Think Tank

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: May 6, 2003
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Don't let Metacritic fool you, this is nowhere near Britpop. Anyway, it's amazing for Blur's last album (for now that is, we'll see in the future). Interesting, odd, tender, touching, are some of the few words that can describe this magnificent album.
  2. DaveS
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Think Tank, while a little weird in that every track is completely different from the last, doesent have a bad song on it. I'll definetly be hoping for Graham to come back though.
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    With Coxon departing the band to pursue his own solo career, blur were left to focus on Albarns weird influences, but what end product can those influences deliver. Think tank sounds quite nothing like blurs early material with African, hip hop, electronic, experimental melodies enriching their music as a whole, while the britpop is abandoned completely. The sounds can even picture thoseWith Coxon departing the band to pursue his own solo career, blur were left to focus on Albarns weird influences, but what end product can those influences deliver. Think tank sounds quite nothing like blurs early material with African, hip hop, electronic, experimental melodies enriching their music as a whole, while the britpop is abandoned completely. The sounds can even picture those early to mid 20th century films who take place deep down the ocean with people wearing those underwater helmets presented well by Banksy on the albums artwork. Even though the music is filled with melancholy, it can still put a smile on your face especially while lying in the sun and discovering all the beauties of the world and your own mind through it or being in nature emptying the previously mentioned mind from useless thoughts. The adventure begins with ambulance and ends with a battery in your leg, which is the only track with Coxon contributing. Without any further ado, we should agree that putting Albarn in full control was the best thing that could have happened to blur as it has taken them to the musically higher level. With songs like brothers and sisters, on the way to the club, caravan and more, blur have shown and highlighted the direction in which Albarn has departed while keeping the bands sound recognisable. That sound filled with water associations can make your tears come down, drowning anything you've heard so far and making it one of the best albums of the last decade. Expand
  4. WiseOwl
    May 23, 2003
    3
    This concept album is a retreat from the raw emotion displayed by Blur on prior albums, and crafts it into a sharp production. Most tracks have a world beat, including the excellent Moroccan Peoples Revolutionary Bowls Club and Jets. Yet sharp production is more referring to aesthetically than as a record. The entire production is misplaced. The tracks aren?t in the right order. Why is This concept album is a retreat from the raw emotion displayed by Blur on prior albums, and crafts it into a sharp production. Most tracks have a world beat, including the excellent Moroccan Peoples Revolutionary Bowls Club and Jets. Yet sharp production is more referring to aesthetically than as a record. The entire production is misplaced. The tracks aren?t in the right order. Why is the second single Out of Time, a ballad, placed before the awful first single Crazy Beat. Sure, some people like the track for its novelty, but as a rocker it is extremely weak and thus received little airplay. Blur was selling out to try to get another Song 2. This explains why the song doesn?t fit in with anything else on the disk. There are some decent tracks on Sweet Song, Battery In Your Leg, and the short We?ve Got A File On You. Yet the rest of the disk is indie filler, which is strange for an established band. It appears that the artists had a blast making the album (though the guitarist quit the group during the process), but the listener certainly doesn?t share the same level of glee. What?s worse is that the band tries to be like Radiohead in spots and falls on their face. Blur is now a band with no identity ? this CD should have been the one called ?Hail To The Thief,? because it is far better at stealing the ideas of others than coming up with its own. Expand
  5. CD
    May 4, 2003
    5
    no where near parklife, when graham left he took the best ear for good music with him.
  6. SusieSing
    May 23, 2003
    3
    What, are we so desperate for good music taht we're praising mediocrity now? I love Blur but this is a tacky and uninspired record; no amount of wishful thinking can change what a flop this is. Maybe it's time to throw in the towel, guys.
