This Machine

  • Record Label: The End
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2012

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
Buy On
  1. With a record this charming, one can only hope they last two more decades.
  2. Apr 23, 2012
    It's the closest the band has come yet to something genuinely uplifting and irony-free -- no small feat for these tongue-in-cheek provocateurs, but This Machine suggests that the Dandy Warhols are actually improving with age, which is an even bigger accomplishment.
  3. 60
    This Machine is not the result of the Dandys turning a corner or shifting direction, but rather taking the best of where they've been and applying it to where they're going.
  4. May 23, 2012
    This is far from a bad album but it's also far from matching their best... 'This Machine' is both an attempt to recapture the glory days and a sad admission that it can't be done.
  5. Magnet
    May 24, 2012
    A record that plays like just the sort of effort we've come to expect from the Dandy Warhols: an uninspired, over-referential half-nod to the group's heroes. [No.87, p.54]
  6. May 7, 2012
    Quite frankly, it's f**king boring.
  7. Apr 23, 2012
    At the outset, This Machine seems like an apt title for a record that surges forth with a wiry, motorik momentum; by the end, it becomes an all-too-fitting descriptor of a band going through the motions.
  8. Apr 24, 2012
    Like reformed alcoholics who were more fun when they drank, This Machine is alternately sullen and unconvincingly earnest, and inoffensive to a fault. "16 Tons" is obviously an exception to this, and awful as it is, it represents a bold shamelessness that is nevertheless far preferable to the dry, strained hooks populating the rest of the album.
  9. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    This Machine sounds more like an off-cuts collection than a comeback. [Jul 2012, p.98]
  10. Apr 24, 2012
    An undistinguished slog of an album that counts an atrocious cover of "16 Tons" as one of its many grating moments.
  11. Apr 23, 2012
    This is a subdued, atmospheric affair, rooted in bangs-in-the-face, black-polish-on-the-fingernails '80s rock.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jan 21, 2013
    I write this review reluctantly, but the truth is, this record proves that the Dandies have lost it. As a HUGE fan of their first five albums,I write this review reluctantly, but the truth is, this record proves that the Dandies have lost it. As a HUGE fan of their first five albums, one who proselytized endlessly on their behalf in the early 2000s, I've listened to their last three releases with increasing dismay, unable to find even one song I really liked--or even wanted to play more than once. "This Machine," as several critics have pointed out, seeks to return to earlier strengths, and, certainly, most of the familiar elements are there. But the songs remind me of those computer programs that seek to tell us what we'll like on the basis of what we've enjoyed before (Netflix: "You liked 'Reservoir Dogs,' so you'll like 'Caged Animal.' Me: I would, if I liked bad movies as much as good ones.). Though undeniably Dandyesque, the songs never get up on their feet and stagger around, much less leap, dance, or fly, as earlier tunes did. One reason is that the group no longer EVER pulls its tongue out of its cheek, either to rock or to reach for the sublime. What worked in the past was the balance between snarky art-school knowingness and real power; now all we get is the snark. If you want to see what I mean, just compare the prosaic "Rest Your Head" with the beatific "Sleep" or the snickering cover of "16 Tons" with the elegiac cover of "Ohio." We get it that you'll never know what it is to be "another day older and deeper in debt," guys, and you can laugh about that all you want at band practice, but some of us find privileged laughter in public--even the most acerbically ironic--offensive. Not to mention f*cking clueless. So, music fans, if this band is new to you, go back a decade at least. Us Dandies fans have a funeral to plan. Full Review »
  2. May 9, 2012
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I thought this album was quite good. They have definitely grown into a better band since their last album. And their cover of Sixteen Tons was fantastic! Full Review »