This New Day

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. aexww
    May 3, 2006
    2
    This is trash, i wish my housemate would stop playing it- its a joke. his voice AAHHHHHRRRGGGHHH somebody help.
  2. DavidP
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    This New Day is a great album from an amazing band who have recently risen up and left all the ashes from some of their earlier work. From the first single 'Nature's Law' to the similarly anthemic 'Target' to the melancholy future single 'I Can't Come Down', this most recent album is as good as 2004's Out Of Nothing. Almost all of the songs are This New Day is a great album from an amazing band who have recently risen up and left all the ashes from some of their earlier work. From the first single 'Nature's Law' to the similarly anthemic 'Target' to the melancholy future single 'I Can't Come Down', this most recent album is as good as 2004's Out Of Nothing. Almost all of the songs are soaring hits - skyscrapers! Expand
  3. StephenC
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    This is better than Out of Nothing, massive rock and melancholic pop along with a fair amount of experimentation, the album they were born to make. The best thing is that the passion and belief that Embrace now appear to have in abundance is potentially going to grow and propel LP#6 int being one of the albums of the Indie genre!
  4. RR
    Apr 27, 2006
    1
    lyrically Bryan Adams and Steffen Don't it make you feel good Dennis have more to say. Musically more inspiration can be drawn from a small child smacking a drum, somebody farting or even the sound of .....................
  5. Jam
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    Stunning on the first listen and it really does keep growing. It's not pop, it's not rock or indy. It's just very, very good.
  6. Julian
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    They do not disapoint. I was worried after the short time between Out of Nothing and This New Day, but the positive confidence that Out of Nothing created has seen them create their best work yet. The best may still be coming.... Listen to "Target" for a snapshot of the band.
  7. MarkJ
    Apr 17, 2006
    9
    Incredible album - don't understand the bad reviews, which seem to sugges that someone just doesn't like good music.
  8. TravisF
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    Best album yet
  9. Sooperkat
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    This album is a real grower. I've listened to it over and over and just keep finding new layers. Beautiful.
  10. AndrewA
    May 15, 2006
    10
    This new day is Embraces finiest album to date and i think anyone who has given it a proper listen to should be able to appreciate the talent and musicianship of it and if they cant then they either have something against them or have a narrow view on music. Im yet to see a plausible criticism posted here.. personally i get most of these songs stuck in my head all day and i find lyrics This new day is Embraces finiest album to date and i think anyone who has given it a proper listen to should be able to appreciate the talent and musicianship of it and if they cant then they either have something against them or have a narrow view on music. Im yet to see a plausible criticism posted here.. personally i get most of these songs stuck in my head all day and i find lyrics such as "Everything is possible, it's beautiful", to be quite inspirational. Maybe Embrace are not for everyone just like outkast are not for me.. but i dont feel the need to go and make an unjust criticism about them.. a great album by a great band i give it 10/10 Expand
  11. matthew
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    Best Album yet. The critics are so off on this one. I cannot stop listening to this album. I've been a fan since their first album. I thought that we had basically heard their best stuff with thier first two albums, but THIS is the most amazing Full Album from start to finish. If you're a fan of Embrace, then you are indeed smiled upon by the Gods.
  12. dan
    Jun 22, 2006
    3
    Coldplay's 'Parachutes' was quite fun, but after almost a decade of non-life-affirming mush-rock, most of us have grown up or got bored.
  13. RachelR
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, best so far.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2006
    0
    The most pointless band in the world... ever!
  15. MichaelK
    Apr 17, 2006
    7
    opening track is the best but overall a letdown after the classic Out of Nothing from last year.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Live, there's little doubt, these tracks will find their own groove and grow, but here they're like show dogs, primped and primed and hard to love.
  2. An album so overblown yet inspiration-free as to be worthy of national shame.
  3. Each of their albums so far has been misleading because none of them have really caught what Embrace are about properly, who they are. This New Day, warts and all, finally does that.