This Means War - Attack Attack!
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    Attack Attack! has stepped out of their realm of cute, poppy techno metal with this one. While they got a lot of hate for that style from a large faction of the metal community, they might have been better off to stay there. Personally, I've always found their music a bit fun to listen to, but not anymore. It seems like they're trying to evolve in a way that I'm not comfortable with. They don't belong in the drop H flat (or whatever) guitar tuning club. And yet they showed up anyway, looking like Michael Jordan retiring from being a superstar champion/god to venture into professional baseball. You have to give them kudos for trying to mix up their sounds, though. When it comes to drum and guitar sounds, Attack Attack! is starting to step on the toes of a completely different set of bands. Let's just say that there are going to be a lot of Djent junkies who are downright offended by Attack Attack!'s new guitar tones. On the flip side, fans of Attack Attack! are going to have to brush up on Defend Defend!ing their favorite band on Youtube. I hate those pointless genre wars as much as the next guy, but that's the long and short of it. Flame war commence... Whether Attack Attack! is accommodating their new sounds with different writing or vice versa, it doesn't quite work for me. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    Possibly the worst album to come out of metalcore, Attack Attack! released "This Means War" last year to keep themselves relevant amongst the scene. This album was recorded and mixed by frontman Caleb Shomo who definitely can prove the young can produce quality music on projects that are NOT Attack Attack! The problem with "This Means War" lies with the sole fact that the album feels like it's looping constantly. You will often find yourself thinking you've already listened to the song you are, over and over. Breakdown after breakdown with soul vocals during the chorus, song after song, it gets tiring. The objective of this album was to prove relevance, but instead, killed Attack Attack, showing that open Drop-C breakdown after breakdown isn't whats in anymore. Expand

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    Attack Attack! may still be a way behind the big boys, but given what's come before it, This Means War is a real triumph. [Mar 2012, p.99]
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    As usual, Attack Attack! will polarize opinion but artistically and technically, this is a serious step up. [14 Jan 2012, p.52]
  3. 30
    A deluge of whining that's lyrically incomprehensible and becomes sonically dull after one song.