  7. AaronS
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    I love Blur!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  8. PatricioR
    May 2, 2003
    10
    Great, masterpiece. I love this album. Just Blur can do such an album like this. I've been a fan of Blur since Parklife, they have changed their style in every work they have made and really Think Tank is amazing. I appreciate Graham Coxon's work in the others albums but this one without him is as great as the others with him. Think Tank: A fantastic album, the peaks are Out oF Great, masterpiece. I love this album. Just Blur can do such an album like this. I've been a fan of Blur since Parklife, they have changed their style in every work they have made and really Think Tank is amazing. I appreciate Graham Coxon's work in the others albums but this one without him is as great as the others with him. Think Tank: A fantastic album, the peaks are Out oF time, Crazy Beat, good Song, sweet song, jets, battery in you leg, on the way to the club. I can't understand the bad reviews. They've changed but they make it in the best way they can do it without Coxon. Expand
  9. Carillon
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    I love each and every single song on this album. To all dissapointed people: just give it some time and the songs start to play in your head. It was the same with me-...and now I'm really excited each time I put it into my stereo!!
  10. mikek
    May 14, 2003
    9
    When did accessible, crafty lyrics, catchy hooks and well produced riffs become so threatening? Liz already proved she's a powerful, credible artist-- Searching out a little mass appeal is her prerogative. And as a long time fan, I applaud her effort. I hope LIZ PHAIR sells 10 million copies, she deserves the success. To the 200-400 thousand misanthropes and critics who heralded When did accessible, crafty lyrics, catchy hooks and well produced riffs become so threatening? Liz already proved she's a powerful, credible artist-- Searching out a little mass appeal is her prerogative. And as a long time fan, I applaud her effort. I hope LIZ PHAIR sells 10 million copies, she deserves the success. To the 200-400 thousand misanthropes and critics who heralded 1993?s ?Exile?? as a seminal album and singular artistic achievement, I don?t disagree. But I also think it was the right album at the right time. Quit acting so betrayed by her current effort, it's only one stop on Liz's lifelong artistic roadtrip. (You might also want to quit pining after your high school crush, regretting the major you chose in college, and the job/relationship you've been stuck in since graduation. Grow up, move on, or go pin your frustrations on an artist who's similarly stuck in his/her past, or better yet, one who died trying to escape it. Plenty of those out there.) Congrats, Liz-- great stuff. Expand
  11. PatricioR
    May 2, 2003
    10
    Great, masterpiece. I love this album. Just Blur can do such an album like this. I've been a fan of Blur since Parklife, they have changed their style in every work they have made and really Think Tank is amazing. I appreciate Graham Coxon's work in the others albums but this one without him is as great as the others with him. Think Tank: A fantastic album, the peaks are Out oF Great, masterpiece. I love this album. Just Blur can do such an album like this. I've been a fan of Blur since Parklife, they have changed their style in every work they have made and really Think Tank is amazing. I appreciate Graham Coxon's work in the others albums but this one without him is as great as the others with him. Think Tank: A fantastic album, the peaks are Out oF time, Crazy Beat, good Song, sweet song, jets, battery in you leg, on the way to the club. I can't understand the bad reviews. They've changed but they make it in the best way they can do it without Coxon. Expand
  12. ArthurD
    May 7, 2003
    8
    It´s a great piece of work. Great songs, a great band behind... But I miss Coxon´s arrangements. Despite this little detail they still are the most dynamic pop band. Nobody does such "good songs"with so great a production. "Ambulance", "On the way to the club" "Sweet song"etc
  13. MartinP
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Simply a modern masterpiece
  14. GaryB
    May 1, 2003
    10
    The best album I have heard in years.
  15. andrear
    May 12, 2003
    9
    I think that Blur's departure from their early britpop style...has given the band a new and fresh vitality, and their use of electronics is perfectly consequent rather than being a simple way of following the times.
  16. Dan
    May 13, 2003
    9
    Hated it the first few spins but now it's plugged into my head 24 hours a day. You feel the guitarist missing, dammit! But it's still great.
  17. TylerSwank
    May 20, 2003
    10
    easily blur's most listenable album from beginning to end. true, albarn demands more of the band's direction, but great music is great music, and i think the rest of the band knows that, so why not? they are getting older, but also refining their methods and learning, bringing something new and interesting to the world which is desperately needed. Absolutely the best album of easily blur's most listenable album from beginning to end. true, albarn demands more of the band's direction, but great music is great music, and i think the rest of the band knows that, so why not? they are getting older, but also refining their methods and learning, bringing something new and interesting to the world which is desperately needed. Absolutely the best album of 2003 as of yet. Expand
  18. VitorZ
    May 23, 2003
    9
    10 is a bit too much for a rating, but this album is so very close to it. This album is enjoyable for the casual listener while still very, very subtle. It is pop, yes, but it's so deep, so substancial, that you will feel the heartache of some songs without even knowing what hit you first.
