This Delicate Thing We've Made Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the former Savage Garden singer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Darren Hayes' double-disc This Delicate Thing We've Made is a momentous spiritual tour de force, an undressed lyrical exploration of a soul reborn, tucked into a labyrinth of sonic textures.
  2. Expecting two brilliant albums in a row is a lot, but when flashes of This Delicate Thing We’ve Made indicate he’s more than up to delivering, you get disappointed when there’s so much well-intentioned but patience-shredding filler between the gems.
  3. This Delicate Thing We’ve Made is undone by too much, too much, too much of everything. Too many ideas aren’t allowed to compete with each other, meaning that the bad ideas are given just as much importance as the good ones.
  4. Sonically, it is exquisite: shimmering, subtle electropop that pairs finely judged bleeps and beats with gorgeous banks of harmonies. The problem, though, is Hayes himself: the quavery bluster of his lead vocals strives for emotional gravitas, but too often leaves the impression of a minor tantrum.
  5. This might make for nice pregaming music before an evening out clubbing in Ibiza, but for the rest of us, the effects can be a bit savage on the ears. [24 Aug 2007, p.133]
  6. Hayes has hedged his bets, and it shows. Somewhere amongst these 25 tracks is probably a halfway decent album. It's just swamped.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. MarvinT.
    Aug 29, 2007
    Love Everything on it, Very Cinematic
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    Real freaking music. Very heartwarming and cold at times, he can display various emotions with poetic and obscured lyricism to the fullest. One of the greatest artists for a generation. Expand
  3. BrianS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    I like this CD set a lot! I'm not familiar with his previous work (not that familiar with Savage Garden even) but I like his electronic pop sound a lot and there's not one song I skip while either disc plays. Darren Hayes is a new discovery for me and I love these songs! Time Machine totally rules and Who Would have Thought is perfect pure pop. I gotta stop now so I can start disc 1. Ciao! Expand
  4. DavidP.
    Sep 13, 2007
    It Starts off with Fear of Falling then End with Tuning of Violins Amazing Concept. its like your watching a movie without those 3-D glasses.
  5. EricaC
    Oct 13, 2007
    This is an album that grew on me after a few listening. I think he really made a brave decision to release two discs with such highly personal material. It's nice when an singer is able to express their artistic side with their music. Expand
  6. AlanB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    I adore this two sided album. Especially this 3 beautiful songs: Sing To Me, Casey and Step Into The Light. And about Bombs Up In My Face, what he was thinking? Expand
  7. Vin
    Sep 1, 2007
    A handful of fantastic songs but too much pretentious filler - very self-indulgent

See all 21 User Reviews