This Is... - Icona Pop
This Is... Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the Swedish duo of Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo features guest appearance from Charli XCX as well as production from Stargate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    91
    It’s a refreshingly fun album with no pretenses, just plenty of sing-along hooks and dancefloor jams.
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    It plays like a sweet-toothed sparring session, one punch after the next of joyful high-pitched barking.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    79
    This Is... Icona Pop, like Carly Rae Jepsen's "Kiss," may someday be viewed as a full-length that included one pop masterpiece, but that underscores the delectability of the treats Icona Pop has sprinkled around that triumph.
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    70
    The pair instill joy and charm (and an occasional telltale Swedish accent) in head-hammering up-in-theclub chants about eternal weekends and heedless vitality.
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    66
    Two songs from the EP made the cut for the album (“Ready For the Weekend” and, predictably, “I Love It”) and though the latter--a Charli XCX co-written club banger--still stands out high above the rest of the album’s tracks, the songs that comprise This Is...Icona Pop are even larger and louder than their predecessors.
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    60
    It has ten passable tracks and one certified super-smash that will either get listeners gleefully singing-along or reaching for the skip button. You decide.
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    40
    It’s not a terrible album. It’s not a spectacular train wreck. It is, in fact, so remarkably unremarkable that neither a glowing nor incinerating score feel deserved.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    A great and enjoyable album. I love how Icona Pop have made this album fun and that's what make it more interesting. Get ready for half anA great and enjoyable album. I love how Icona Pop have made this album fun and that's what make it more interesting. Get ready for half an hour of singalongs and dancefloor anthems! Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Many pop songs revolve around the dance floor and the drinks, drugs, sex, etc. that go along with it. But in this throbbing set of danceMany pop songs revolve around the dance floor and the drinks, drugs, sex, etc. that go along with it. But in this throbbing set of dance anthems, Icona Pop captures the experience and emotion of party-culture with an sincerity and (dare I say it?) maturity that few others have managed, giving to what might otherwise be tired themes a fresh idealism and an intellectual spark missing from the works of contemporaries like Kesha and Lady Gaga.

    With this LP, swedish singers Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo aimed to create music “which you can both laugh and cry with at the same time.” The album achieves this desired affect through intense, aching beats and earnest, tight vocal harmonies, and by giving to each tune a bright, inflinching optimism about the future that rings nostalgic for all of us “90s b****”s out there. And, of course, the tracks are all so darn catchy. Without a doubt, this is one of the best pop albums of the year.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    They're the band who's hard to hate. Simply because they have so much fun doing what they do. This album is an unexpected surprise withThey're the band who's hard to hate. Simply because they have so much fun doing what they do. This album is an unexpected surprise with productions tones meatier than the average club bangers. A perfect slice of pop. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    Eh. I have heard better albums than this one, but some songs are actually really good! The best songs are "I Love It", "We Got The World", andEh. I have heard better albums than this one, but some songs are actually really good! The best songs are "I Love It", "We Got The World", and "On A Roll". Collapse
  5. Jan 4, 2014
    7
    O álbum bom em si, mas algumas músicas são horríveis! Mas em compensação há músicas ótimas como All Night e I Love It. Este grupo tem futuro,O álbum bom em si, mas algumas músicas são horríveis! Mas em compensação há músicas ótimas como All Night e I Love It. Este grupo tem futuro, e acredito no sucesso delas. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    Icona Pops This is just what you might expect from a pop album. 11 songs about partying, sex and sex and partying. The album sure isn't aIcona Pops This is just what you might expect from a pop album. 11 songs about partying, sex and sex and partying. The album sure isn't a lyrical masterpiece, but the songs are for the most part pretty easy to listen to.

    Some of the sounds used in the songs sound dirty and there are some parts that make you cringe. (I'm talking about the riff in Then We Kiss, what the hell were you thinking!?!?) Parts like these make the album seem like a fifteen-year-old DJ made the tracks in his mothers basement, especially when some of the tracks. suffers from bad equalization. (the waveform is for the most part just a flat line...)

    The tracks sound all very much alike and the album starts getting repetitive soon. Thankfully the album isn't that long so it doesn't overstay it's welcome.

    There are 4 tracks added to the Target edition and Fix8's remix of I Love it should give you enough reason to buy the Target edition, since, in my opinion at least, it was the best track of the album.

    Overall This is.. is a decent album full of catchy dance anthems that you can happily rave to in every party you attend. It's not a bad album but isn't really great either.
    Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    Have to give this cd a 5. I love the track "I lLove It" and hoped the rest f the cd would be similar fun, sing-a-long, dance music, althoughHave to give this cd a 5. I love the track "I lLove It" and hoped the rest f the cd would be similar fun, sing-a-long, dance music, although it missed the mark for me, and for me, only two or three songs are remotely enjoyable. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews