thickfreakness

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    6
    The music here is thin but you gotta respect what two people can pull off on their own. It does get a little same-y and you gotta like blues rock to get into this because this band is steadfast in their sound.

    I have always believed The Black Keys to be just a tad overrated and I still feel that way. They are good. And this is good. But it can all blur together. There are some real
    The music here is thin but you gotta respect what two people can pull off on their own. It does get a little same-y and you gotta like blues rock to get into this because this band is steadfast in their sound.

    I have always believed The Black Keys to be just a tad overrated and I still feel that way. They are good. And this is good. But it can all blur together. There are some real highlights. Top 3 being

    7) Everywhere I go
    5) Have Love Will Travel
    1) Title Track thickfreakness
    Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Kick ass blues rock and my favorite Keys record to date. Basically love every track on the record. Favorite tracks: Hold Me in Your Arms Hard Row
    If You See Me
    Thickfreakness
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    Gotta go for a 10/10. Such a brave, intelligent album, thoroughly blues from the first track to the last, back to the roots of rock n roll.
    I approached the album not knowing it would be so "pure" sound-wise but expecting a more elaborate rock n roll texture. Needless to say the simplicity of it all conquered me.
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    6
    Thickfreakness is an improvement on the first album but can be a little dull and repetitive in the later songs of the album but still a relatively decent record.
  5. CPD
    Feb 12, 2011
    10
    An exceptional effort for a band this early into its career, Thickfreakness provides listeners with a prodigious heap of independent blues-rock goodness. One of, if not the, best Black Keys records to date.
  6. BrandonP
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    This album brings the rock nonstop! Also, best live band ever.
  7. TimG
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    you had me at Thickfreakness
  8. JulissaG
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Cool ass album! Rock and Blues= Heaven!
  9. [Anonymous]
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    WIthout a doubt, THE best BK album yet. Can't wait for Magic Potion.
  10. karlh
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    the black keys rock the hardest of any of the bands goin. they sound like a indie led zep. every song on this album is a air guitar anthem, why the fuck aren't thease big yet ??
  11. bettyb
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    Can't get enough of this band. Great sound, real music.
  12. markr
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    go danny--i been waitin all my life for you guys
  13. davyh
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    stylus what are you on about, out of all the reviews it is the only one that gives it a bad mark, thus i come to the conclusion that they can't review properly!
  14. MattyJ
    Dec 21, 2004
    10
    Stylus wouldn't know it's ear from it's arsehole. Hear The Black Keys and feel your trousers move !!!!
  15. harmo
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    i gotta listen to the whole album at least once a day to get my ass to work.
  16. GreggR
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    "THICKFREAKNESS" is my favorite CD.I play it everyday.And looking back,just a month ago,I thought these two cats from Akron would have one helluva time topping"THE BIG COME UP"!Already "yearnin" for album #3!The Black Keys have rejuvenated my interest in music...
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Alternative Press
    70
    What you hear on Thickfreakness is no less faithful than what old black guys on porches on the Delta have churned out for the last hundred years. [June 2003, p.105]
  2. Mojo
    80
    A rich, compelling album. [Jun 2003, p.93]
  3. Sounds like something carved out of the earth, a soulful howl of Hendrixian guitars and Zeppelin stomp.