
  3. MikeH
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    I am ordinarily not a country music fan, but these CD's reach across musical boundaries. They contain Country and Western (as Vince still calls it), Pop, Jazz, Blues, Bluegrass and Rock. In the final analysis, this was a tremendously ambitious project and I had the joy of seeing him perform many of these songs in concert. I was totally blown away by his performance level, his humor I am ordinarily not a country music fan, but these CD's reach across musical boundaries. They contain Country and Western (as Vince still calls it), Pop, Jazz, Blues, Bluegrass and Rock. In the final analysis, this was a tremendously ambitious project and I had the joy of seeing him perform many of these songs in concert. I was totally blown away by his performance level, his humor and his story telling abilities are a testiment to the human experiences of life. He is truly one of the greatest artists of our time. Expand
  4. kevinm
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    Best music to come out in a long while and I buy 2 or 3 cd's every week.
  5. LeeL
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    I bought this 4-cd set with some trepidation, since many artists would have about 1 cd worth of decent songs and 3 cds worth of fillers. But I bought this since I have always enjoyed Vince in the past. Boy, was I surprised and delighted! Each disc is themed. The 1st is called "the rockin' record". It is. The 2nd disc is "the groovy record" which is actually the "beautiful heartfelt I bought this 4-cd set with some trepidation, since many artists would have about 1 cd worth of decent songs and 3 cds worth of fillers. But I bought this since I have always enjoyed Vince in the past. Boy, was I surprised and delighted! Each disc is themed. The 1st is called "the rockin' record". It is. The 2nd disc is "the groovy record" which is actually the "beautiful heartfelt love songs" record that we all love Vince for. The 3rd and 4th are the "country and western" and the "acoustic" records. Each cd does have it's own musical flavor. All in all, 43 songs, 4 hours of great music. Gill's music and lyrics are better than ever. Various "guest vocalist"s include his wife and his daughter along with many other famous and talented singers, all put to excellent use. It would do no good to try to feature any song or songs, since this is the strongest album I have listened to in years. This is a must for c&w fans, and a great set to buy for rockers who wonder if there is any such thing as a good country album. Expand
  6. JerryD
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    A true classic. 43 new songs in a variety of musical styles. A must have. Vince has created the best CD of the year in any genre.
  7. LaquitaJ
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Thanks Vince. This set will keep me happy for a long time. Flat out best of his career. Go out and get this set - if you can find it. It is sold out and hard to find!
  8. BillL
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Best of any style music this year. Four Cds full of excellent music.
  9. BettyA
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    So much music. So many styles. Not a bad song on the entire set....kudos to Vince.
  10. BrianS
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    This is pure nonsense. Gill's masterwork has a deserving 88% rating and it should be placed in the top albums of 2006. Alan Jackson was allowed entrance so put Vince in there too! He deserves it.
  11. GeorgeJ
    Oct 23, 2006
    10
    Far any away the best true country put out in the laast ten years. And it took what country considers an elder states man to bring it forward. No body can write like him, play like him, or sing like him. He ranks right up there with another forgotten legend Cash. He wont go along quietly and thank God for it!
  12. HankP
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    The best record i've heard in twenty years.
  13. ChasJ
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    The best set of music in any genre this year! Way to go Vince.
  14. BettyC
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    43 new and wonderful songs from Vince. It shows his talent as a singer, songwriter and musician! Best of the decade!
  15. JA
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    I didn't know what to expect, but am so glad I purchaed this set. Incredible talent. Not a bad song in the bunch. The man has amazed me!
  16. MadisonS
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    My favorite is the country & western CD but all 4 cd's are exceptional (rockin, acoustic, and groovy)! I just saw Vince in Portland and he played 20 of his new songs live. It was a 3 and a half hour tour de force!
  17. KimW
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    I like the acoustic CD best but all 4 CD's are really good! Always in my CD player.
  18. KenH
    Nov 29, 2006
    8
    I'm not a big country fan; however, I've always thought Gill was an underrated guitarist. Not only does he solidify my respect for his guitar playing on this album but this is, by far, the best "country" album of the year. Personally, I think Metacritic is biased about putting it up on the Top Ten because it's not arty-farty enough.
  19. Archangel
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Even the choirs of heavenly angels appreciate Vince Gill's skills and talents. This album is an instant classic, destined to be the year's best. I can't get enough of it and neither will you.
  20. SusanG
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    This is a wonderful set - a joy to listen to. I love the songs. Vince Gill is very talented and such a good songwriter.
  21. SteveC
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    A true masterpiece! A 43 song outpouring of American music in a variety of styles.
  22. ScottA
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Would give it a higher score if I could. Flat out best music of the year and of Vince's career. Many kudos!
  23. CarolynB
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Vince Gill is an amazing artist - magnificent tenor voice, songwriter, and musician. Anyone that as seen him perform live will go away thrilled.I
  24. CarlL
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    One of the best Cds I've heard! Great Stuff from Vince!
  25. CandyC
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Pure Magic! Sure to win a ton of grammies.
  26. SandraD
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    The best voice around along with great guests....a joy!
  27. FredL
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    I rarely listen to country but this CD is so much more. Country Rock, Pop magic, acoustic, folk, amaericana, and pure Country Western. A Must have!

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. This is Gill's masterwork.
  2. His talents and the heart he puts into his writing, singing, and picking remain at their peak. This stellar collection proves it--four times over.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Wretched excess? Not at all: These might be better thought of as four distinct, tight, hugely fun albums. [20 Oct 2006, p.82]