Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Aug 1, 2000
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 2 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NikT
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Great album. Every song is amazing. My favorite is Bohemian Like You
  2. DeeSee
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Fantastic album, one of my desert island CDs.
  3. FionaS.
    Apr 4, 2002
    10
    absolutely fantastic, most original cd I've heard in ages. Never off my cd player at the moment.
  4. JosephB
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    This album is beautiful. It's such a shame that so few people have ever listened to it before writting the Dandys off as a one-hit-wonder. Every song is brilliant, this album inspired me to start making music
  5. ShawnT.
    Mar 8, 2002
    10
    Excellent, simply excellent. I went from being uninformed to being a huge fan in the space of one album, one time. Impressive.
  6. Ludo
    Jun 6, 2002
    10
    Always in my mind!!Psychedelic, funny, magic. Absolute perfection and wonderful band!
  7. K
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    The Dandy Warhol's best work as of yet. It's even better if you're intoxicated whilst playing it.
  8. becw
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    gorgeous. this is a cd to get drunk on red wine to.. this cd is so goddamn SEXY
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jun 22, 2004
    10
    this CD is amazing.
  10. ChrisW
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Best album ever!
  11. SeanD.
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    One of the top albums of the turn of the century.
  12. RyanM.
    Jul 26, 2002
    10
    Supercool Dandys Rule Okay
  13. VidarT.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    One of the best releases in 2000, an album spanning from the mellow and alternative to pure rock and roll, always melodic and almost annoyingly catchy.
  14. DanielW.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Brilliant.
  15. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    This is an absolute pearl. One of the few albums I always listen as one track. With 'Sleep' as my favorite. I haven't heard from them for a while, but this album is always with me in my car!
  16. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    CLASSIC. Essential modern rock album. Very moody and excellent songs progression. Listen to it as a whole. From the start of Godless to the pop hit Bohemian Like you, Big Indian, Nietzsche, Get Off... a bunch of great songs and a great album.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 80
    A rousing, enjoyable pastiche from start to finish, Thirteen Tales is an awful lot of fun...
  2. They may not always transcend their influences, but even when they don't, they make wallowing in them a helluva lot of fun.
  3. 90
    A stoner's paradise from start to finish. Most pleasurable.