This Is Christmas


Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    This Is Christmas is a joyous and affectionate affair that already feels like an instant festive classic.
  2. 70
    This Is Christmas is effectively hate-proof, loved-up, entertaining stuff that strikes just the right balance of humour and heart-tugging.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    It layers on the schmaltz but stops short of choking the listener with sentimentality by revealing a wickedly singular wit and some snappy expectations-eschewing cuts.
  4. Singer-songwriter Emma-Lee Moss and Ash frontman Tim Wheeler, a couple in real life, join musical forces and attempt, valiantly and with not inconsiderable success, to breathe new life into that stalest of stale old genres: the Christmas song.
  5. Mojo
    May 31, 2012
    As seasonal cheer goes it slaps seven sleigh bells out of dreary old Stille Nacht. [Jan 2012, p.90]
  6. Q Magazine
    Dec 22, 2011
    Breezy sort of fun to be had. [Jan 2012, p.126]
  7. Uncut
    Dec 16, 2011
    This Is Christmas [is] neither turkey nor cracker but a sweetly silly trifle. [Jan 2012, p.86]
  8. Dec 13, 2011
    The combination of Emmy and Tim's vocals is also a consistent issue throughout the record; partly a result of a seeming refusal to harmonise, but mainly because are both blessed with mellifluous tones that, whilst effective on their own, offer little variation or texture together.
  9. Dec 13, 2011
    The contents of this cracker are as tired as ever.
User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 21, 2013
    The only reason I gave this a listen is because I'm a big fan of Ash and rate Tim Wheeler highly as a songwriter. Still though, a ChristmasThe only reason I gave this a listen is because I'm a big fan of Ash and rate Tim Wheeler highly as a songwriter. Still though, a Christmas album? Really? All things considered, it's not terrible and certainly adds something different to the Christmas album market. The songwriting is solid but more reminisent of Ash's more recent A-Z stuff than their far superior back catalogue up to that point. The Ash sounding tracks carry the album for me. Zombie Christmas is a great single and has Ash all over it. An interesting release to say the least but if your going to check this out, please go in with your eyes open this is a Christmas album and I seriously doubt Tim Wheeler meant it to be taken seriously. Hopefully anyway Full Review »