Through The Devil Softly Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second album with ex-My Bloody Valentine drummer Colm O'Ciosoig for Hope Sandoval.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Uncut
    Her husky drawl of a voice remains as precious and fragile as a chandelier, and it well suits these insidiously melodic, intimate songs. [Oct 2009, p.110]
  2. So, after eight long years, fans of Sandoval finally have something to be excited about, for Through the Devil Softly does not disappoint.
  3. This is a record to be drunk from deeply, preferably in solitude, along with a bottle of whatever makes you purr as warmly as Sandoval and her Inventions can--and evidently still do--at their best.
  4. There's no real standout track--no 'Fade Into You' for this decade--but it's a good listen while it lasts, a thing of slow, sad grace.
  5. She purrs every song in slow motion--but given lyrics like "We're like the roses/Stoned in the backyard," that's probably the point.
  6. 60
    To most listeners, though, Through the Devil Softly will simply function as a collection of breathily perfect lullabies.
  7. Q Magazine
    Perplexingly, the arrangements are so sparse that there's not quite enough fully formed songs to carry the album off. [Nov 2009, p.112]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of