This Is...

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2013
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2015
    9
    This is exactly the kind of album that makes you want to live. The sounds are very festive and efficient even in the slower tracks. The duo is perfectly synchronic and gives shape to a powerful music.
    There is no a worst or a best track (although the first ones are more direct and catchy than those of the second half).
    Appreciabile highlights include the emotions in Just Another Night
    This is exactly the kind of album that makes you want to live. The sounds are very festive and efficient even in the slower tracks. The duo is perfectly synchronic and gives shape to a powerful music.
    There is no a worst or a best track (although the first ones are more direct and catchy than those of the second half).
    Appreciabile highlights include the emotions in Just Another Night and the total madness in Ready For The Weekend.
    Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    If you've heard the song "I Love It" then you may know who Icona Pop is, they are a Swedish duo of two girls who sing about, partying, going wild, and being just plain sassy. So after hearing "I Love it" thousands of times each day, I grew onto the duo, and I was looking forward to "This is... Icona Pop" because I was disappointed by their first EP "Iconic EP" which aside from the firstIf you've heard the song "I Love It" then you may know who Icona Pop is, they are a Swedish duo of two girls who sing about, partying, going wild, and being just plain sassy. So after hearing "I Love it" thousands of times each day, I grew onto the duo, and I was looking forward to "This is... Icona Pop" because I was disappointed by their first EP "Iconic EP" which aside from the first two songs, everything else on that collection was forgettable and boring. I'm happy to report that "This is... Iconic Pop" is a great debut album for Icona Pop and I kinda loved it. But for those who can't stand Mainstream Pop or Dance music, you should stay away from this, because it is very much like that. This album only runs for 34 minutes which is very short but has enough punch to make me forget that I could just listen to this in one sitting. The first half was the standout here, even though I've heard many of the singles off of here before, it still felt refreshing and most importantly fun. The last few songs are also great where instead of going super slow and full of ballads, it doesn't overstay it's welcome, and it ends with the emo-like "Then We Kiss" which sounds like a perfect party song for a wild party. Other favorites include "I Love it", "All Night", "We Got the World", "Ready for the Weekend" and more. Problems with this album are that there is no clear story as it's just to show everyone who Icona Pop really is, also this isn't a problem, but you might think that this album isn't meant for the male demographic, as it is more meant for 13 year old girls who are surprised to hear a curse word in a dance song. But overall, I really enjoyed "This is... Icona Pop" it's short, sweet, and packs a huge wallop of beats, sounds, and noises. If your not interested in Icona Pop then this album won't change your mind, and it doesn't do anything earth shatteringly amazing. But if you let it all loose, and forget your problems, you'll (as a quote from the first song) love it. Because I did. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Many pop songs revolve around the dance floor and the drinks, drugs, sex, etc. that go along with it. But in this throbbing set of dance anthems, Icona Pop captures the experience and emotion of party-culture with an sincerity and (dare I say it?) maturity that few others have managed, giving to what might otherwise be tired themes a fresh idealism and an intellectual spark missing fromMany pop songs revolve around the dance floor and the drinks, drugs, sex, etc. that go along with it. But in this throbbing set of dance anthems, Icona Pop captures the experience and emotion of party-culture with an sincerity and (dare I say it?) maturity that few others have managed, giving to what might otherwise be tired themes a fresh idealism and an intellectual spark missing from the works of contemporaries like Kesha and Lady Gaga.

    With this LP, swedish singers Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo aimed to create music “which you can both laugh and cry with at the same time.” The album achieves this desired affect through intense, aching beats and earnest, tight vocal harmonies, and by giving to each tune a bright, inflinching optimism about the future that rings nostalgic for all of us “90s b****”s out there. And, of course, the tracks are all so darn catchy. Without a doubt, this is one of the best pop albums of the year.
    Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    A great and enjoyable album. I love how Icona Pop have made this album fun and that's what make it more interesting. Get ready for half an hour of singalongs and dancefloor anthems!
  5. Dec 25, 2013
    5
    Quite fun to listen to, but nothing special after all. After I listened to this album I couldn't remember any song in particular due to lack of variety.
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    They're the band who's hard to hate. Simply because they have so much fun doing what they do. This album is an unexpected surprise with productions tones meatier than the average club bangers. A perfect slice of pop.
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    Eh. I have heard better albums than this one, but some songs are actually really good! The best songs are "I Love It", "We Got The World", and "On A Roll".
  8. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    Perfect dance-pop album. Full of fun bops. I Love It is probably the worst song on the album, All Night (summer anthem) and Hold On are my favorite tracks.
  9. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    Have to give this cd a 5. I love the track "I lLove It" and hoped the rest f the cd would be similar fun, sing-a-long, dance music, although it missed the mark for me, and for me, only two or three songs are remotely enjoyable.
  10. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    O álbum bom em si, mas algumas músicas são horríveis! Mas em compensação há músicas ótimas como All Night e I Love It. Este grupo tem futuro, e acredito no sucesso delas.
  11. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    Icona Pops This is just what you might expect from a pop album. 11 songs about partying, sex and sex and partying. The album sure isn't a lyrical masterpiece, but the songs are for the most part pretty easy to listen to.

    Some of the sounds used in the songs sound dirty and there are some parts that make you cringe. (I'm talking about the riff in Then We Kiss, what the hell were you
    Icona Pops This is just what you might expect from a pop album. 11 songs about partying, sex and sex and partying. The album sure isn't a lyrical masterpiece, but the songs are for the most part pretty easy to listen to.

    Some of the sounds used in the songs sound dirty and there are some parts that make you cringe. (I'm talking about the riff in Then We Kiss, what the hell were you thinking!?!?) Parts like these make the album seem like a fifteen-year-old DJ made the tracks in his mothers basement, especially when some of the tracks. suffers from bad equalization. (the waveform is for the most part just a flat line...)

    The tracks sound all very much alike and the album starts getting repetitive soon. Thankfully the album isn't that long so it doesn't overstay it's welcome.

    There are 4 tracks added to the Target edition and Fix8's remix of I Love it should give you enough reason to buy the Target edition, since, in my opinion at least, it was the best track of the album.

    Overall This is.. is a decent album full of catchy dance anthems that you can happily rave to in every party you attend. It's not a bad album but isn't really great either.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 85
    It’s uplifting, motivating and unashamedly simple (which, frankly, is it’s major charm).
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    60
    It's more than good, but it could have been great.
  3. 50
    Good moments include the drama-packed ‘Just Another Night’ and the fun pop of ‘On A Roll’, but neither resembles the formulaic trash cluttering the rest of the record.