This Means War - Attack Attack!
This Means War Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the Ohio metal band that mixes electronic elements in its sound was produced by lead singer Caleb Shomo.
  • Record Label: Rise Records
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Hardcore, Contemporary Pop/Rock, New Wave/Post-Punk Revival, Heavy Metal, Screamo, Nü Metal
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    Attack Attack! may still be a way behind the big boys, but given what's come before it, This Means War is a real triumph. [Mar 2012, p.99]
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    This Means War exhibits admirable growth.
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    While this may not make instant fans out of their haters, This Means War will certainly give them something to consider.
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    As usual, Attack Attack! will polarize opinion but artistically and technically, this is a serious step up. [14 Jan 2012, p.52]
  5. It's basically the third time Attack Attack! have written the same record.
  6. 30
    A deluge of whining that's lyrically incomprehensible and becomes sonically dull after one song.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. May 23, 2012
    Attack Attack! have had a difficult past, dealing with hater. they have since matured, and outdone themselves with this epic album.

    they have
    now lost most electronics, and autotune, and are now a pure mainstream metalcore band! Calebs new screams will sound strange at first, but they really do grow on you! and his cleans are the best the band have seen to date!

    this album may be plainer and less creative than their previous work, but is their most lyrically strong album, and was all produced by one young 19-year old boy called CALEB SHOMO. truly shows what you can achieve at such a young age.
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    A lot different from what Attack Attack! had done in the past. This is a straight-up metal album. None of the pop style, techno, auto-tuned music of their past makes it's way onto this album. "This Means War" is heavy, loud, and lyrically strong. It's great to just play this as loud as you can and just let the deep screams and heavy guitar riffs just drown out all of the stress of the day. So if you're looking for a heavy metal album that you can't help headbanging and moshing to, then this is for you. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    Knowing the genre Attack Attack! play, and how tired and saturated it has become, it's not surprising that this latest offering still comprises a mix of clean and screaming vocals, as well as a multitude of breakdowns and synth passages. However; this is definitely the band's most metal album to date, as the long, sprawling techno passages of the self-titled album and Someday Came Suddenly are absent. There are a few bridges that make use of synthesizers and keyboard effects, but this feels like the least electronic-influenced album they've released so far, and fortunately, the album benefits from it. Equally impressive is that frontman Caleb Shomo produced this album himself, and the quality of production is equal to (though not anything surpassing) the work of many acclaimed producers in the metalcore genre. My only complaint lies in Shomo's "new" screams, which sound monotone and less emotionally impactful than his deep lows in the self titled album (though these lows make an appearance they are few and far between.) This is only a minor issue, though, as the singing vocals are spot on. Overall, if you're a genre enthusiast then you will most likely enjoy this album for the improved compositions and cohesiveness that the band have shown; in my honest opinion this is the first album that flows at a consistent rate that they've released. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2012
    Sooooo mediocre. Every song sounds exactly the same. It's the exact opposite of their debut album, which is a good thing, but now they are trying to sound like everyone else. Also, playing in drop G is unbelievably stupid. Besides the first two songs, it is pretty meh overall, but it is still better than Someday Came Suddenly. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    Attack Attack! has stepped out of their realm of cute, poppy techno metal with this one. While they got a lot of hate for that style from a large faction of the metal community, they might have been better off to stay there. Personally, I've always found their music a bit fun to listen to, but not anymore. It seems like they're trying to evolve in a way that I'm not comfortable with. They don't belong in the drop H flat (or whatever) guitar tuning club. And yet they showed up anyway, looking like Michael Jordan retiring from being a superstar champion/god to venture into professional baseball. You have to give them kudos for trying to mix up their sounds, though. When it comes to drum and guitar sounds, Attack Attack! is starting to step on the toes of a completely different set of bands. Let's just say that there are going to be a lot of Djent junkies who are downright offended by Attack Attack!'s new guitar tones. On the flip side, fans of Attack Attack! are going to have to brush up on Defend Defend!ing their favorite band on Youtube. I hate those pointless genre wars as much as the next guy, but that's the long and short of it. Flame war commence... Whether Attack Attack! is accommodating their new sounds with different writing or vice versa, it doesn't quite work for me. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    Possibly the worst album to come out of metalcore, Attack Attack! released "This Means War" last year to keep themselves relevant amongst the scene. This album was recorded and mixed by frontman Caleb Shomo who definitely can prove the young can produce quality music on projects that are NOT Attack Attack! The problem with "This Means War" lies with the sole fact that the album feels like it's looping constantly. You will often find yourself thinking you've already listened to the song you are, over and over. Breakdown after breakdown with soul vocals during the chorus, song after song, it gets tiring. The objective of this album was to prove relevance, but instead, killed Attack Attack, showing that open Drop-C breakdown after breakdown isn't whats in anymore. Expand