• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    this album rockzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz :-) the way the brian sings is more nice than before all albums and the linkin park should learn from them bsb forever
  2. GeorgeM
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Just like the other record company employees on here, I love this album! Truly magnificent! A+! Better than the Beatles! Better than anything out there! Too bad old marketing schemes don't work anymore and our fanbase is in their late twenties and listening to Black Eyed Peas. Boy bands must be YOUNG; this is essential to their success. Young girls must be able to THINK/HOPE/BELIEVE Just like the other record company employees on here, I love this album! Truly magnificent! A+! Better than the Beatles! Better than anything out there! Too bad old marketing schemes don't work anymore and our fanbase is in their late twenties and listening to Black Eyed Peas. Boy bands must be YOUNG; this is essential to their success. Young girls must be able to THINK/HOPE/BELIEVE they can date the band members... Expand
  3. JessicaT
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    This Is Us is fan-freakin-tastic! Get out and buy it if you haven't already. The smooth hip-hop feel of "If I Knew Then" and "This Is Us" is pure magic and shows the talent the guys have of captivating the female audience. I love all the songs (I agree though that "PDA" is a little weird -but all is forgiven), but my absolute favorite would have to be "Shattered". The lyrics and the This Is Us is fan-freakin-tastic! Get out and buy it if you haven't already. The smooth hip-hop feel of "If I Knew Then" and "This Is Us" is pure magic and shows the talent the guys have of captivating the female audience. I love all the songs (I agree though that "PDA" is a little weird -but all is forgiven), but my absolute favorite would have to be "Shattered". The lyrics and the arrangement is hauntingly beautiful and the first time I listened to it had tears in my eyes. Anyone who has ever had a broken heart can definitely relate to the feelings that this song stirs up. BSB's performance on this album is outstanding! Expand
  4. krism
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    This is the best cd since thier comeback. The sound is tight, the production is A-1, the lyrics not cheesy. It's too bad that critics will not give these men their due. They've put together a really good cd with this one.
  5. NoreenO
    Oct 18, 2009
    7
    I'm pretty disappointed by this album, since the boys apparently can't steer their own careers at all...but their voices are still as amazing as ever. As a fan from the beginning, I still love them, but the only songs I can really listen to intentionally are Undone, Straight Through My Heart, This is Us, and All Your Life (You Need Love). Its upsetting that these guys have such I'm pretty disappointed by this album, since the boys apparently can't steer their own careers at all...but their voices are still as amazing as ever. As a fan from the beginning, I still love them, but the only songs I can really listen to intentionally are Undone, Straight Through My Heart, This is Us, and All Your Life (You Need Love). Its upsetting that these guys have such potential and they keep missing the mark when you'd think the decisions they need to make would be obvious. And what happened to AJ's pretty amazing solo album? Expand
  6. jayd
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    Ever noticed the reviews below are written by East Indian fan boys...who have no real sense in pop music or real music in general! That says a lot.....this really sickens me! don't listen to these guys below! U can do far better then these horrid artists....or ahem.....losers!!
  7. MariaS.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Great album! The only song I'm not too keen on is She's a dream but all other songs are great.
  8. IanL.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    It is brilliant, i think the best album they've come with and fianlly, a good taste of music. It feels like how come they didn't do this the past 16 years. This Is Us, PDA (Little Weird), Masquerade, She's A Dream and STMH is brilliant and leaves you gasping for more. Enough Said.
  9. FloD
    Oct 14, 2009
    8
    First didn't like their "new" sound , but now it sound great!
  10. ChristineL
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This is a great pop album. If radio would just play them this album could be huge.
  11. DavidB.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Their best work since Millennium in 1999, ten years ago. Excellent.
  12. daveh
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    Horrible. This is one of the gayest bands on earth.
  13. IslaS.
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    I think that, all in all, this is a decent album from a group that have done well to last so long in the music business (over 16 years they've been going now) having been labelled as a boy band. Yes their songs are pop and are typically boy band material but they do have particularly strong vocals which are again shown off pretty well in this album. I like the use of various I think that, all in all, this is a decent album from a group that have done well to last so long in the music business (over 16 years they've been going now) having been labelled as a boy band. Yes their songs are pop and are typically boy band material but they do have particularly strong vocals which are again shown off pretty well in this album. I like the use of various instruments and some sound effects are present from time to time which adds to the atmosphere of the tracks. I like that this is another album that has quite an uplifting feel to it. It isn't utterly 'sugary sweet', its quite listenable, I don't feel too embarrassed playing the majority of the tracks. I think this time around, they've, for the most part, swapped quantity (track wise) for quality and so having listened to the album in full a few times, im left feeling impressed. This, to me, features the classic Backstreet sound with a modern twist and it isn't as mediocre as their last studio album was, so I would definitely say its worth checking out. If this is your sort of thing then check it out. Expand
  14. Christine
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is much better than their previous album and it appears they will hit a bitter audience with this cd. That being said, vocals are amazing - as usual! Looks like the boys are back!!
  15. LucyK
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic album, a lot of up tempo music.
  16. SusanneB
    Oct 13, 2009
    5
    Well, I like the boys since 11 years. I've waited for something that could beat "Backstreet's Back" or "Unbreakable" - but unfortunately "This Is Us" doesn't bring it. Too much of the same, I had the hope their music would grow with them. Solely "Bigger" gets me and is indeed nicely arranged, the rest rather reminds me of what I could get from any no name boyband out there. Well, I like the boys since 11 years. I've waited for something that could beat "Backstreet's Back" or "Unbreakable" - but unfortunately "This Is Us" doesn't bring it. Too much of the same, I had the hope their music would grow with them. Solely "Bigger" gets me and is indeed nicely arranged, the rest rather reminds me of what I could get from any no name boyband out there. Nothing that would stand out from the crowd. Expand
  17. KevinW.
    Oct 11, 2009
    0
    This is the worst album I have ever listened to.
  18. mahfuza.
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    THE best BSB album so far.music lovers from all over the should listen to THIS IS US and rejoice.and bsb fans should buy 2 or 3...one for them..rest for gift.
  19. MattS.
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic album. So good to hear these guys again. I hope they play in Omaha!
  20. AmrL.
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    BSB the best band i've ever seen.
  21. Dave
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    BSB is an underrated group as a former singer myself I marvel at how well they still sing after all this time. On This Is Us they do a great job vocally with all the songs no exceptions If the critics and media stop hating and get off their backs, this album is destined to be huge.
  22. AkshayB
    Oct 10, 2009
    8
    The boys return to form with their latest studio album. The songs which are good are really good, and the songs that are bad are really not that bad either (except for the insanely strange PDA). Strong vocals in 'Shattered', 'Undone' and 'Bye Bye Love' should be enough to pull the album through.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. On This Is Us, the group sounds great for their age, and they sound like they're at their peak.
  2. The new disc does mark the band's return after a decade to its old teen-pop sound, and considering these guys' combined age, the result is surprisingly unembarrassing.
  3. A competent but very late-adopted pop-trance slurry.