  19. AdamL
    May 6, 2003
    9
    Great album with one or two semi annoying misteps that don't take away from the overall experience too much, You'll hate it at first then put it away for a week and find you're humming the entire album at odd hours of the day. Then you'll give it another spin and fall in love
  20. JakubR
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    Blur released absolutely extraordinary album, the best in their career.
  21. RaúlS
    Jun 3, 2003
    8
    Not as strong as Parklife, Blur or even 13, but still a great album! With two or three tracks taken apart, it would have been a 10... and am I the only one who thinks this is Blur meets Kid A??
  22. HenryH
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    While Damon and his fellows drifting down to the Art-Pop genre, they definitely came out with one of the most ambitious albums in recent year.
  23. Parsefone
    Jun 8, 2003
    9
    It's amazing, listening to this, that Blur used to be compared with Oasis. I think it's fairly clear, merely on the strength of tracks like "Out of Time", "Sweet Song", and "Caravan", who the real victors of the Britpop war were. Reason it doesn't get a 10 in my book is because of "Crazy Beat", which shows all too clearly what might have happened if Blur really were Oasis, It's amazing, listening to this, that Blur used to be compared with Oasis. I think it's fairly clear, merely on the strength of tracks like "Out of Time", "Sweet Song", and "Caravan", who the real victors of the Britpop war were. Reason it doesn't get a 10 in my book is because of "Crazy Beat", which shows all too clearly what might have happened if Blur really were Oasis, and continued to live in the past. Quirky, sensitive, and brilliant. Expand
  24. DyonCzechRep
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Definitelly the best album i have ever heard!!! Can you feel it when he sings FEEL THE SUNHISNE ON YOUR FACE? or the sound of guitar in BATTERY IN YOUR LEG? who doesn't cant have a heart. Bad rewiews are out of mind
  25. TomG
    Apr 25, 2003
    10
    Even if George or SARS would kill us, we will die with knowledge that in 21st century a real masterpieces were made. Think Tank is place where chaos transforms into the sunrise, where nuclear bomb looks like teddy bear and your greatest enemy is your best friend! Unbelievable that so naive and unique can sound a band wich was founded in late 80's! And the band is the only one - Even if George or SARS would kill us, we will die with knowledge that in 21st century a real masterpieces were made. Think Tank is place where chaos transforms into the sunrise, where nuclear bomb looks like teddy bear and your greatest enemy is your best friend! Unbelievable that so naive and unique can sound a band wich was founded in late 80's! And the band is the only one - simply called BLUR! Expand
  26. DanDan
    Apr 27, 2003
    9
    Don't buy this album if you cant take a bit of rough to get smooth. Don't buy this album if your looking for merry pop songs that take little to understand. Do buy this album if you like 13, and want to listen to one of the only bands that actually mutates musically. Do buy it if you like musical journeys and dont mind getting a bit dirty along the way.
  27. Bruno
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    It's an incredible achievement and their best album alongside "Blur" and "Modern Life...". I love Grahan's work with Blur but...Well, whatever, I hope one day he'll be back to this wild bunch. "Think Tank" is this year's real most crucial purchase anyway.
  28. JohnG
    May 1, 2003
    10
    Superb but Graham is definetly missed.
  29. RebeccaN
    May 12, 2003
    10
    I love this album, I've been a fan of Blur since Leisure. This is possibly one of their best albums, even with the departure of Graham Coxon. It's unique, it's soulful, it's inspiring, it's BLUR. Track favourites are Out of Time, Crazy Beat, Good Song, On the way to the club, Sweet song, Jets & Battery in your leg. I can't stop listening to it.
  30. pokemonica
    May 13, 2003
    9
    Definately at great album. Not quite a blur style, but still awesome anyhow.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. An album so disjointed that it seems to artfully fall apart as it plays.
  2. 100
    Give it a couple of spins, and you'll find it's completely mind-blowing.
  3. Uncut
    100
    The sharpest, most imaginative and downright listenable album of Blur's career to date.... A grown-up alt.rock album of breathtaking potency and invention. [Album of the Month, June 2003, p.90]