This Is War - Thirty Seconds to Mars
This Is War Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Jared Leto-led rock band releases its third album produced with Flood and Steve Lillywhite.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Even with these late-in-the-game flubs This Is War still shines as an artistic triumph for 30 Seconds To Mars. [Jan 2010, p.91]
  2. 67
    On the unashamedly epic This Is War, Leto doesn't just shoot for the moon, he practically colonizes it.
  3. This Is War is made serviceable by its polished showmanship.
  4. Produced for the most part by U2 collaborator Flood, the new album rarely operates at anything less than a frenzied fever pitch, with thundering percussion grooves, Leto's top-of-the-lungs yowl and wave after wave of Edge-style guitar theatrics.
  5. Full of schlocky neo-grunge howls; trite, faux-rebellious, lyrics ("from the right to the left, we will fight to the death"); and dull stadium production from Flood and Steve Lillywhite, there's little artfulness among the ­frequent ­references to a vague burgeoning conflict.
  6. Unfortunately, Catalano wouldn't waste an "uhh...whatever" on the hammy, bombastic third disc from Leto's band, Thirty Seconds to Mars (with Leto's brother, Shannon, on drums).
  7. 30
    Playing to splintered attention spans, This Is War insistently splices bits of other artists' work into a facile crescendo of mega-angst and ephemeral drama.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    All i have to say about this album is that it is awesome! It contains some of the best songs of 2009 and possibly the decade. 30 seconds to mars are one of those bands that get better with age and they proved just that with this 3rd offering. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    best best best best best concept album I've ever heard.........it's the first hard rock album to be a concept ,,,,actually 30 seconds to Mars are genius, no doubt.... I bet rolling stone billboard or other reviewing to feel such a fantastic album!!!!! Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    I love those albums you can listen to over and over and never get tired of them and this is one of them. The lyrics leave you breathless and the beat keeps you rockin! One of my top five favorite CDs! Check it out it is worth the time!!!! Collapse
  4. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    The last album by the misunderstood rock band is by far their best work .Lyrics that take you to a never ending journey of soul searching,music tha awakens you and provokes your hidden passions ,giving you the appetite for more and more.it;s truly an album i still can't stop listening to ,with edgy rock tunes (like " night of the hunter " or "closer to the edge" ), heart felt -but not teenage lollipop- ballads (like my favourite "alibi' ) and more to shake you and make you agree with me that 30 seconds to mars are what the future will bring.. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    A wonderful album from 30 Seconds To Mars, well-produced with great songs. The only problem is that some songs are a bit monotonous, especially some of the last three ones. In general, it is another great job from 30 Seconds To Mars after their first two albums. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    5
    I loved the album 'A Beautiful Lie'. 30 Seconds to Mars grasped and captured me. Apparently, this effect only worked for one album. I wish this album did not include as much mainstream pop material, because it's driving me crazy. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    1
    not a very good album, can't believe I wasted 15 bucks on this **** One or two good tracks, everything else is terrible, these guys arn't a very good band, no one should listen to this unless they are fans of the band. They can't make up they're if they're electronic rock or emo rock. not worth it! Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones

    This Week in Metacritic: Not So Lovely Bones Image
    Published: December 10, 2009
    Our quick roundup of the newest releases in movies, music, games and TV found at Metacritic.com for the week of 12/7 - 12/11.