This Is War

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Dec 8, 2009
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 145

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    While This Is War is certainly stylishly produced and attractively written, the album's overall lyrical content is dull, as well as the band's lackluster in concept and even depth.
  2. May 26, 2012
    4
    While A Beautiful Lie and their self titled albums were enjoyable, I feel that this album feels far too commercial and overproduced. The band layers on the instruments, screaming vocals, and synthesizers on so thickly that many of the songs just sound bloated, as though the band tried to make each track feel epic, so much so, that it ends up sounding like self-parody.
  3. SkylarB
    Dec 14, 2009
    6
    Well, 6.5 anyway. I'm an avid fan of 3STM, but I just couldn't get into a couple of the tracks. In my opinion, the intro to the eleventh track was absolutely brutal and ruined the song (which was otherwise just dandy). Also, the remix at the end seemed mighty out of place if you ask me, though I wouldn't dare play down its awesomeness. A big downer for me was that my fav. Well, 6.5 anyway. I'm an avid fan of 3STM, but I just couldn't get into a couple of the tracks. In my opinion, the intro to the eleventh track was absolutely brutal and ruined the song (which was otherwise just dandy). Also, the remix at the end seemed mighty out of place if you ask me, though I wouldn't dare play down its awesomeness. A big downer for me was that my fav. song also happened to be the shortest. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    4
    30 Seconds to Mars can write good songs. Besides Night of the Hunter, I can't really find any on this album. I personally feel like they dove too much into the "cult" aspect of their fans and ignored what they could have been writing more about. There are songs that are just too slow and then songs that just fit out of place. I personally loved the predecessor to this and it's not that I30 Seconds to Mars can write good songs. Besides Night of the Hunter, I can't really find any on this album. I personally feel like they dove too much into the "cult" aspect of their fans and ignored what they could have been writing more about. There are songs that are just too slow and then songs that just fit out of place. I personally loved the predecessor to this and it's not that I hate or dislike this album, but it just wasn't an improvement. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2011
    5
    I loved the album 'A Beautiful Lie'. 30 Seconds to Mars grasped and captured me. Apparently, this effect only worked for one album. I wish this album did not include as much mainstream pop material, because it's driving me crazy.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jan 21, 2016
    90
    This Is War is passionate, rousing and astonishingly focused.
  2. Jan 19, 2016
    60
    Strings, masses of fans, and stadium-size choruses make up the patchwork for the majority of this album; the end result is pretentious and overblown, but that doesn’t stop This Is War from succeeding--well, for the most part anyway.
  3. 67
    On the unashamedly epic This Is War, Leto doesn't just shoot for the moon, he practically colonizes it.