This Is What I Do - Boy George

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    Sure it's mature, soulful, and often beautiful, but it's also mostly forgettable.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    The songs inside are equally well groomed, yet it is a shame that the singer--not generally a man to take the easiest path--hasn't frayed their edges a little more. [Dec 2013, p.85]
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    The album, then, is a bit of a mixed bag but does enough to deliver on its mission statement.
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    This Is What I Do is the comeback of the year.
  5. 60
    George hasn't been as enjoyable in ages.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    This Is What I Do leaves you spoiled for choice. Ruined, in fact.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    Boy George's new album starts out with "King of Everything" questioning "What's the word on the street. ...have I lost my crown or will I be king again?" It's a great, moving way to start off the album. The songs go on mirroring the reflections of his mind: His rendition of Yoko Ono's "Death of Samantha" is moving "People say I'm cruel. Yeah, I'm a cruel chicky baby." And songs "My God" and "Any Road" have deep lyrics and melodious. "It's Easy" is a tender love song and I love the vibe on the funky "Feel the Vibration." I don't care for all the many reggae beat songs on the album - there's about 5 of them - because they overwhelm the general feel of the album. Just 1 or 2 of the better one's "Live Your Life" and "My Star" would have added some spice to the album without killing it. ...and so, what I did was to edit - deleted a couple of the reggae songs and then added two other songs from recent EPs, including the wonderful "American Heart" song and "Bliss" off the American Heart featuring Boy George EPs. Voila! I now have a good Boy George album. This album is well done. George's voice is always soulful and full of emotion, but the album needed some editing before its release to make it even better. I gave this a "9" rating so as to reflect not only the album but all of his work - which could have been added to this album - since the release of his last album "Ordinary Aliens." Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    Even though I began listening to this record by plain curiosity, I was actually impressed by its quality.
    I really like the "raspiness" he
    puts in this this album. Full Review »
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    Absolutely love this album. Very calm and relaxing. Boy George sounds great as always. Listen to the gems like "It's Easy", "My Star", "Nice and Slow" and first single "King of Everything". Full Review »